We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - easy to all transportation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hotel is located in the old town which has much character and a nice feel of a neighborhood.
Great eating a free trolly ride away. Wholefoods a few blocks away with a breakfast buffet and other buffets.

Hotel is clean, quiet and free wifi in the lobby ;)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigerawake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

I was very please to learn not only you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Old Town but you also found our location to be great. Yes, our proximity to the Old Town area bolstering world class Restaurants and amenities is unmarched. Thanks for your loyalty and hope you serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,265 - 1,271 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

This could be a really nice Hilton, but if you get a room with a view of the George Washington Masonic Temple Memorial across the street you're asking for a rude awakening in the middle of the night. At about 4AM each morning a several-mile-long coal train passes the Alexandria King Street station and whistles endlessly for a good 5 minutes as it approaches the station. AND, you can hear it as plainly as if your window was open (they do not open).

So, while this could be a pleasant experience in Old Town Alexandria, if you are a light sleeper, forget getting a room with an even number or you're in for (literally) a rude awakening.

My stay was for 3 nights. After the first night I asked about a change of rooms and was told that they were booked solid! Not good.

So, given a choice, avoid ANY of the hotels that face the Metro Station because the AMTRAK station runs parallel and you'll have to attend your meetings tired the next day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Carl A,
Feedback is essential to our success. Thanks for staying with us and do appreciate your business. Most of our guest do enjoy our Hotel's proximity to the Metro but at the same time we do recognize it can be noisy at times. We do have rooms on the non metro sides of the building and I will document your profile as such. Once again thanks for staying with us and we hope you do continue to patronize our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Spacious, clean and comfy bedrooms. Friendly staff at reception and in bar. Good and well priced bar food. Prices for room only very fair for the area and proximity to DC. Very handy for Washington Metro. Stayed here twice now and will do so again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

I was thrilled to read about the comfy and excellent stay you had with us. It is always nice to receive positive feedback about our team members and the proximity our Hotel is to the Metro Station as well as the amenities the Hotel has to offer including a Starbucks in the Lobby. Thanks for being a Loyalty guest and We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

After a week in the D.C. area trying to find the perfect hotel......found it! First, it's beautiful. The rooms are nicely appointed, you get Peter Thomas Roth shampoo and conditioner, they give you complimentary bottled water, there is Starbucks in the lobby, and the restaurant is fantastic. The wait staff at the restaurant were very nice and friendly. In fact, everyone was nice and friendly, and I do so appreciate that. The metro is directly across the street! What?? The ONLY thing that tripped me up, was the tricky underground parking garage, and it's a whopping $30 a night to park. Except for the parking situation, I really loved this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovellamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

I truely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hilton Old Town Alexandria. I am pleased to hear you found the service level to be exceptional as well as the amenities the Hotel has to offer. Old Town Alexandria is a great place to visit and our Hotel is idealy located on King Street, in the heart of Old Town. Thanks for the feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed here for July 4th at a very reasonable price. Nice hotel and very convenoent to Metro. I would stay here again. It is more updated than the Embassy Suites across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjcnpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thanks for the excellent feedback. July 4th is always a great time to visit Old Town Alexandria. Our Hotel's proximity to the King Street Metro Station is unmarched. We consistently have great value packages for you to take advantage of. Once again thanks for the feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was in Alexandria a few days the week of June 11th to take my daughter on her senior trip, (just the two of us), we saw some sights in Va and DC and we were seeing the Dave Matthews Concert in Bristow later that weekend. This Hilton did not disappoint. Nice rooms, convenient location, and excellent customer service. The free trolley has a stop here as well if you don't want to bother with the Metro. There is a Starbucks inside also which is very convenient. I would definitely stay here again and recommend others to do the same when in Old Town!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank layla_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

I was thrilled to read the excellent feedback on your stay with us. At the Hilton Old Town, we strive to provide the best possible service and your feedback validates our commitment to excellence. The Starbucks in the Lobby is an added amenity and most of our Guest do enjoy the convienience of the location. I am also glad you enjoyed the concert and I hope you return to stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The convenience to the metro and the Amtrak station is what drew me to this hotel. We walked from the train station to the hotel and took the metro everywhere. The room was nice and quiet. We experienced the storms of June 29th at this hotel. The lights flickered but never went out. The only thing we heard was a little rain on the widows and were suprised the next morning at the devestation around the area. The hotel was very sound and comforting. The staff was friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your accomodations with us. Our Hotel's location to the Metro Station, is one of the convieniences our guest enjoy over other Hotels in the Old Town area. I am glad you stayed safe through the June 29th storms in the Alexandria area. It was also great to note that you found the staff to be friendly and accomodating. Thanks again for the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#5 of 54 in Alexandria
1,309 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Address: 1767 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $118 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Enjoy a delicious meal at our KingStreet Tavern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing