We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beware of room location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beware of room location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

On the positive side, the room was spacious and comfortable. Our room location, however, could not have been worse. It was literally right next to, and at the same level of, the railroad tracks, so we had to contend with the sounds of the Metro, Amtrak, and transport trains round-the-clock. We literally could see the faces of Metro passengers as trains went by. Now I understand why a guest checking in before me specifically requested a room in a quiet location. Additionally, parking is ridiculously expensive - $27 per day - and everything is a la carte, so staying at this property is an expensive choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Front Office Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Our Hotel is convieniently located near the Metro Station. Most of our guest enjoy this convienience but at the same token we do understand the Metro station can be noisy for some of our guest. Our parking rates are very competitive for the Old Town Alexandria area as well as we do have value packages that include parking. thanks aagain for the feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    391
    124
    43
    23
See reviews for
239
265
78
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I arrived wet, watter logged with much mud on my shoes (yard parties in the rain are stupid). The staff immediately helped me check in and get "fixed". I like having a Starbucks in the lobby when it is pouring outside and you do not want to walk down King Street. Location is fantastic - across the street from the Metro (never heard a train) and one block from Amtrack. Parking is what you would think in a metro area but with the hotel key - very easy in and out. Great area to walk around for shopping, dining.....our room was decent size with two beds, nice bathroom and clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVAGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Front Office Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Great feedback. Thank you very much for staying at Old Town Hilton and look forward to your next visit. We value your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterbrook
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for three nights during a scientific meeting (ISPPP 2012) which was held October 23-26. Alexandria is a very convenient location so close to DC and easy to reach from Philadelphia, or almost anywhere. To be sure, the hotel is expensive. I would not pay more than $200 per night if the company did not reimburse me. Given that the meeting was not huge, but still close to 100 attendees, the food quality and service were excellent. We had two dinners during the meeting and both were very well done. I also liked the Starbucks on the ground level as an alternative to the breakfast restaurant. Of course, the hotel is in the Old Town and within walking distance of many of the fine restaurants and entertainment. The room was quite large and convenient, about as expected. Would like to come back some time and spend more time in the Old Town, but may have to find a more economical alternative. For meetings, however, this is a great and convenient place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeroyPictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Front Office Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thanks attending the meeting and staying with us. Im glad you enjoyed everything about our Hotel including Starbucks and dinner. We look forward to your return stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Excellent service. A little expensive but right in the middle of everything! This hotel offers it all. The service is amazing. The parking is expensive...be warned, but you dont need your car at all. Stay here. You wont regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Front Office Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thanks for the excellent feedback. At the Hilton we strive to provide excellent service and I'm glad we made a positive impression during your stay with us. Thanks again for the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I live in Alexandria, but had stayed at this hotel a few times for various reasons. The rates are good at times, terrible at others. The restaurant is petty outrageously priced, but it's a hotel so go figure. The rooms are nice, although on the small side. Overall a nice Hilton property.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breakdwn0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Front Office Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thanks for the feedback. It is great to to have local patronage as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Although they charge you for Internet access, I found this hotel very well located and they had a better selection on their room service menu than other hotels in the area. Very clean and staff was nice. My only complaint was my final day there the cable TV went out. They allowed me to stay extra time at a charge of $20 additional, which wasn't bad. Great hotel and great location to AMTRAK, Metro and Old Town Alexandria.

Room Tip: As for a quiet room, away from elevators and away from where the trains come in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Front Office Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you very much for the response. At the Hilton, we strive to provide the best possible service and I'm glad you experienced a great stay. Thanks again and look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doral, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

The best hotel and location, very close to the train station (across the street) the service and the food wanderfull, there is an Starbuck Cafe inside the hotel, the restaurant has very good food, you can go everywhere because you can take the train for all of the places,beleive me I am very picky with the hotels, and my trip was very confortable, I had to go to The Capitol early in the morning, and I went to the train station took my train and got there very fast, without any problem, the hotel has a breakfast buffet spectacullar!!included in the room price!!!......ENJOY IT!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Front Office Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Wow, thanks so much for the review. I will agree the Metro station is extremely convenient to our guest and starbucks in the Lobby is also a great enhncement service to our Hotel guest. Our Restaurant is certainly one of the local favorite in the Old Town Alexandria area. I certainly look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Property: Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Address: 1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Enjoy a delicious meal at our KingStreet Tavern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing