We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
chesapeake, va
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. The beds were extremely comfortable. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a different selection each morning. The location was convenient for both King Street shopping/activities and the metro. This is a great place to stay to explore Alexandria and Washington D C .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katrinaalvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    211
    77
    36
    18
See reviews for
212
129
28
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Great hotel, reasonably priced and handy for the metro to get into Washington. Clean comfortable rooms and a nice outdoor swimming pool. Usual Hampton inn breakfast, which is free. Free wifi.
Free trolley down King street to water front stops right outside hotel. Can get boat to Mount Vernon from waterfront which is well worth doing as you get lovely view from the river, though very rushed tour of house as very busy. Boats also go to Georgetown from Alexandria. Metro station is about 5 minutes walk from hotel, very helpful guy at station will show you how to work ticket machines but pay attention he will test you to make sure you know for next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishgirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumford, Maine
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Sure you can spend $300 or $400 for more luxurious hotels in town. But if you want a fair price and super-clean, comfortable rooms where you are treated like royalty (appropriate for King St, lol) and appreciated for being there this is the best place to stay in the DC area.

Examples of hospitality: They put out warm chocolate cookies, like a double-tree. We just missed the last one when we checked in. The clerk (Chris, I think) said I'll put one aside for you tomorrow. Sure enough, the next day when we came in from a long-day of site seeing, he recognized us and had one set aside for us.

The hotel is located at the upper end of King St in old town and the FREE trolley stops right in front of the Hotel. The Trolley service runs all day, up and down King St -- about every 20 minutes. You can explore the boutique shops and restaurants, jumping on/off as often as you'd like.

The hotel is also only 1 1/2 blocks from the Metro - so access to DC is very convenient. Limited on-site parking is available under the building hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandK1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and had a great time. Old Town Hampton Inn staff were very kind and courteous to us during our stay. Breakfasts were great with lots of variety and a big economical help too. We enjoyed being able to use the Trolley to go down to the middle of town for dinner each night. Only suggestion for the town of Alexandria to get another trolley running because there was always a wait and some people even got left at their stops due to the trolley being full. Pool was great and the lifeguard was very pleasant. The Metro is very close and easy to maneuver to and from DC. There was a washer and dryer we were able to use. Wifi was free. Would definitely stay again at Old Town Alexandria Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmc1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The room was looked in a nice and quite area. The hotel was looked a couple of blocks from the Metro. That made traveling to downtown D.C. very easy. The area around the hotel was pleasant and walk-able.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This Hampton Inn had everything we needed for a one-night stay in the DC area. Best complimentary breakfast of any other hotel where we have stayed. Convenience to King Street Metro can not be beat...we were at the Nationals Stadium in about 20 minutes. Can be at any of the Smithsonian museums in about 15 minutes. Quietest hotel we have ever stayed in...only heard one door slam at about 8AM when we were already up and around. Plan on recommending this hotel to all friends and family who are travelling to DC.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spent two nights in Alexandria and chose this hotel for it's central location to all the shops and restaurants. The free trolley comes right in front of the hotel, but I enjoyed strolling down King St. even more. The staff is extremely courteous and helpful. Our minivan was extra long with a hitch and four bikes, so we told the front desk of our parking concerns. They allowed us to park it in back instead of the garage. Yes, $20/day for parking feels steep, but we wanted to be comfortable knowing that our bikes were safe. I liked the free breakfast. It's a modest variety of hot and cold, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, etc. It's a wonderful convenience to not have to figure out your first meal of the day. Our only complaint would be that the A/C fan unit was loud in our room. Overall we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#8 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Property: Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Address: 1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing