We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Hotel once you park your car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Morrisville, NC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel once you park your car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel is very nice and it is in a great location. It is very close to shops, the metro and good restaurants. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. My only complaint is the parking. It is located behind the hotel in a garage that has a metal door on it. We drove by it 5 times. There is a small sign however the sign makes you think you should be parking in the gravel lot next to the garage door!

If you are going to park and leave your car it's ok but only after you find the lot and park!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yesdondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    213
    82
    38
    19
See reviews for
217
134
30
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Overall, a very good hotel in an ideal location. The quality of service was good which included the entire staff. For the price, location and service, this hotel is a good bargain for a long or short stay. The Hampton Inns should continue to strive for excellence and quality of service. If so, customers will continue to select this hotel in the future. I will recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I made reservations for a suite so I could bring my family (including 2 small children) on a business trip. Then I called to confirm my reservation and everything was set, so off we went. When we arrived, the room wasn't available and I recieved a blank stare. We ended staying in a tiny room without much sleep. Not a good start to a long week.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great location with many restaurants and attractions nearby. Hotel parking is convenient but pricey. Metro station is practically next door. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Cons: Price for quality of accommodations. I don't look for luxury, but the facility could use some updating. It is clean and well kept, but past time for some new carpet, furnishings. I stay there because it is next door to ASTD and so convenient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed at Old Town Hampton Inn over Veterans wknd. Hotel is neat and clean, staff are friendly and helpful. This is not a glamorous hotel, but very functional -- and after all, you want to experience Old Town or DC, not stay in the hotel all day! Easily walkable to all of Old Town shops/cafes, easily accessible to King St metro (2blocks away) for a quick metro ride to DC. For the cost and convenience, I really don't think you can beat this hotel in Old Town. [NOTE: I parked on street (pay stations for meters right outside front door); somewhat cumbersome but better than paying for parking garage.]

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This Hampton Inn was less expensive than the one by National Harbor and had free parking. The shuttle service to Old Town was good and we didn't have to wait long either going or coming back to the hotel. I would definitely stay there again when visiting the Washington DC area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

An easy 1 1/2 block walk from King street Metro stop. Updated lobby with good breakfast. Easy to visit all the Alexandria sights as it is right on King St, and free trolley goes by the door. quick to metro for DC touring access. Rooms are a somewhat dated but spacious and clean. Lobby has been updated. Have stayed here twice on business trips to Alexandria and DC and prefer it to the boutiques hotels nearby with really tiny rooms

Room Tip: Google a map of address, since Alexandria streets are older and have diagonal streets which can conf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Property: Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Address: 1616 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing