We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“2 Things You Should Know” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Wading River, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“2 Things You Should Know”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Two things you should know about this Hampton Inn:
1. They have no Queen Beds. King or Doubles, that's it.
2. The pool closed at 8 PM.

These 2 things really impacted our stay. We travelled with our school aged kids. They were EPICALLY disappointed that the pool was closed when we returned from dinner after a hot, sweaty day walking all over DC. It was about 8:30 when we got back... we figured surely the pool was open until at least 9, maybe even 10. No dice.

The beds were small for 2 people each, but on the other hand, we were so bushed by the end of the day, we could've slept on a bed of nails!

BIG PRO -- 5 minute walk to the metro. Other pluses: very pretty area, walking distance to lots of great restaurants, private parking in an indoor garage.

Breakfast was average, as was the room. Not the best Hampton Inn I ever stayed at, not the worst.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MomOnTheGoNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    213
    82
    38
    19
See reviews for
217
134
30
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey & Delaware
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I traveled to Alexandria for business and booked the Hampton Inn. It was absolutely perfect for a 3 night stay. The selling points for me were: no charge for Wi-Fi, parking was $15 per day vs. more at other hotels and complimentary breakfast in the morning. All of these things met or exceed my expectations.

Parking: Parking is accessed via a street in back of the hotel. The lot is under the hotel and is small and a bit cramped, but my vehicle was safe and there were no issues the 3 nights I was there.

Wi-Fi: The service was fast and worked perfectly for me needs.

Breakfast: The staff did a great job keeping everything refreshed. They offer hot and cold cereals, yogurt, bagels, pastries, juices, coffee, hot chocolate, tea, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs and bacon. There's likely more, but that's all I can remember.

Staff: The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I needed access to a refrigerator and they were able to have one delivered to my room.

Nearby: There is a free trolley that stops right at the hotel's front door and travels 1.5 miles down King Street every 15 minutes. The area is very pretty and historic. Very few chain restaurants. I saw Subway, Starbucks, Chipotle, Cosi, and Bertuccis. Also, there's a Dunkin Donuts right next door and a Starbucks in the Hilton down the street. This area has very much a quaint Main Street feel and vibe. The only drawback is that most of the stores closed by 7 or 8, which made it tricky when trying to make it after working all day.

Lastly, there is a pool on the 2nd floor roof that was open. It's small, but looked refreshing.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay very much and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank south_jerseygirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My seven year old grandson and I stayed here for four nights. We were safe, comfortable and well fed at breakfast. A coin operated laundry allowed us to wash our favorite outfits. We walked to the Metro but did not have to because of the free trolley. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

It was great to park our car in the inside garage. We were able to take the Metro into Washington DC. The stop was only one short block from the hotel. After sightseeing all day we enjoyed taking the free trolley (stop in front of hotel) to the waterfront and all the outstanding restaurants in Alexandria.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kentite2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Clean room, beautiful bedding, comfortable stay, friendly staff, convenient parking. Elevator up to rooms and down for parking. Consider $15/day parking fee into the cost of room. After checking out, able to leave car in garage until we left for the day. Large breakfast choices. Great location for walking in Old Town Alexandria.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Dora Fl, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel was very nice and located very close to the metro. Only issue was a dripping from the ceiling onto my rental car which was like a plaster substance. I had to have the car cleaned prior to returning as it did not come off easily.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Friendly staff, excellent access to Old Town, local transportation and Washington, DC. The hotel was clean, quiet, nice pool and perfect complimentary breakfast. The only downside was the bed... a bit lumpy and full of springs for my taste.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Hilary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Property: Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Address: 1616 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing