We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alexandria, Va - old town location is ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This Hampton Inn is located ideally for anyone visiting/exploring Alexandria and Washington, DC. The free trolley for King St stops right outside the lobby, and the metro stop is within 1/2 mile or less. Neighborhood is very comfortable, with access to tons of restaurants at all price levels. The staff were very helpful, even suggesting an Italian restaurant which was reasonably priced (unusual for this area) & very good food. Morning breakfast was quite extensive, and made the room price a little easier to swallow; rate was AAA. We were there during the week in late April, so found most of guests were tourists like us. Our room on 4th floor was quite comfortable, & though next to the elevator it wasn't noisy.

Room Tip: Our room faced toward side, so was pretty quiet. Can't speak for those on street side, but mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmokyRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 785 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Breakfast was great. Hotel location was excellent. Restaurants and shops within walking distance. Several historical site near. Easy access to the Metro for trips into Washington DC. The only issue was that the bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is my favorite Hampton Inn location and I have stayed here often. In general, this chain provides great value for the business traveler. I have brought my wife and family here for visits to the DC area. The rooms are consistently in good condition and comfortable. They are easy to check in and out of, and the breakfast they offer is a major convenience. This particular Hampton Inn is just around the corner from the Metro and only a few stops from the central part of DC. Old Town Alexandria is a nice place with interesting shops and restaurants, a wonderful ambiance, and some attractions. It is really nice to have a good excuse to get out of the hotel and take a walk. Parking is provided under the hotel through an entrance in the back. There are too many SUVs for the number of larger spots, but regular cars will fit just fine. Practice your 3-point turns if you drive a gas guzzler and let your passengers out before you park. Nonetheless, the parking charge is reasonable and well worth it. As the review title states, I think this hotel is a great value. It is inexpensive with respect to the location. The rooms are not equipped with microwaves and refrigerators -- at least not my rooms -- but they have what you need and are comfortable. At this location, I don't spend a lot of time lounging around in the room anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn, Old Town, Alexandria, VA. Everything was very pleasant there. It is a great location. The free Trolley stops right out front and takes you down King Street to all the little shops, restaurants, and the riverside where you can board a boat for a tour. Every staff member there at the hotel was extremely helpful. The breakfast was wonderful....so much to choose from! We took the Metro-Rail to Washington, DC and enjoyed a beautiful, educational tour in another Trolley. Everything was so close by and convenient. We plan on returning. There are so many restaurants in Alexandria in Old Town and we had wonderful meals.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Marybeth142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were advised to use the metro system for exploring the Washington DC area, and that a hotel near the Metro is a plus. With that in mind we found this hotel on-line and it was great. Friendly and helpful staff. I have special dietary needs so they were able to accomodate me with a mini fridge with advance notice, at no extra charge. Whole Foods was just around the corner. Nice breakfast selection available in the AM. Very close to the metro. Right outside the hotel is a free trolly to the waterfront area. All along there were great shops and restaurants. I requested a quite room and got a nice room that faced the back of the hotel, which was great. It wasn't fancy but the place was neat and clean. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hernse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful, the room comfortable, and the location extremely convenient. Though the parking garage is a bit hard to navigate, it's not really necessary as a free shuttle through the middle of Olde Town Alexandria stops right outside the door. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank leftylady14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

An evening in Old Town Alexandria close to the water with a pool sounded wonderful. So we paid the higher price for those features. The hotel is 1 mile away from the port, walking to dinner 1 mile in dress clothes (do not recommend) because trolley was always full, the pool was closed for the season! Hotel entrance on busy street with no car portico. There is no valet, however, parking is available for additional fee, behind the building, in a back alley. Hmmmm

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,480 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,310 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Address: 1616 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $140 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing