We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touring Washington, D.C.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
177 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Touring Washington, D.C.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable, reasonably priced, and the employees are very good. We traveled to Washington DC to attend the Texas Inaugural Ball and didn't want to spend $599 per night at the Gaylord Resort, where the function was held. This hotel is a $20 cab ride from Reagan National Airport or if you are into public transportation, it is the second stop on the Metro Yellow Line from the airport. The hotel is 1 1/2 blocks from the Metro station. We did not rent a car to go into DC because the center of DC is only 5 stops on the metro yellow line. You can get an unlimited all day ride ticket on the Metro for $14.

The accommodations were clean and comfortable and quiet. The neighborhood is very safe and there are several nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Breakfast is complementary and offers a nice selection of items from which to choose. We arrived early and our room was not ready, but the desk staff stored our luggage safely while we went into DC to see the sites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RPS1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    213
    82
    38
    19
See reviews for
217
133
30
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The metro line is very close by so getting into DC was not a hassle. We did not need the car unless we wanted to drive to an area. If you prefer not to go into DC, the hotel is located near the shops and attractions of old town and there are great restaurants in the area.

Parking is limited and tight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. It is a great place to stay. The Metro is only one block away, and there is a free shuttle that goes to the heart of Old Town Alexandria. The hotel is very clean, and the staff was very helpful. Finding the parking lot is a little difficult when you first approach the hotel. Don't bother looking for the lot until you check-in because you need your hotel room key to open the parking lot's door; plus, they will give you a map to the parking lot during check-in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deblene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just returned from a trip to DC and stayed for 5 nights in two rooms (one suite and one regular room). For DC this is a good value and location. You are about two blocks from a metro, overnight parking is $15/night and you can come and go and you are on King Street which has a free shuttle up and down the street making it easy to get to the waterfront, restaurants, torpedo factory, etc.

The hotel is pretty good. The unit in the rooms that provides heat is one of the noisiest I have ever experienced - and this was the case in both rooms. It was so loud when it would kick on, that we ended up turning it off for the night and just dealing with the room getting cold as it was preferable to constantly waking up. We also had an issue with the TV in our sitting area not getting sports channels that it should have had. Being an older hotel, the elevators are very slow and the amenities are few. We had a need to scan and email documents and the front desk had no idea how or where we could do this.

However, the morning breakfast was good every morning. I'm gluten free, but could always have fruit, yogurt and hard boiled eggs - which I appreciated. There were hot items for the others as well. Seating was limited, but you could take things to go. They had coffee and tea available all of the time in the lobby. There is no restaurant on site, but there are many nearby.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor. We heard the fourth floor was noisy. The second floor includes the fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planitohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Although the hotel isn't directly in Old Town, it's a great place to stay for it. They offer a free 24 hour shuttle to the heart of Old Town which was very convenient. Service was extremely friendly especially the drivers. I would have given it five stars but the bath faucet was a little finicky and it took quite awhile for the hot water to come in. Nothing major though.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deaner02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pa.
Level Contributor
489 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in early November. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The location is excellent - only 2 blocks to the Metro, near many restaurants incuding #1 Brabo and Joe Theisman's steak house, just s short walk into the heart of Old Town, right on the free Trolley line but...........the carpet in our room was very worn and in need of replacing, so the hotel needs some updating and some freshing up. But, this should not dissuade you from going here as it is a good value at $125/night. I would still recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancasterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smarties98
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was on a business trip in Washington, DC during a busy time of the year. Especially this year in the US since it is the election period and we couldn't get anything closer to the downtown Washington area. Well this was a good decision because the Hampton Inn is very well location on King street in Alexandria. The staff is very helpful and the hotel is very well maintained. There is a continental breakfast served every morning and rarely I have seen the same menu in the whole week that we stayed. I felt secure knowing that the main door of the hotel is locked after 23:00 and you need your room card to access the hotel or buzz the front desk clerk.

I really enjoy my stay. Somewhat a little pricy but yet don't forget the time of the year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smarties98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Property: Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Address: 1616 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing