We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn - always good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Wheeling, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hampton Inn - always good choice”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Needed a room in Alexandria for one night. Had a business meeting.
We planned to arrive Sunday night and have diinner. Plans got messed up when our 5:15 American Airlines flight didn't take off from Chicago until 7:15pm

Arrived at the Hampton at 9:30pm ....places to eat were closed. The fellow at the desk apologized (not his fault) and suggested they had some food in the cooler.
I purchased a Chicken Pot Pie which I heated in the microwave in the room. It was enough to hold me over until morning.

Breakfast was fine. Nothing special ...scrambled eggs, sausage patties, good blue berry muffin, bagels and toast. Enough to get the day started.

Room was clean, TV worked perfectly. Hampton Inn is a great go to hotel. I've never been disappointed. When we called for the shuttle from the airport, we were told it would take ablut 3/4 of an hour. They were taking a couple of guests to locations. I asked what it would cost for a taxi ...about $20. No problem, we took a cab. The long taxi line was orderly and moved quickly. The fare was $21.00 with tip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-the-paperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    258
    96
    43
    21
See reviews for
256
166
36
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I chose the Hampton Inn because of it's easy accessibility to the metro and it's free wifi and breakfast. What a mistake. When we arrived, there was no parking available at the door so we had to PAY to park down the street and walk back up to the lobby just to check in. Though it's not really something that could be easily corrected, the parking garage was extremely tight and difficult to find. When we arrived in our room, we had to squeeze by maintenance workers who had a dresser and mattress in the hall next to our room. The room was very hot and dated. And why do so many hotels believe people like FLAT pillows?! Drives me crazy! The location was very close to the metro but 16 blocks from where we wanted to be most of the time--the nightlife/restaurants close to the river. Thank goodness there was a free Old Town shuttle, but unfortunately, it stopped running around 10:15-10:30 every night--just when the bands were starting to play in the restaurants. So we had to walk back each night--16 blocks remember. The breakfast was terrible. The eggs tasted completely artificial and the sausage was greasy. On the final day, we wanted to eat breakfast prior to our long drive home--nothing available but carbs--just bisquits and gravy along with hash browns for the hot section choices. We chose to walk across the street and pay for our breakfast elsewhere. My fault for choosing this hotel, but I don't think I'll ever make that mistake again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmwncgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I chose a Hampton Inn instead of the Hilton across the street due to TWO THINGS: Free Wi-fi in the rooms AND the complimentary breakfast. This hotel's staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms clean, beds comfy, housekeeping service very good. When the room's hairdryer broke, the manager immediately began searching for a new one. Hotel is across the street from Metro station. Their fitness room is teeny-tiny, but Hampton Inn customers can use the Hilton's fitness room across the street for free (another plus). Hotel is near shopping in Old Town Alexandria. Very quaint. Many restaurants nearby. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring your own hairdryer. The hotel's portable dryers often do not work well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dleg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biztraveler201
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was only here for one night. I did have a great customer service experience at the desk on my way in and out. Very nice, punctual, cordial, seemed knowledgable about the area (above and beyond the average Hampton). The room was tired. The carpet was worn, two of the lights were out and the hot water took forever to get to the tap. The bed was nice, which was most of what I was concerned with at the time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biztraveler201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a terrific option if you're traveling into DC for business or pleasure. It's a block away from the Metro on a very clean, quiet street. Plus, there are plenty of shops and restaurants within a mile. There is also a free trolley traveling up and down King Street, which is handy for those hot days. Rooms were spacious, clean, and quite comfortable. Also, Free Internet access was relatively speedy compared to other hotels.

Room Tip: Stay away from the second floor, as you'll be on the same level as the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosNVelez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

This a great hotel. It is very clean and the beds are comfortable. The breakfast is good and the even have little " on the go breakfast bags" that were great when we left at 5 am before the breakfast was available. The location is perfect being close to the metro and use of free trolley. Good shopping on King Street too for those that enjoy shopping, Gap outlet etc. I thought the parking garage was fine. We were worried about our storage compartment on our roof but it made the 7 foot, 4 inch clearance. Staff was also very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeline752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

When I have an option I pick the Hampton Inn for my business and leisure travel.

This was my first stay at the Old Town location and I couldn't have been happier.

As I was traveling back and forth to DC, the proximity to a Metro station was a definite plus.

The hotel blended so well into the surrounding architecture that I walked right by it without noticing.

Everyone I came in contact with went out of their way to that my stay was enjoyable.

If you coming to Alexandria, or DC for that matter, you won't go wrong making this hotel your home base.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,368 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Property: Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Address: 1616 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing