We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

This was the second time we've stayed at this hotel and they continue to exceed my expectations. Appears like they've done some remodeling since we were last there. When traveling to the Washington DC area we stay here as it is situated right across the street from the King Street Metro Station. This makes it so easy to travel to DC without the trouble of driving.

The rooms are great and plenty big for the 5 of us (2 adults, 3 teenagers) where 1 of them sleeps on the sleeper sofa. The service is excellent and the staff is great.

Absolutely love their cook to order breakfast and the central areas are great to relax and read or work on my computer in the wee hours of the morning when no one else is up and I don't want to wake the rest of the family.

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Only con is you have to pay $12.95/day for internet unless you want to go to the business center and $24.00/day for parking but that's not unusual for the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobluechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, Admin Asst at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As we are a condominium complex, the parking garage, which we do not own, houses 1300 parking spaces for the hotels’ guests, employees, tenants, and daily/monthly metro traffic. I am sure that given the opportunity to research the area, it would have been evident that our parking charge is either below cost or at level with other hotels in the area. Thank you again for your well intentioned and well received comments. Best regards...Sylvie Venne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    617
    203
    67
    31
See reviews for
808
264
43
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We always return to this Embassy Suites because it's pointless to stay anywhere else! The location is so great - literally across the street from the King Street Metro stop. the rooms are large, the beds are so comfortable, it's QUIET. It's nice to have that kind of space to stretch out in after pounding the streets in DC all day. We found the desk clerks to be very friendly and to make an effort to help out as much as possible. The buffet is awesome - and the gals that cook up your omelets are so friendly. the hotel was fully booked when we were there due to the Restoring Honor Rally on 8/28, yet it was still very quiet and peaceful. We love DC and will of course return to Old Town Alexndria and Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

This is located across the street from the Metro station and the free downtown trolley so for convenience it is the perfect place to stay. The rooms are clean and inviting, the beds are comfortable only the couch- bed falls short of expectations. The complimentary breakfasts are great. The staff, from the breakfast omlet cook and bar staff to housekeeping was excellent. If I have any complaint it is that the front desk doesn't seem to have accurate information sometimes, perhaps a bit more training is in order there. I will come back here from now on. Thank you Embassy Suites for a great place to stay at a great price. An excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggsbabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, Admin asst at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. Without your input we cannot keep striving to excel and exceed our customers’ expectations. I was very pleased to see that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. I appreciate and will forward your comment to the Front Office Manager for review. It is unfortunate that the furniture in your room was not to your liking. We are in the process of changing out cushions and removing stuffing, hopefully you will be able to notice a difference, during your next visit? As we look forward to your return, I thank you again for your well intentioned and well received comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Not the first time we have stayed a this hotel visiting family in the area. Hilton does a nice job with this location as they usually do. For the most part everyone is friendly the front desk could use a little Dale Carnegie, however. Breakfast is great eggs cooked to order. 5:30 to 7:30 pm is Manager's Reception, try the wheat beer on tap it is excellent free popcorn, pretzels, chips nachos with cheese, good stuff. Parking is $24/day but we were using Hilton Honors so I didn't mind. Parking garage convenient and once you park you can leave the car, Metro and Amtrak stations across the street. There's a free trolley that runs up and down King St ( the main drag). There are 5-6 of the top Trip Advisor within a short walk of the hotel and most important there's a Dunkin Donuts very close to the hotel on King St. One thing that is a little disappointing and that's the furiniture in the room, if the goal was to make it so uncomformatable and discourage one from sitting in the room then Hitlon succeeded. Bed and pillows, however, extremely comfortable, guess you cant have everything

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fastnfirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

The hotel is as nice as most Embassy Suites I've stayed at in the past. The location is excellent, directly across from the underground system and historic King street has all the great places to eat. The only issue we had was housekeepings inability to clean our room. We never asked for the sheets to be changed, but we did want new towels, so we left the used ones on the floor so they could be replaced each day for 3 days. Every day, the towels remained on the floor and nothing was replaced. So each evening we had to ask for new towels to be delivered and each time it was done with a smile but after 3 days we had a mountain of towels and a bit of a frustration with the daytime housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsullivan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Great rooms, great price. Most excellent location. Right across the street from metro to DC. 10 minute ride. Safe area. Old town is a great location with some unusal rstaurants. Good complimentary full cook to order breakfast. Must try Joe Thiesmans restaurant next door. Garage parking is $24.00 nightly but they were letting motorcycles park on street outside the check in desk.
Don't expect much help from the desk. With one exception I wonder how they find there way back to work.
I will stay there whenever I go to DC.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylV_10, Admin Asst at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
I’d like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. Without your input we cannot keep striving to excel and exceed our customers’ expectations. I was very pleased to see that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. I appreciate and will forward your comment to the Front Office Manager for review. As we continue to enhance our hotel, we look forward to your return and thank you again for your well intentioned and well received comments. Best regards…Sylvie Venne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed at the Embassy Suites in Old Town Alexandria in late July 2010. We were visiting Washington, D.C. as a family with 2 adults and 2 children. WOW....we loved the location! Right across from the King Street Metro Station, 20 minutes and you are in D.C.! Hotel room spacious, clean and the breakfast was great also! We did not like the parking fee 24.00 a day though! Also they charge for internet service which we did not like. Think that is quite steep. Loved exploring the Old Town in Alexandria, cute shops and restuarants. We would recommend this as an excellent location if you dont want to stay right in D.C. but want somewhere safe to stay and close to the Metro.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreekgirlOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylV_10, Admin Asst at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As we are a condominium complex, the parking garage houses 1300 parking spaces for the hotels’ guests, employees, tenants, and daily/monthly metro traffic, and I am sure that given the opportunity to research the area, it would have been evident that our parking charge is either below cost or level with other hotels in the area. As for the Internet, we must follow the established guideline prescribed by Hilton Corporate, which does not offer complimentary Internet charges for the Embassy Suites Brand. Thank you for your well intentioned and well received comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,323 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
1,199 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing