We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,139)
Filter reviews
2,139 results
Traveler rating
1,038
728
242
87
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,038
728
242
87
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street made to order breakfast the manager's reception great location metro station old town happy hour king street free trolley pretzels whole foods parking garage dc area masonic temple pull out couch easy access free breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 2,139 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017

We were a party of 5 - 2 adults and 3 children - and we stayed in a 2 bedroom-2 bath suite on the 8th floor. Our room was clean and spacious. We faced the Metro/Amtrak station but the train noise was not a problem at all. The morning breakfast buffet was good and the evening reception with free adult beverages was nice too. We particularly appreciated being close to the King Street metro station across the street as we made several runs into DC. I would highly recommend this hotel to families visiting Washington DC as the room was spacious and clean, the restaurant is kid-friendly, and the access to the Metro is excellent on both the blue and yellow lines. Except for a little blip at checkin when we were told our room was not ready yet - at 5pm - 2 hours past checkin time - we found the staff to be universally helpful and accomodating. We would definitely stay there again on a return trip to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threedawgmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne R, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear your family had a wonderful guest experience and enjoyed our accommodations, amenities and location. We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

The hotel is located a short walk from the Amtrak, the Metro, and the trolly that services Alexandria! Perfect for families! Love the 2 rooms and pull out bed! The breakfast is awesome and so is the evening reception. The hotel was clean and the staff very helpful! If I travel to DC again, I will stay here again. I couldn’t get over how perfectly located it was to transportation! Perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne R, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you had a great guest experience and found our location, staff and accommodations to your liking. We are a short walk from the METRO (blue/yellow line), AMTRAK and the free King St. Trolley. The Trolley services ONLY King St. It travels from the King St. Metro parking lot and travels down King St to the waterfront. Making many stops along the way. I hope when you are in the area again you will choose to stay with us. We look forward to having you.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

We were here for 1 night, the atrium design of this hotel is very 80's. Unfortunately, the rooms have an enormous window that looks out onto the open hallway. Not very private, even with the shades closed. Also, we were on the 8th floor and the noise from an event in the atrium on the ground level was unbearable after 11pm. The parking garage is a nightmare, spaces are tight with columns on either side. The rooms are large and well-equipped with microwave and fridge but the bathrooms are small and in need of updating.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Murphy305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne R, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed you did not enjoy our accommodations and felt our atrium design was very 80's. In reference to not having privacy - the windows in the suites have shears and a blackout curtain to ensure privacy. Your review is appreciated and will be taken into consideration. I hope when you are in the Alexandria VA area again you will consider staying with us. We'll look forward to having you.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

The Embassy Suites was in a perfect location to be able to walk throughout Alexandria. The living room of the suite was large enough to accommodate my entire group - just like a slumber party when we were kids. The free wine and appetizers was such a nice touch. We all met there each evening before dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank 4marciat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne R, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and the Manager's Reception. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

I have stayed here three times in past year. I keep coming back despite some obvious shortcomings. This hotels has a perfect location right across the street from the Metro King St Station on the Yellow line.
The rooms are nice and standard two room suites as exampled at most of the city Embassy Suites. Our room was very clean.
Breakfast is a bit d a mish mash since they are not really well equipped to handle the crowds. On three recent stays I can say one stay was organized, but two were not. The free bar area id overcrowded and the attempts by the hotel to speed u the process are dismal, or simply flat bad.
This would be a superb place to stay considering the location, except for how they handle the evening rush for the manager's reception. ON this point they fail miserably.
Keep this in mind before staying here.
Breakfast is a zoo at best. On our last stay, we decided to do elsewhere to eat breakfast. The crowd, lineup and the lack of managerial oversights, made it easy to move on and get breakfast elsewhere.
This is a poorly managed Embassy Suites. I stay at many every year as a Diamond HH member. I see many which are much better.
Stay here for the location. Avoid it if yu re looking for service.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne R, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us. I am disappointed you did not enjoy your guest experience and feels our hotel is poorly managed. We strive to accommodate our guest and make their stay with us enjoyable. Breakfast can be crowded. We provide a suggested timetable for guest to have breakfast. It shows the times that are most crowded and times that are better to arrive. Your comments about breakfast and our Manager's Reception are appreciated and will be taken into consideration. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews