We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,116)
Filter reviews
2,116 results
Traveler rating
1,030
720
238
86
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,030
720
238
86
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetmade to order breakfastthe manager's receptiongreat locationmetro stationold townhappy hourking streetfree trolleypretzelswhole foodsparking garagedc areamasonic templepull out coucheasy accessfree breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,976 - 1,981 of 2,116 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We brought our three kids (8,5,2) to this hotel for a 2 night sight-seeing stay. The hotel is great, if you've stayed at an Embassy Suites this one is pretty similar. The breakfast was good and there is ample seating. The omelet/pancake line moves quickly, too. Elevators are fast, etc.

Parking is expensive and the parking garage is very tight! Luckily we parked our car and used the local transportation options.

Right across the street is the metro station which will get you all over DC. You can also catch the FREE Alexandria trolley (every 20 minutes) which will carry you down King St. to one of the many restaurants, shops, museums, ice cream parlors, etc. Wish we had more time just to explore Alexandria!

The pool was small but nicely decorated and staffed with a lifeguard when we tried it out. Plenty of towels available.

There are several places to eat within a short walk, too. There is also a Whole Foods very close.

I would certainly stay here again, especially since the rates were comparable or better than some non-suite hotels which did not have as easy of access to the Metro.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flamtapgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

This was a great location! We took the Amtrak from New York City to Alexandria. The station was right across the street and the hotel provided free shuttle service. We traveled to this area to visit Washington, DC. This location was great - the subway service was literally right across the street very easy to walk too. It was also only a couple stops from the airport. We enjoyed touring DC during the day and enjoyed the quanitness of Alexandria at nights. We were able to walk to many resturants & shops in the evenings. We would definitedly return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvToPlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

The hotel was very nice. Room was quite comfortable and extremely quiet. We had a nice view of the Masonic Lodge across the street. The Metro and Amtrak stations were located directly across the street and we didn't hear a thing from either train. Breakfast in the morning was quite good. Great location for sightseeing in Washington DC without DC prices. The only thing we found confusing was having to use different elevators for the parking lot vs. the hotel. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rearguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Location was great: across the street from the Metro, the buses, the train station and the free trolley that goes down King St. to the waterfront. So convenient.

The rooms were nice, two room suites were spacious with plenty of storage space. The bed was comfortable. Even though we were on the metro side, we never heard a thing from outside. I liked the interior lobby, the glass elevator etc.

The staff were helpful the entire stay.

Food: Breakfast was inlcuded, which we took advantage of every day. Plenty of food to choose from (cereal, fruit, oatmeal, bagels, toast, yogurt, potatoes, muffins, sausage, waffles, grits, eggs, juice, milk, bacon AND pancakes and omelets cooked to order).
Note for those eating gluten free: the pancakes were cooked on the same grill as the omelets, so all the cooked to order food would not be GF.

We also ate at their restaurant Duke's two nights. Delicious food and scarcely any customers. The service was minimal but they made the extra effort to work with my husband who has to eat gluten free. We had to speak to a supervisor about that; the waiters had no idea what we were talking about.

One downside is no safes in the rooms, but they do have safety deposit boxes at the front desk; you can use one for free and keep the key with you.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loidid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

This is my 3rd stay at Embassy, I have enjoyed each one! Dispite our room being right across from the Metro we never heard it!! Very clean! Enjoyed the cooked to order breakfast and the abundance of the selection of other breakfast items offered. The staff were great and very friendly-especially the breakfast crew/cooks. Upon noticing the orange juice needed changing one of the gals brought us two fresh glasses to our table before we had time to get it ourselves! Although one of the maids had a little trouble understanding when I inquired about the body lotion they supply she was very sweet and supplied me with an extra sample! (Hope I don't get her into trouble!!)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElmiraMailLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews