We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great Stay”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Hotel is near the Metro station. Excellent way to get into Washington DC. The staff is super attentive to your needs and does try to go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel except for the first night. We were moved the next day and got a better room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 468faridk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    624
    206
    70
    34
See reviews for
825
272
44
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

My family stayed at this hotel over the 4th of July and it was perfect for our needs. The metro was directly across the street and there was plenty of shopping and restaurants in the area. The made to order breakfast was perfect and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only minor issue was when we opened the sleeper sofa the carpet under it was obviously not clean (old cheetos and things of that nature); however I left a note for housekeeping and the items were cleaned the next morning. Overall a great hotel and the location cant be beat for the ease of transportation to and from the Capital. Parking was tight (we drive an SUV) and was $28 a day but parking in DC will easily cost you more for part of the day, so we felt this was a good deal. We will most definitely look at coming back to this hotel on our next trip to the area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank samjohn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay. I am pleased to know that while we didn't handle the cleanliness aspect of your suite correctly upon first impression I thank you for allowing us to Make It Right. In a most sincere thought, Thank You for definitely looking to come back. Please reach out to me so I can ensure a big Embassy Suites VIP welcome upon your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Embassy expectations are met - roomy suites, great breakfast, wonderful staff. Parking is tricky; be sure to note the two options within the garage. Location is great with the Metro just across the street. Plenty of things to shopping/dining within walking distance or via the free King Street trolley. Wish we'd explored the area of downtown on the opposite side of the main entrance; noted it as we were leaving and saw there were other things to see and do. Heads up if you have kids: the indoor pool is small and unheated; our 10-year-old didn't care, but the adults couldn't bear it for long!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed at this property for two nights over the 4th of July holiday and really had a great stay. Our trip had a great start because of Leah at the front desk. She was very friendly and helpful and went out of her way to make sure that our stay would be great. We arrived early, not expecting to be able to check in yet, and Lead accommodated us quickly with a clean room. Leah provided us with maps and booklets of what to do locally, talked to us the 4th of July plans, explained about transportation and parking. She really just went above and beyond when greeting us and making us feel special. Our room was nice - had a king suite. It was clean and spacious. The bath towels were nice and thick! One complaint is that the atrium is very loud and you can hear when sitting inside your room. Breakfast was complimentary (which was a nice surprise, we didn't know) - two lines for a buffet or hot, made to order food. It was really nice for a free breakfast. They had pretty much anything you could have wanted. The driver at the hotel took us to the local grocery store - very convenient. Parking was pricey and the garage was very tight. Great location though - metro was directly across the street and easy walking distance to the main street in Alexandria. Truly a great stay! Would definitely return to Embassy Suites Alexandria!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
A guest that would definitely return is the BEST kind of review! I am elated to hear that Leah, our NEWEST team member, demonstrated some of the best guest service we have to offer here at the Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We arrived in Alexandria, VA on Amtrak and the embassy suites was right across from the station. The old town trolley took us into old town for free. Erica and Leah at the front desk were just great. At one point we wanted the hotel van to take us over to the rail station. We had bought a coffee table and needed the transport for the short distance. The van driver did not start as yet so Erica drove the van itself! The free happy hour provided me with many free sangrias and snacks. The breakfast the next morning was made to order omelette, pancakes and all you could imagine. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thweety49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Leave it to Erika to SHINE! Doing only what she does best-demonstrate the best service for our best guests- each and every stay-is the norm for her! We know our location is tops but it’s our amenities and amazing employees that can only encourage out guests to come back! We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Embassy Suites Alexandria is perfectly situated next to the Metro stop and shopping/dining. As in most "city" hotels, you have to pay for parking ($28). The parking is ample, but if you have a mini van, the spaces are quite tight. The rooms are nicer than your typical Embassy Suites...leather couches and chairs and the beds are not too firm or too saggy. I was surprised that there wasn't an in-room mini safe, as I thought all Embassy Suites had safes. The towels are very FLUFFY and not rough like most hotel chains. We slept in and missed the complimentary breakfast. We will try again tomorrow. Another plus is the Whole Foods Market about three minutes down the road. It stays open until 10 pm almost every night. The front desk ladies have been very nice and friendly. I would suggest this Embassy Suites, especially if you're traveling with children.

Room Tip: We had a room on the side with the view of George Washington's Masonic Temple. Although the Metr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ufilsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Compliment after compliment fills your review!! Thank You! One thing Embassy Suites are known for is a variety of included amenities but each property does have its own local “identity”. Our sleeper sofas and safe deposit boxes and other property’s in-suite safes are a few of them. Luckily by 2015 in-suite safes will be standard across the brand! You highlight some pretty amazing facts about your stay that most may miss! Fluffy towels and Fluffy pancakes! I hope you made it to breakfast on day two!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles County
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I would definitely stay here again. Great Value, Great location across the street from the Metro. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast was very good, buffet and a cook to order of omelets. The room was cleaned every night when we returned. My only complaint was we had a king suite, there were two desks in the room, but no outlets to plug in laptop.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mack184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank You Mack184 for such a glowing review. It’s not that you had so many great things to say I simply appreciate the fact that you enjoyed friendly service from the staff in many areas like front desk, housekeeping and our restaurant. I’m hoping that your family vacation truly was a success! Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing