We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice location, not new but not in bad condition either” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-2810 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice location, not new but not in bad condition either”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a few days for a conference. The meeting rooms were great. Lovely breakfast, very typical of an embassy suites. Meal service for the meetings was prompt and delicious, not normal conference foods. Our guest room was spacious and clean but not newly renovated or updated. I had no complaints with the hotel. It was within walking distance of several stores and restaurants. That was a nice surprise.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank twoboys4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and meeting room accommodations. I am pleased that you were able to appreciate the meeting room facility and the catered food provided by our Chef. I do believe that you are right and that our catered food far surpasses the “normal”, food offered at other meeting room venues. I hope that you will be able to return to our hotel soon and stay in our newly renovated suites. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    547
    180
    58
    27
See reviews for
710
222
34
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed 7 nights at the hotel. We chose because of location, past experience with Embassy Suites, and Hilton Honors. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The furniture show wear but the beds are firm, the way we like it. The breakfast is excellent for those who eat meat and eggs, not so for those of us who prefer sliced turkey and English Muffins. Fruit and juices are available. The staff is great. The lobby area is lovely although not comfortable for someone like me who is recovering from hip replacement surgery. Most of the time, I brought my breakfast to my room, where a dining table and comfortable chair were available. Appreciate the in room refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank tapbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for choosing our hotel for your “Pied-À-Terre”, while visiting with family. We appreciate that with all the hotels in the area that you chose our Embassy Suites. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Though short-handed for the holiday, the staff was very pleasant. Only the bartender and one waitress to handle the restaurant and lounge, and they pitched in to help each other in a friendly way. Our room on 8 was recently refurbished and could not have been nicer. Parking in adjacent garage is one of those programmed electric keycards that don't work the first time, so you have to go back to the desk for reprogramming to get out in the morning. Hate those things. Only complaint.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VIFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that our staff was attentive and provided you with good service and that you were able to stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. Typically, when a guest checks out after noon, our Front Office Agents need to extend their room key by 15 minutes, so that they may be able to exit the hotel. The keys themselves will automatically deactivate at check- out time which is 12:00 noon. I will have to check with our Front Office Manager to see why it happened to you at check in and thank you for bringing this to my attention. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was once my favorite hotel in the DC area. As others have mentioned, they are undergoing much needed renovations, but I think the staff needs more training, and perhaps "renovation" as well. This was a business trip for me, and when I came in to register, there were two people at the front desk, but it seems only one of them knew how to check people in. Thus, there was a pretty long wait to get registered and get your room key. Then, they gave me a room that looked like it was either just vacated by a guest, or was still occupied by someone (the lights were "on", the ironing board was set up in the living room, etc.) I returned to the front desk to report this, and the staff basically blew me off. They handed me a key to a new room, and that was that. No apology, no explanation, and what really stunk was the new room they gave was the furthest from the elevator, and the ice machine had been removed from the area. I'm mobility impaired and walk with a cane, so yes, more distance to walk is more than an inconvenience, it is literally, a pain for me. Also, the room across the hall from me was being renovated, and the workers were LOUD. As well as construction noise, there was a lot of loud talking and laughing by the workers. On the last night of my stay, the lights suddenly went out around 5:30 p.m. Thankfully, I had a small flashlight with me. We came to find out later that a transformer had blown out and had affected several blocks in the area. The power was out for about six hours, but at no time did the hotel staff check on the guests, or try to call us to let us know what was happening. Some of my colleagues told me the next morning that they were stuck in their darkened rooms during this whole time, and that every time they tried to walk around their rooms, they kept bumping into furniture. As I checked out the next morning, the front desk staff made no attempt to explain or apologize for the power outage the night before. I realize this was not the hotel's fault, but as a guest, I would hope my host would have taken the time to explain what happened, and apologize for any inconvenience. This was my worst stay ever in any Embassy Suites site, which is really a shame considering my previous stays there had always been very pleasant. Maybe my experience was just an anomoly, but I have serious doubts if I will stay at the Embassy Suites the next time I am in the Washington, DC area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dchiang2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am saddened that we have failed to provide you with the service you were accustomed to over the years and that the transformer blow-out contributed to your discomfort. Should you be inclined to do so, I would very much appreciate speaking with you in detail about your stay. Please call the hotel so I may be able to review your reservation and address your concerns. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

In love the Embassy Suites in Old Town Alexandria. The staff is always friendly ay time of day. The use of the refreshment area was money well spent for my use. Overall, I love to stay at this locati9on whenever I am in town for work.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you choose to stay with us with your travels and hope that we will continue to host you for many years to come. Thank you for your patronage. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed here for one night the weekend before Christmas. The hotel was full of Redskin fans that were attending the game. Do not get the demo rooms. They may have deficiencies. The staff is very responsive. Also get your room near the elevator or you may have a very long walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. I hope that your stay was pleasant and appreciate your comments. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This was my 3rd stay at the Embassy Suites in Old Town; the location can't be beat, they are right across the street from the Metro. Two stops from DCA, and an easy walk to the shops on King Street. The rooms are in need of renovation, but that is happening right now. The lobby was recently renovated and is very nice. As with every Embassy Suites you'll go broke if you buy more than one drink at the bar, so be certain to hit the manager's reception. The breakfast is very good, but I'd stay away from the French Toast, it was barely warm.

Room Tip: If you get the rooms over by the parking garage without an outside window your "bedroom" i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VSPBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and for being a repeat guest. I am always pleased to welcome back our repeat guests and appreciate your loyalty. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#8 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing