We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
westborough, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Embassy Suites Hotel in Alexandria, VA is wonderful. The location is great for arrival from Ronald Regan Airport (two stops away) and minutes from the Metro. Great location for walking King Street in Old Town. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We always stay here on our annual Cousin's Weekend"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Alyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. How pleased we are that you allow us to participate in your annual Cousin’s Weekend event and stay at our Embassy Suites Old Town. Reuniting with family is always a good time and we are fortunate to be your venue of choice. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    566
    190
    62
    27
See reviews for
743
234
36
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle, WA, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located but unfortunately management is not responsive to its customers needs and desires. The bathrooms are not cleaned when you arrive. they mess with your stuff during your stay. They do not follow through on agreements to correct past problems broght to their attention. I would stay at the Residence Inn just down the street rather than this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for having chosen our hotel. I am pleased that we were able to discuss your issues and I appreciate your concern. Should you wish to discuss any other matters in the future, please reach out to me at the hotel number. I thank you for your continued patronage and our staff eagerly awaits your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
463 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a beautiful property that looks almost new. The atrium design like most Embassy Suites is very appealing, and the rooms themselves were very nice. While the furnishings and service may not be luxury hotel, we had zero issues during the stay.

For our group the rates made more sense than comparable ones at normal hotels because of the size of the suites having a bedroom and living room.

Plus breakfast being included was a great value that saved us money and time.

The entertainment suites are a nice added value - free internet, a Playstation, and free movies from a kiosk in the hallway.

The staff were wonderful and very helpful from my first phone calls with them weeks prior to the stay, and they recognized my name upon arrival and throughout the stay.

You can't get much closer to a Metro stop, and Old Town Alexandria is a great area whether you need to be there or in Arlington or DC.

Our group is already planning to stay again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPC451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that your group chose to stay with our Embassy Suites Old Town and I will be looking forward to your return in the years to come. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Wonderful experience and stay! I can not say enough about the staff!! Everyone was wonderful, front desk, driver, restaurant manager and service. All so accommodating. We had a few issues but they were Promptly and professionally taken care of. The location is great, nice to have a nice, quieter area to relax and recharge after a day in the city. Old Town is a beautiful area with plenty to see and do, nice alternative. You must eat at Chadwicks!! Ask driver for a coupon - they take you to the door and will pick you up. AWESOME stay, will be back. Now our preferred place to stay while visiting DC. Thanks to you all for a GREAT vacation stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t j r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased that we have gained a new repeat customer and that our staff is the reason, amongst others, that you will return. I have always said that, our best asset here at Embassy Suites Old Town is our friendly and attentive staff and I am pleased that you agree. We will look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW Texas
Level Contributor
267 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This was not our first time at this Embassy Suites and prior stays have been fine. In fact, this stay was good too, except... It seems there was work on the roof in the morning that caused loud banging which resonated throughout the atrium - and was right above our room. When we looked out from the room debris was falling like snow. The work didn't start until almost 9, but... the hotel staff should have notified all the guests that this was going to take place in advance. Poor communication = poor customer service = unhappy guests.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ProfCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. I can understand your frustration in being awakened by construction noise in the early morning, especially when you were not previously made aware of this happening. I can assure you that customer satisfaction is a priority to all of us here at the Embassy Suites Alexandria and would appreciate an opportunity to speak with you directly. Please reach out to me at the hotel number. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Fantastic location across from the metro station, which doubles as a pickup location for the free trolley that goes all the way down to the water in Old Town Alexandria. The rooms and common areas were good, although it can get crowded during the peak breakfast and happy hour time slots. Overnight self parking was expensive with a limited number of tight spots in an underground garage.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the convenience of the metro station directly across the street and the trolley to Old Town. We oftentimes suggest that our guests use public transportation and not rent a car when staying with us, because of this proximity to transportation. I hope we have the opportunity to service you again soon. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great location, right off the Metro. Very quiet, very clean. I try to stay at an Embassy Suites when ever I can. The quality of the afternoon snacks & the breakfast are good & very handy. I like having a suite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lyn S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you stayed with us and will look forward to your return. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing