We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is directly across the street from the Metro, which will take you to downtown D.C. (Mall) in about 15-20 minutes. This was a very convenient way to see D.C. without the hassle of driving into the city. The hotel itself is huge. The parking garage is a bit tight. The rooms were very nice - we had a small fridge, microwave, table with four chairs, sofa and chair and sep. bedroom. Pool time is limited to about 30 minutes - life guard will tell you when your time is up. At first we thought this arrangement strange, but came to like it. No children were allowed in without a supervising adult and amount of swimmers were limited, so there was actually room to swim in this relatively small pool. There are restaurants nearby - and a Whole Foods Market one block away. Free trolley by the Metro takes you to Old Town Alexandria by the waterfront with nice shops and lots of food choices. We were charged $26.00 per night for parking. Room was about $129.00. Happy hours in evening and big breakfasts in a.m. Beds comfortable too.

Room Tip: Even though our room (345) was right by the elevator, we did not hear a thing in the evening when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of our property. I appreciate your comments and I rest assured that other prospective guests appreciate it as well. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    556
    186
    62
    27
See reviews for
733
225
35
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreline, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A bit outdated as far as furnishing and Wifi access. Great location and great breakfast. The pool was smaller then expected. Overall a great value for the wedding discount we received. I probably won't have paid more. Beds/pillows were very comforatble.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to new case goods in our rooms by the end of December 2013 and will be anxious for your return to witness the changes first-hand. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

First time staying at an Embassy Suites hotel. It was a pleasant experience. Family friendly, and clean room. Breakfast was awesome. Made to order omelets and more. Its location was a plus, directly across the metro to Washington DC. Very convenient, short walk to King Street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMartin577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that your stay was pleasant. Please come back and see us soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a clean, friendly hotel with a fitness center and pool, across from the metro, walking distance to several downtown shops and dining. However, I was on business and the outlets in the room are ineffiently placed in order to plug your laptop into to work. All the outlets were behind large furniture.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for four nights at this hotel. The accommodations were great. Very convenience to DC Metro. The area around the hotel was clean and safe. Short walk to restaurants and shops. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank Nadine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had a nice stay and will look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having stayed at many Embassy Suites hotels across the country, I have come to expect a high level of quality and service and this location did not disappoint. I can't say enough about how friendly and helpful Jackie, at the front desk, was in making our trip an enjoyable one. She really went above and beyond in helping my group of 13 students & adults get settled in comfortably. Although the hotel was fully booked with several very large groups, we were given side-by-side rooms as requested. We had ~4 children and 2 adults per room and Jackie made sure we had enough blankets, pillows and linens for everyone. Housekeeping delivered all of our items quickly. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The cleaning service did a great job each day. Although the pool was small, the kids had a great time playing in it. Breakfast was hot and delicious. I had room service for dinner one night and the food was delivered quickly and was still hot. :o) As noted by the other reviewers, this hotel's location is fantastic. It's right across the street from the Metro and it was very nice to have such a short walk to and from each day. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again on a future trip to DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiniMouseRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is our first stay with Embassy Suits.My wife and I were extremely impressedwith the quality of service and location.Take the free trolly located across the street.The trip down King Street is a fantastic trip back in time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing