We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; warm cookies in the evening & free breakfast included!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location; warm cookies in the evening & free breakfast included!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently drove up to New York and decided to stay over & visit few of my favorite shops in Old Town on the trip home. Hotels are hard to find spur of the moment near DC; there is always something going on. I found a room at the Embassy Suites and was very pleased. The location is perfect: the free Old Town Trolley stops right out front and runs every 15 mins. The parking was onsite and reasonable, the room was clean and modern. But the best amenities by far were the fresh, warm cookies in the evening, the 24 hour coffee and tea service and the free breakfast in the morning. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was a quick trip but I will definitely return with my husband for a weekend and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Elevator just a tad slow; stay on lower floors if you are in a hurry or have limited time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa23462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am so pleased that you decided to stay with us for a short visit and that you enjoyed our hotel. How fortunate that during your stay, you were greeted with a little something extra, the fresh warm cookies, as these are not offered nightly. I look forward to your next visit to our area and thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Old Town. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    556
    186
    62
    27
See reviews for
733
225
35
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

You can't beat this location but sometimes the staff isn't too smart on helping you get the type of room you prefer. We have Hilton Honors Gold membership which should help get us some sort of minimal preference but it doesn't seem to work here. We ask (when making reservation AND at check-in) for a high floor, quiet room away from vending machines. We've stayed here at least 6 times and never got a high floor. This time she gave us a room next to vending machines AND the staff elevator which was NOT quiet. When we checked in at 3 p.m. it was quiet but when the staff went home after 4 p.m.it started whining and rattling. We had to go through the hassle of changing to another room.
If you are going to have children sleeping on the fold-out couch in the living area be forewarned that loud parties and gatherings at the bar/dining area can be .... loud. Fortunately, you can't hear them from the bedroom.
Very, very efficient and friendly woman cooking omelets.
Positive: Location for the King Street Station is perfect and there is a Whole Foods one block behind - convenient for take-out. An excellent choice for tourists.
Negative: There are NO trash cans by the vending machines or elevator. If you get take-out for dinner the dirty containers stay in your room all night and the wastebaskets in the room don't even have plastic bag liners. We like to get food trash like that out of our room at night, are used to taking it down to a vending area, so as to not attact bugs, etc, to the room. People were just putting their food trash outside their doors, it stayed there all night. Not nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am disappointed that your request for a certain type of room could not be fulfilled, as we do try to honor guest requests, as best we can, when available. The corner rooms, by the staff elevator, are usually quiet, but I can understand that as the suitekeepers come and leave for the day, there would be movement and some noise. We do not supply the vending areas with trash cans, in order to prevent incidents of pest infestation. Although we do have staff up on the floors throughout the day looking for trays and trash, we prefer and will gladly remove the trash from your room, upon request, and then bring it directly to the trash room for disposal. Understanding that you had issues with our property during this visit, I am still hopeful that you will visit us again in the future, and offer us an opportunity, to provide you with exceptional service. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nice room that was clean and fairly up to date. The hotel is close to the metro and the King street area which was great. We had a problem checking in- told to wait 45 minutes but it was eventually twice that. Also didn't receive anything for our Gold status which sounds picky, but every little bit helps. Parking is an issue and expensive. Breakfast was good but the serving area is very tight and not easily navigated. We would stay again but hope the problems were just a one-time thing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that we were able to reach out to you internally, and that your issues were addressed. We will look forward to your return soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Embassy Suites in Alexandria is an outstanding hotel. It is conveniently located in Alexandria; right across from the Metro Station. This property has been recently remodeled and is beautiful. Even better than the property is their team. Everyone there is well trained, polite and extremely helpful. Due to my business, I stay there often. They always treat me as family and I have never had any issues on any visit. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Grady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all of our guests, but especially like to welcome back our repeat guests. I am pleased that we can be your home away from home, and look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you are looking for a business hotel in the Washington area this is a good idea. Close to Reagan Airport, you only have to cross the street from the Metro. There are a number of government workers who spend every weekday here and the atmosphere is one of camaraderie. There is a shuttle that will take you anywhere in the area if you need to pick up a few things. The Whole Foods market is just out the back door and across the courtyard. There are plenty of bars/restaurants within walking distance and there is a free shuttle bus that runs every half hour that will take you down to the waterfront in old town.

If the clientele was any indication, families seem to love it too!

The only down side to this hotel that I can see is that parking will run you some duckets and Internet will acquire a charge unless you are Gold or Diamond with Hilton.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank We_love_to_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing Embassy Suites Alexandria and hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I was in Old Town Alexandria for a gals weekend to DC. The Embassy Suites was so convenient since we arrived by Amtrak and used the Metro -both stations across the street. Cooked to order breakfast was wonderful as was happy hour reception

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I hope your “gals” week-end will take you back to us some time soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I am reviewing this hotel, even though I did not actually stay here on this trip. Let me explain.

My husband and I went to Alexandria for a short getaway trip, just overnight Friday to Saturday. We actually booked another hotel for Friday night. We arrived in Alexandria Friday afternoon and checked into the other hotel then went to the National Harbor to walk around and have lunch. We went back to the hotel to chill for a while change clothes, etc. We decided to venture into Old Town for some drinks and to listen to some music.

Long story short; shortly after arriving to the bar/restaurant my husband got up to go to the restroom. On the way back he slipped and fell HARD resulting in an ambulance ride to the hospital and a hip fracture, which would require surgery. Arrived back to the "other" hotel around 4:30 a.m. I had called them to see if I could extend my stay since I was going to have to stay in Alexandria for 1-2 more nights....they were unable to accommodate me for a rate I felt I could afford. They wanted $329 for the extra nights and were only willing to come down to $299. Considering everything I had on my plate, I could not afford these rates. They were unwilling to bend on the rate even after I explained my situation.

Enter the Embassy Suites; Saturday while my husband was in surgery I decided I better find accommodations for the next couple nights. I called the reservation line and booked two nights at $149/nt. However, when my husband got out of surgery and was taken to his room, the room he had was more like a suite and the nurse there said the I was welcome to stay in the hospital room with him (they had two pullout sofa beds). So I thought I would try to cancel the reservation at the Embassy Suites even though it was already past the check in time for that days resi.

I called and explained my situation to the girl and that I would like to cancel my resi if I could. Anyway she checked with her supervisor and not only cancelled the resi for me but also waived the cancellation fee due to the nature of the situation! I can't tell you how pleased I was with the customer service I received from a hotel I hadn't even stayed at! Thank you Embassy Suites for caring!!

Several years ago we stayed at the Embassy Suites on our first trip to Alexandria, so I can attest to the fact that the ES is also a very nice hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercymygft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our staff. I am so sorry about your husband. How dreadful to be visiting a new place and have something like this happen to you. I am pleased however, that our staff was understanding towards your plight and did not cause you any more undue stress. I hope your husband is having a speedy recovery and that you may someday return to Alexandria. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing