We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A review for Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I am reviewing this hotel, even though I did not actually stay here on this trip. Let me explain.

My husband and I went to Alexandria for a short getaway trip, just overnight Friday to Saturday. We actually booked another hotel for Friday night. We arrived in Alexandria Friday afternoon and checked into the other hotel then went to the National Harbor to walk around and have lunch. We went back to the hotel to chill for a while change clothes, etc. We decided to venture into Old Town for some drinks and to listen to some music.

Long story short; shortly after arriving to the bar/restaurant my husband got up to go to the restroom. On the way back he slipped and fell HARD resulting in an ambulance ride to the hospital and a hip fracture, which would require surgery. Arrived back to the "other" hotel around 4:30 a.m. I had called them to see if I could extend my stay since I was going to have to stay in Alexandria for 1-2 more nights....they were unable to accommodate me for a rate I felt I could afford. They wanted $329 for the extra nights and were only willing to come down to $299. Considering everything I had on my plate, I could not afford these rates. They were unwilling to bend on the rate even after I explained my situation.

Enter the Embassy Suites; Saturday while my husband was in surgery I decided I better find accommodations for the next couple nights. I called the reservation line and booked two nights at $149/nt. However, when my husband got out of surgery and was taken to his room, the room he had was more like a suite and the nurse there said the I was welcome to stay in the hospital room with him (they had two pullout sofa beds). So I thought I would try to cancel the reservation at the Embassy Suites even though it was already past the check in time for that days resi.

I called and explained my situation to the girl and that I would like to cancel my resi if I could. Anyway she checked with her supervisor and not only cancelled the resi for me but also waived the cancellation fee due to the nature of the situation! I can't tell you how pleased I was with the customer service I received from a hotel I hadn't even stayed at! Thank you Embassy Suites for caring!!

Several years ago we stayed at the Embassy Suites on our first trip to Alexandria, so I can attest to the fact that the ES is also a very nice hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Mercymygft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your review of our staff. I am so sorry about your husband. How dreadful to be visiting a new place and have something like this happen to you. I am pleased however, that our staff was understanding towards your plight and did not cause you any more undue stress. I hope your husband is having a speedy recovery and that you may someday return to Alexandria. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,435 - 1,441 of 1,908 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel has tons of positives: literally across the street from the Metro station, tons of cool restaurants and stores within walking distance, free full breakfast, nice pool and hot tub, great manager's happy hour reception, super clean, free business center with Internet and printer for your boarding pass, and on and on. Unless there's a reason you need to be right in DC, definitely stay here!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank cmckayboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

You can't beat this location for metro access and ease of getting to/from Reagan Intl airport. Also there's nothing better than Embassy Suites when you need 3 beds, complimentary breakfast and happy hour. My only complaint is the poorly planned "flow" of the breakfast when there are many guests to accomodate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. As previously stated, I appreciate that during high traffic times, breakfast can get quite busy. For that reason, our breakfast staff tries to provide a buffet set-up to alleviate the line at the cook to order area, whenever possible. Our breakfast set-up is constantly being re-evaluated to provide optimum servicing. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My family and I enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Embassy Suites in Alexandria-Old Town. Excellent location literally across the street from the Metro station which was very convenient for our trips into DC. A short walk around the corner and down King St and you have plenty of shops and restaurants to choose from. The complimentary breakfast was busy in the morning but the staff hustled to stay up with it. The line for the cook to order was long. The manager's reception every evening is a great way to unwind.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that during high traffic times, breakfast can get busy. For that reason, our breakfast staff tries to provide a buffet set-up to alleviate the line at the cook to order area, whenever possible. We will look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We just got back from our week of vacation. I could not have been happier with our stay at the Embassy Suites. The rooms were extremely clean, which is most important to me. The cleaning staff were great. The breakfast was delicious and fresh and kept us full til dinner! The women cooking the omelets and pancakes were so organized and friendly. All of the breakfast staff were on top of things; refilling and cleaning constantly. The only negative thing I found just after checking in was that finding the garage and getting into the locked hotel (from the floor I was on in the garage) was a bit annoying. But it was also 3:00 A.M. and I had just driven for 9 hrs. so it could have been me! It just would have been helpful if the front desk clerk mentioned the garage and elevator situation. Again-I could have just been tired. Overall, we had a great experience at this hotel and we feel that you won't find a cleaner place to stay or more friendly staff.

Room Tip: We had an end room and it had a large platform for suitcases. It was something I've never seen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathleen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for writing this review. I am relieved that the parking issue you encountered upon arriving did not color your stay and that you enjoyed our Embassy Suites. I will have the Front Office Manager address this with her Night Audit staff. I will also, forward your comments to the breakfast staff, as I am sure they will appreciate your kind words. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great location, staff very helpful, wish had expanded bar for reception, but overall great experience. The breakfast is always a bonus when its more than "Continental", great chain, i seach them out in every city

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank McClenton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that your stay was pleasant and appreciate that when you travel, you choose Embassy Suites. Thank you for your patronage. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The front desk staff was the best we've ever encountered, polite, friendly, efficient and helpful. We were part of a group for our son's wedding and I heard only good reports from everyone. Room was clean and very comfortable. The housekeeping staff was wonderful and dealt efficiently with our wedding chaos. We live in WI and the wedding couple now lives in DC so we will be visiting this hotel often in the future. Thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Congratulations on your son’s wedding, we appreciate as a hotel having had the opportunity to share in your festivities, and are gratified that your guests enjoyed their stay as well. We will look forward to your return to the DC area to visit your family and hope to welcome you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,480 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,310 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $162 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing