We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Next to King Street Metro, near oldtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Jamison, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Next to King Street Metro, near oldtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great location to use the metro. Clean rooms but nothing fancy or new. Food at manager's cocktail hour was mininimal, free breakfast was crowded and the flow of people needs great improvement. Parking at the metro station is free on weekends. This hotel is not in the heart of Old Town but I understand you can catch a trolley. Pool is extremely small and the capacity was reached each time we tried to use it so it was unavailable to us and a disappointment to our 3 kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family Tr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. I appreciate how disappointing it must have been for your children to not be able to use the pool. The Alexandria Health Department, for safety reasons, limits the number of guests total in the pool area, whether in or out of the pool. The lifeguard will usually advise to return within the half hour. Was this suggested to you? Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    569
    191
    62
    27
See reviews for
746
234
36
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DuPage County, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was my fourth stay in this hotel over as many years, and it just gets better and better. They've done a subtle lobby renovation since last year, which is an improvement. The breakfast and evening cocktail hour are just great. The shuttle to Old Town is much appreciated. The rooms are comfortable and large. They really are suites. I just love their showerheads. Wish I could figure out the brand so I could buy one. I do think they should offer free wireless -- it's annoying to have to pay for it. The food for our meeting was very good. All in all, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: They charge more for rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler345_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your patronage. We appreciate that you consider us your hotel of choice when visiting the DC area, and hope to continue to be so for many years to come. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
P.S. If you would like to communicate with the hotel and inform us of the room number you were in, we would gladly provide you with the shower head brand name and where it can be purchased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Pull out couch was a double as opposed to a queen. Very small for my two teen girls. Breakfast was so crowded that there were no plates and no food. Restaurant waiter never let us know there was a 10% discount at the restaurant for hotel guests ...we noticed it on the way out. Hot tub was not very hot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. You are right, most hotels offer a sofa that opens into a double bed and accommodating two teenage girls on one of these, may be tight. Perhaps next time you may want to reserve a room with 2 beds and accommodate comfortably all guests. Our breakfast staff has had to contend with especially large crowds during Spring Break and is still adapting to our new atrium set-up. I am unaware of issues with the hot tub, but thank you and will address this with our engineering staff. Best Regards… MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was put up at the Embassy Suites Old Town for a business meeting in Alexandria. As most others have mentioned, the location directly across from the King Street Metro is perfect. The hotel is not right in Old Town, so if your main objective is to see Old Town consider the Hotel Monaco instead.

The breakfast was great - hot, with several healthy choices. The woman who cooks the hot breakfasts to order is delightful - friendly and funny! The staff did a great job of cleaning up the breakfast area, unlike some other hotels where I have stayed where the breakfast area gets cluttered with trash so quickly. The wi fi worked great which is an essential service for a business traveler like me.

I only had two complaints. 1) Weird, high pitched whistling sound in my room after the heat went off. Once I figured out what it was, I was less annoyed by it. 2) The sitting room (that makes it a suite) is very strange. It has a fluorescent overhead light that casts a strange pall on the room. There are no windows in this room, and you can't turn on the table lamps unless you have the overhead light on. Seemed a bit film noir to me. Glad I did not have to conduct any business in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryland_traveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We do have phenomenal team members at our hotel and I appreciate you acknowledging them. I will have to check with our engineering department about the lighting issue you experienced, to find out what may be taking place. Should you need to conduct business at a future date, we will be happy to provide accommodations that may be more suited to in- room meetings. Thank you for your patronage. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siler City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel is in a great location and the room was nice. Staff were not friendly overall - except for one lady at breakfast, Martha, who was super nice and helpful. Pool had a rude attendant first 2 nights and then nice attendant but broken heater second 2 nights so overall poor experience with the pool. Room service from the restaurant was terrible - poor service, took over 2 hours, food quality and temperature was awful. The did not charge us for the one meal we had from the restaurant which was good. Had to replace it because it was so bad.
Also, hotel was overtaken by teenage groups - they had trouble handling breakfast with so many people and the 2 nights we tried to check out the evening reception they ran out of food within the first 30 minutes.
Room was clean so if you aren't so concerned with the experience, would be an okay place to stay. Not sure if I would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darmstrong6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is troubling that your stay was not a pleasant one and that the groups in house may have contributed to your dissatisfaction. I am however, more so concerned with the friendliness of our staff not living up to your standards and providing you with courteous and helpful attention. I will be addressing this with all the departments. Thank you for acknowledging Martha, she is definitely an asset to our hotel and I appreciate you recognizing her. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

So glad we ended up booking here. Very convenient since a metro station on both blue and yellow line is across the street. Very close to Regan National Airport as well.

Convenient parking, nice and clean rooms. We travel with 4 kids so we have to find these kind of hotels to fit our whole family. Very impressed with the quality of the free hot breakfast they serve. They had an omelet bar as well. We also enjoyed the managers happy hour for free drinks. Sure the wine is not great but hey, it's free.

Also loved the location in Old Town Alexandria. Lots of decent places to eat within walking distance. It's a no-brainer for us to stay here if we ever visit DC again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you will consider us for your future travels. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel has a great location. Right across the street from the metro station. Super easy to use and to go into DC. We didn't realize until we left all that there was to explore in Alexandria. We were only there for 3 nights so we didn't really have time. This hotel has an excellent breakfast selection included with your room. A great deal. The size of the room was great for our family. It was nice to have a suite with refrigerator and microwave. The room seemed a little tired and dirty to me. The size of the room helped improve it for us as did the great breakfast and happy hour. Parking was very difficult and once we finally got our car parked we decided there was no way we'd move it until we left. I'd stay there again but I hope they start sprucing up the rooms a bit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmdzsnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes, Alexandria is a wonderful area to visit, with its’ quaint shops, restaurants and waterfront area! At Embassy Suites our guests comfort and enjoyment is of upmost importance and we seem to be constantly renovating some part of our hotel. To better accommodate our guests needs, we will be updating the case goods in our rooms, during the latter part of 2013. We hope you will come back to visit and witness the change for yourself. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing