We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home In Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is my top place to stay when traveling for long business trips in Old Town. The location is perfect - great restaurants and shopping on King Street and the hotel is less than a block from the Metro. Excellent cooked-to-order hot breakfast and manager's reception each night. Most of the rooms have been recently renovated and so has the entire downstairs area, including the addition of a new restaurant. While I am not a fan of the new "look", the restaurant is good and the staff is still great despite the change of hands for catering. Terrific venue for conferences and events as well.

Room Tip: Request a top floor facing the metro for a good view of the D.C monuments
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. I so appreciate that you took the time to write about our hotel and that we are your hotel of choice here in the Washington DC area. I look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,889)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,437 - 1,443 of 1,889 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

My family went here for a short spring break trip to visit D.C. The hotels in D.C. were expensive and alot didn't have pools. This hotel had everything. Great manager's reception every night with really good beer and snacks. Suites with a door, so you can stay up after the kids go to bed. Free breakfast, free shuttle to Alexandria restaurants. And the metro was RIGHT across the street. You hop on, and 15 minutes later you are in D.C. The pool does get crowded and they cap it off at (I think) 23 people in the pool. We had to wait the first night to use the pool, which made my kids sad, but it is for safety reasons, so I get it. Also, breakfast has lots of options, but it also got really crowded (hint: get down there early!!) The staff did a nice job of keeping everything stocked though. I would definitely recommend this hotel for all the extra benefits, and the proximity to the metro was KEY for us!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaOle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for writing this review. We appreciate that you chose to stay at our property and had a pleasant Spring Break get a way. We will look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is our 3rd time visiting this hotel in the last few years and we have never been disappointed. Underground parking is convenient (though tight); location by King Street Metro perfect for getting to any sight in the DC area; rooms clean and nice and overall property condition is great ... especially considering the quantity of guests this property enjoys. The front desk acknowledged our Hilton Diamond status and the Manager's Reception and Breakfast features were great (though always busy). My only wish is that there were stairs you could use during peak times that the elevators were packed.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor if you want to be sure to get elevators down during peak periods. On the lower fl...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brandarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for writing this review. I am so pleased that you are a repeat guest and thank you for your patronage. For safety and security of our guests, the stairs that are on property lead directly to the outdoors, therefore preventing anyone from reentering the hotel during a fire alarm or emergency. Although as you, I think it would have been beneficial to have stairs that open to the lower level, for those of us who would like the exercise and prefer not to wait. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I found it odd that if you are in the bar the bartenders will not come to at least the tables in the bar, you have to go to bar to order. Negates a tip in my mind I think. That said, the hotel is very nice. Rooms are very nice too. Front desk check in was good too.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seattleaviationfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Indeed that is odd that the bartender did not attend to you at your table. I will need to review this with our restaurant/bar manager. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay nonetheless. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return. Best Regards...MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Disappointed with the front desk staff. When we asked questions such as "Can we walk to the Masonic Lodge?" we were told, "yes, I can get you a shuttle right now"---this was at 9pm and the place closes at 4pm, when we told the clerk she seemed shocked and said that she had never gone there herself nor did she know the sales tax for VA!!!! We complained after our first night that the room with a king was too small for my husband and 2 boys as the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. We were told no problem we will give you a 2 room suite...that night we got our key and went to our room, it was the same one except for 2 double beds--talk about uncomfortable and sharing with two teenage boys was not fun either. My point is that up check out, we were told it was an 'adjoining room' and were almost billed for that NO ONE bothered to tell us this. Other than that, the breakfast, etc. was excellent as well as the drinks at night. I will try other embassy suites in the future and not expect staff in a touristy area to be able to recommend anything.

Room Tip: stay away from the corner above the kitchen as the vent in the kitchen releases into the room and is...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marnic60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our property. I am concerned that information was not correctly provided to you, as our agents are usually well versed on the surrounding events and venues. I will forward this review to our Front Office Manager, so these communication issues with the Front Office can be addressed. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Chose this location for our family for a one night stay. Picked for great location and parking included in rate. Old and out of date suites look shabby. Layout of hotel interior is very inconvenient. "Pool" is the size of one bed room. Not made aware that comp breakfast ended at 930, no food for my small children to eat when we came down to breakfast at 10am.... literally no food served on property between 930 and 1100. No help from distracted and uncaring staff. Will never stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are very concerned with the inconveniences you experienced. I am pleased that you provided us another avenue to reach out to you and discuss these issues and look forward to your return to our property. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights for a conference. The hotel is across the street from the Metro stop, which was so convenient flying into DCA. Spacious king suite but the pullout sofa sleeper had me tossing and turning all night. Bathroom was very small, the tub and door nearly bumped the toilet. Conference meals and buffet breakfast were great, but the onsite restaurant was slow, pricey and not very good. Wanted to use the hot tub and indoor pool, but the smell of chlorine was so strong it made me cough so much I couldn't stay more than a minute. Overall a decent budget option, but not as nice as we expected.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mezmariz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that although it appears that there were some issues for you during your stay, that you still consider our hotel a good value. I will need to confer with the pool company to understand what the requirements are from the Alexandria Health Department, as it concerns me that the chlorine smell made you uncomfortable. I hope that you will stay with us again and that during your next visit you will be able to enjoy the pool and whirlpool. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,451 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,290 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $168 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing