We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
jmrwest
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Second year in a row we spent at the Embassy for President's day weekend. Nice rooms; great breakfast; and a nice happy hour to wrap up the day. Easy access to the Meto and Old Town.

Free parking on street after 7:00, and free on the weekends so don't pay if you'll be out during the day and just paking at night.

Room Tip: Our room was by the elevator bank. Tried to move, but we checked in late and no other rooms were av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmrwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you chose to stay with us again and that your stay was pleasant. Perhaps on your next stay, you may want to specify on your reservation, that you’d like a room away from the elevator? Although these are requests, our staff will do their very best to accommodate your room location preference. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    624
    206
    70
    34
See reviews for
825
272
44
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel has a great location right near the King Street Metro. It would be good for travelers who just want a place to crash at night after a day of touring the area. The furnishings are all in boring and old fashioned patterns in nuetrals. The shower was made old tiles and in need of updating. The main table in the living area was old and banged up- just looked dirty. Nothing special about the look of the room.
The atrium area is pretty and all the rooms overlook it, I think. It can be a little noisy though.
The complimentary breakfast was really good. Lots of items to choose from and the made-to -order omelettes and eggs station was great.
The front desk staff was not very receptive at all. They took their time in acknowledging me when I arrived, and when I stopped by at the end of my stay as well.
I went there for a special stay with my daughter and her friends to celebrate her 16th birthday. They had fun because they were together, but they said that the pool is super small and only went to 4 feet, and the whirlpool was "OK". There is also a lifeguard on duty which is unusual, and would be a little awkward if you went in there alone.
For almost $200 a night I hoped for something a little nicer in the looks of the hotel rooms and pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bear246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to say, that we will be updating all of our tub surrounds and furnishings towards the end of this year. I am concerned, however that you were not completely satisfied with our Front Office staff, especially being that this was a special occasion. Our staff is usually quite receptive and pleasant and I will need to forward your comments to the Front Office Manager for review. I would appreciate speaking with you directly, should you be agreeable, and discuss your stay. Please reach out to me or my administrative assistant at the hotel number. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites Old Town last September, and just booked again for April. The hotel and the staff were amazing. The breakfast was delicious and fresh and hot. The bar staff was so friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. The location was wonderful. The metro is just across the street. And we loved walking down King Street to find a restaurant. The trolley is really a great addition. It was hot when were there, so we would take the trolley down to the water, eat and then stroll back. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttrixielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased that everything was to your liking, and that you will be returning soon! Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stay here frequently as I often have business in Alexandria. The location is great - right across from the Metro so an easy trip from the airport. I'm not fond of the restaurants in the immediate area but it isn't far from some wonderful Old Town options and if the weather doesn't cooperate the hotel shuttle will take you and pick you up. The breakfast is one of the best I have encountered - certainly head and shoulders above other "breakfast included" chains. The only complaint I have is the furnishings in the living area - although they are clearly quite sturdy they are exceptionally uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeyfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sure our breakfast staff will be pleased, that you enjoyed your breakfast and considered it better than other hotel chains. Alexandria Old Town is a great place to visit and offers wonderful dining options. I look forward to your return to our property. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was an overnight stay for business, and I got the king suite with free parking deal. Love this location and the atrium is great for hanging out to drink coffee and watch the news. My room was clean and spacious. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosierbuddy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I appreciate that business trips may not always be perfect, and I am delighted that your experience at our Embassy Suites Alexandria was a pleasant one. Should your travels bring you back to the DC area, I hope to be able to welcome you again as our guest. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My dad and I stayed here for the 2013 inauguration weekend. We found out we would be attending less than a month before and decided to stay outside the district in Alexandria since most hotels were already booked or charging exorbident prices. Overall, we were very satisfied with the stay. The hotel is across from the metro, which worked perfectly for the busy inauguration. There aren't many restaurants close to the hotel, but if you are willing to walk down King St. towards the water, you will be able to find a wide variety of options. The sofa bed was a bit firm to sleep on, but overall the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Self Parking is 25.00, and some of the spaces are very tight. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZhenZhu888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. Although as you say your trip was arranged rather last minute, I am pleased that you opted to stay with us and that you would return again in the future. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were in DC for Inauguration. This hotel is directly across the street from the King Street Metro, great shopping and restaurants as well, not to mention the hotel shuttle was great to go shopping and the drivers were very courteous and accomodating. I loved the separate, roomy shower as well.

This hotel is a 10 on every level of customer service and accomodations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you favored our hotel and that you gave us a “10”, as this is the rating we aspire to receive from all of our guests! Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing