We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Really impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

After reading reviews and tips from other guests we decided to do what someone suggested and asked for one of the newly remodeled rooms. We were very satisfied with the room we received which was decorated nicely and very comfortable. The beds are very comfortable and the sheets are really soft. The breakfast in the morning was surprisingly good. The omelet I had was one of the best I have ever had. I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to going back. Also, in great location.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinap_714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is most gratifying to know that not only were you pleased with your stay, but that you would recommend and return to our property. As a hotel, there is not much more we could hope for. I will copy the breakfast staff on your review. I am sure that they will be pleased that they surpassed your food expectations and thrilled that your omelet was one of the best you ever had! Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    557
    186
    62
    27
See reviews for
733
225
35
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stay at Embassy Suites whenever I can! It is the best for families. It offers plenty of space and privacy for a family. There is a hot cooked to order breakfast in the atrium...with lots of seconds! There is a free happy hour every night, even Thanksgiving! We ordered food from the local Boston Market and Whole Foods(across the street) an had a Thanksgiving dinner in our room! This hotel is also right across from the Metro which takes you everywhere you need to go. Oh and King St., Old Town is in walking distance with lots of great local boutiques!
My only minor complaint is the front desk staff can be a little difficult but end up coming through in the end!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilarylev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It concerns me that you had difficulty with our front desk staff and would have appreciated knowing what issue you encountered. I am however, pleased that whatever it was, it was taken care of and resolved in the end. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is perfectly sited if your DC-area travels can be done by metro, as the King Street metro stop is right across the street. Also, the Old Town free trolley leaves from right across the street as well. Finally, the Whole Foods a block away out the back door is great, as is the pizza place right outside the back door (try the greek salad!). Breakfast cooked to order, free business room, they scanned something for me that I needed in digital form and emailed it to me, no charge or bother. Agree with other reviews saying that parts of it are a bit dated - the bathroom cabinets in particular - but I love the extra space gained by having a separate living room and bedroom, and the fridge. Don't forget to bring some money down to breakfast so you can tip the short order cook. Didn't try the pool or gym.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank espritnumber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As mentioned before, our rooms will be updated with new case goods sometime in the latter part of 2013 and I hope that you will be able to visit us again to witness the changes. Although our staff appreciates any “goodies” left for them, I can assure you that “tipping” is not expected or warranted. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great location - across the street from the Metro into DC and a Trolley into Old Towne. Even with a group of over 250 high school students who were visiting the Capitol during Thanksgiving, the hotel didn't seem overcrowded. My room was great: very comfortable bed, just installed new LG TV's and new microwave. All the comforts of home while you're traveling.

Room Tip: I was on fourth floor away from elevators, on a corner overlooking atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gtrpilgrimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Please come back and visit us soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I enjoyed my stay. Had the occasional old ageing signs here and there like the vanity separating from wall, old A/C units (always on or switched off), etc. Breakfast was full featured and managers reception was great. Had 2 set of high school girls on field trips, but was still roomy enough to accommodate everyone. Will stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I look forward to your return in the latter part of 2013, when all of our rooms will be getting a well deserved case goods update. Best Regards… MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I just recently stayed here with my husband for a quick "mini-moon" after getting married. We picked this hotel due to the location ( directly across from the metro) and it worked out perfect for a DC trip. King street was awesome, so many neat shops and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel shuttle is great and the guy working when we were there was a lot of fun. The free King Street Trolley was really neat too! Breakfast in the morning was great not only because it was free but the made to order omelets and eggs were great and one of the best breakfast buffets I have had from a hotel. Manager's reception in the evening was a great surprise, free beer and wine and a small spread of snacks was perfect since we had planned on a late dinner. (Cheese, chips and salsa, hummus, potato chips, popcorn) Parking in the deck is VERY tight just FYI. I will recommend this hotel to friends and plan on staying here again on our next trip to DC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Congratulations on your wedding. I am so pleased that you chose to stay with us, for your brief trip! Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and for your review. I hope we will be able to welcome you and your husband again for the many years to come. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel many times because: it is a good hotel and a good value, it is right across the street from the King St. metro station - two stops from Reagan National Airport and easy metro access to all of D.C., and it is in a great neighborhood with a Whole Foods store a block away from the back entrance, many excellent restaurants within walking distance and they offer a shuttle to locations a little farther way (2 mile radius).

Room Tip: I have stayed in rooms on all sides of the hotel and it doesn't really matter. The rooms that f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjs119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. I look forward to your return to our property. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing