We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, upgraded and allowed to check in early!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I flew cross country on a red eye flight with two teenagers. We arrived exhausted and way to early for check-in. The nice man at the front desk made sure we got into a room and reminded us that if we hurried we could still have breakfast. Right across from the metro train, shuttle to and from downtown area! Would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdkiely2127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for writing this review and for allowing us to serve you. I am pleased that we had the availability to check you in early and that you and your family was accommodated. I look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,571 - 1,577 of 1,956 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great location near the King Street Metro exit, just 2 stops from Reagan National. I loved how quaint Alexandria was. Walking distance to Old Town Alexandria. Lots of shops and food shops in Alexandria.

Breakfast was great, but a bit crowded with lots of families there. The usual Embassy Suites fare-fresh fruit (really fresh), juices, eggs, bacon and omlettes to order if you're willing to wait in line for them. Rooms were clean, had good internet connections, and you can never beat having a full suite. I would stay here again if I was in the area. Seems to be a far ride to DC though if you're thinking of using this as a vacation hotel.

I appreciated that they held our luggage while we went to get dinner, even though we had already checked out that morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for writing this review. I am always gratified when a guest takes the time to let us know how we are doing and appreciate the comments, whether good or not so good. Our focus is to build our business to make every guest want to return and I am pleased that we are going to see you again in your travels. I look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, a little far from downtown dc (expect at least 30 minutes on the weekend), but overall a solid hotel. We'll stay here again in the future. Great location in Old Towne, shuttle odd included off you go downtown Old Towne, with lots of places to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for writing this review, how great that you will consider us for your next visit to the area! I look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We've used this hotel several times before because we think the location is unbeatable. It is directly across the street from Amtrak and King St. Metro stations. It is only two short Metro stops from Reagan National Airport. The area seems safe and there are lots of eating places nearby; also, a Whole Foods Market is about a block away.

Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Our "view" was of the roof-quiet but ugly. The atrium remodel is nice although it is a bit small when the hotel is full. Breakfast is good - we especially like the oatmeal toppers including fresh almond slices. In-room wireless Internet seemed faster this time. That being said, there is room for improvement - old televisions, worn out sofa/sleeper, blanket for sleeper had holes, tub faucet coming away from wall, grout looked like it was applied by a child. It's nice that managers reception is held every day, but "snacks" amounted to popcorn, potato chips, and salsa.

Room Tip: We had a room in the past that faced the George Washington Masonic building and was very scenic. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 91,914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your return visit and review. How wonderful that we were able to serve you again. I so hope that your next visit will be as pleasant. Best Regards… MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have started taking Amtrak from Norfolk to DC. This hotel is across the street from Amtrak and King Street metro stop. The most convenient/inexpensive for the Amtrak/Metro commuter. Very clean hotel w/ nice staff. Rooms are better than adequate. Great free breakfast - eggs to order.

Room Tip: all rooms open to an inner atrium. Sort of like a motel turned inside out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for your taking the time to write this review. You are right. Amtrak and metro are so convenient, that driving into town is not always the best option. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay and will look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

this hotel is not only pretty and clean....when your inside you feel like you are out side....it is right across from the metro station. We took the metro every day into downtown Washington ..15-20.the hotel has a shuttle to go to old town Alexandria or the town has a trolley that runs up and down kings st.you can get the trolley at the metro station.every night the hotel has a happy hr...free beer and wine...chips,popcorn ..we had a blast! the breakfast that came with the room was great.made to order eggs, pancakes,bacon etc. the room we had...two room suite was really nice...and best of all we went on the weekend and it was a really good price. We even left our car in the lot on Monday ...no problem!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Signe1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

It is always gratifying when comments posted about our hotel are positive in nature and that I know the guest truly enjoyed his/her stay. Thank you for your review. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Excellent staff and service. They were eager to please and to correct problems that we had with our room (which was minor, 1 king instead of 2 queens). Free hot breakfast was above average. Atrium in the hotel was beautiful and a nice place to hang out and relax in the evening. Bed and even pull out sofa were comfortable. Great location with free weekend parking across the street at the King St. metro station (though they'll try to get you to park in their garage for $26 per night, but be warned that the clearance is pretty low). Less than a mile walk to the Old Town and all of the bars and restaurants there. A free trolly dropped us off right across from the hotel on our way home. Pool, hot tub, and fitness room were good too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wirfelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for your taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating and provided you with “excellent” service. Please come see us again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,542 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#5 of 54 in Alexandria
1,343 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
The Westin Alexandria
#13 of 54 in Alexandria
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $145 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing