We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We returned for the great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“We returned for the great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We've used this hotel several times before because we think the location is unbeatable. It is directly across the street from Amtrak and King St. Metro stations. It is only two short Metro stops from Reagan National Airport. The area seems safe and there are lots of eating places nearby; also, a Whole Foods Market is about a block away.

Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Our "view" was of the roof-quiet but ugly. The atrium remodel is nice although it is a bit small when the hotel is full. Breakfast is good - we especially like the oatmeal toppers including fresh almond slices. In-room wireless Internet seemed faster this time. That being said, there is room for improvement - old televisions, worn out sofa/sleeper, blanket for sleeper had holes, tub faucet coming away from wall, grout looked like it was applied by a child. It's nice that managers reception is held every day, but "snacks" amounted to popcorn, potato chips, and salsa.

Room Tip: We had a room in the past that faced the George Washington Masonic building and was very scenic. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 91914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your return visit and review. How wonderful that we were able to serve you again. I so hope that your next visit will be as pleasant. Best Regards… MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    569
    191
    62
    27
See reviews for
746
234
36
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have started taking Amtrak from Norfolk to DC. This hotel is across the street from Amtrak and King Street metro stop. The most convenient/inexpensive for the Amtrak/Metro commuter. Very clean hotel w/ nice staff. Rooms are better than adequate. Great free breakfast - eggs to order.

Room Tip: all rooms open to an inner atrium. Sort of like a motel turned inside out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to write this review. You are right. Amtrak and metro are so convenient, that driving into town is not always the best option. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay and will look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

this hotel is not only pretty and clean....when your inside you feel like you are out side....it is right across from the metro station. We took the metro every day into downtown Washington ..15-20.the hotel has a shuttle to go to old town Alexandria or the town has a trolley that runs up and down kings st.you can get the trolley at the metro station.every night the hotel has a happy hr...free beer and wine...chips,popcorn ..we had a blast! the breakfast that came with the room was great.made to order eggs, pancakes,bacon etc. the room we had...two room suite was really nice...and best of all we went on the weekend and it was a really good price. We even left our car in the lot on Monday ...no problem!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Signe1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
It is always gratifying when comments posted about our hotel are positive in nature and that I know the guest truly enjoyed his/her stay. Thank you for your review. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Excellent staff and service. They were eager to please and to correct problems that we had with our room (which was minor, 1 king instead of 2 queens). Free hot breakfast was above average. Atrium in the hotel was beautiful and a nice place to hang out and relax in the evening. Bed and even pull out sofa were comfortable. Great location with free weekend parking across the street at the King St. metro station (though they'll try to get you to park in their garage for $26 per night, but be warned that the clearance is pretty low). Less than a mile walk to the Old Town and all of the bars and restaurants there. A free trolly dropped us off right across from the hotel on our way home. Pool, hot tub, and fitness room were good too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wirfelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating and provided you with “excellent” service. Please come see us again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The travel guru at Channel 70 Video Productions picked this hotel because she knows I prefer Embassy Suites. And, this one was literally steps away from the client located on Prince Street. So, great hotel and close by hotel. Well, great except our grip truck wouldn't fit into the hotel's underground garage. By the way, no free parking here - a whopping $26 day for self-parking in not-New York, not DC, not London, but, Alexandria VA. The assistant manager suggested the Amtrac parking lot some distance away, but Amtrac was having none of that. Magically, a space sort of across from the hotel opened up and there went the truck. But, this was the DC area and no way we were going to leave super expensive video unattended overnight. So, we lugged the most valuable gear from the truck and into our rooms. There was a charge for internet, but we all use 3G/4G phones and netbooks so it wasn't an issue. 3G/4G speeds were very fast in this town. The rooms were quiet despite the railroad across the street. Breakfast, as I've come to expect, was very good. We all packed in the chow since it was already known it would be a very late lunch do to our shooting schedule. This is a busy hotel, but the staff handled everything with ease - except for the switchboard. Slow service from hotel switchboards at larger hotels seem to be a US-wide problem. (never at Ritz Carlton, though) We ate at Joe's next door (would have preferred Sonny's) and had a fine time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Channel_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to write this review. I can appreciate that parking a large truck can be an issue, for the convenience of our guests, the spaces are located closest to the hotel main entrance and tend to be smaller in size. We do have larger spaces available for guest vans or trucks, but I understand that your truck might not have fit in any of the available spaces. I am pleased that a space became available for you on the street, although I do remain certain, that we would have accommodated your truck somewhere. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here to see the Nats play. The hotel is across the street from the Metro, change lines once to get to the stadium. Self park is $25/day -- spaces are tiny. This is an older Embassy that is not well set up for computer use -- no computer desk, few easily accessible electric plugs. Breakfast was very good -- cooked to order omelets, pancakes, and real oatmeal (not instant) with nuts, cranberries, and brown sugar, as well as fresh fruit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notravelsurprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. As mentioned before in other reviews, we will be updating our case goods for our rooms in 2013 which will provide a more conducive area for computer work. We presently have 20 new rooms that were completed in 2012 which offer what you are looking for. Perhaps on your next visit you can request one of these newly appointed rooms? I look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Embassy Suites has been undergoing renovations for quite a while now, and it seems to be almost done. Overall, well done. The lobby bar looks great, a huge upgrade over the prior setup back in the corner. The restaurant has been rebranded into Mediteranean cuisine. They closed the Duke’s restaurant, which I think is a loss.

As always, the people here make the difference. I needed to get a couple of pieces of bamboo cut (long story: see my Hilton Shanghai review), and was quickly and happily assisted. I also met the GM, who actually works in the glassed in office in the lobby… I was impressed that she was there, and actually talking with guests. Ten points!

You can still expect this property to attract large groups of families with students… lots of student traffic. They handle it well, and the morning breakfast scrum is well equipped to manage the groups. That said, if you’re looking for Zen and Quiet, this might not be your best bet. The Westin Alexandria could be a better choice. If you value the convenience of landing at DCA, grabbing Metro two stops, and being 100metres from your hotel, then this is a great place.

I’ve been here before, will certainly return, and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chauncey_Gardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. As always we appreciate any review that involves “our staff”, and how they make a difference in your stay. It is important that the hotel be clean comfortable and pleasant for a “good” stay, but the employees who work there make it a “great” stay and I am glad that you were able to experience our hospitality. I look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing