We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again and why not!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Back again and why not!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I've stayed both with just my wife and with my children at various ages. Always great. The suite-style rooms are ample for 2 adults and 2 teens. The included full breakfast is both a convienence and a money saver.
Old Town has nice restaurants, entertainment, history and shops in a friendly atmosphere all within walking distance or use the free trolly across from the hotel ( which runs the length of Old Town via King St. ).
The Metro directly across from the hotel is a tremedous resource. You can leave your car parked at the hotel for your entire stay and still be able to get into the heart of Washinghton in 20+ minutes. Driving to and within Washington along with finding a parking space is a challenge that I'm more than willing to pass up.

Room Tip: The parking is expensive around $25 per night but they seem to run packages which include parking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duff1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and your continued patronage. I am pleased to hear that we are a constant for your visits here in the DC area and I look forward to welcoming you for many years to come. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    631
    206
    70
    35
See reviews for
841
275
44
439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our family stayed at this hotel 8/11-8/13, I picked it because it is located across from a metro station and we wanted to take it to see the Smithsonian and Monuments in Washington, DC. As always, Embassy Suites provides a complimentary breakfast which was the perfect start to our day of exploration. I recommend getting up early and getting breakfast before by 8am because the lines got really long after that. We've stayed at Embassy Suites before and this was by far the most crowded. Besides that, the food was a good selection of hot breakfast items like eggs, sausage, bacon and potatoes as well as fresh cut fruit, breads, bagels and muffins. The room was clean and spacious for us. However, there were a few minor things that could be improved. Our bathroom didn't have a working vent and the drain in the tub was slow. There also looked to be a stain (mold?) on the shower corner ceiling. There is no mini-mart store in the lobby for little amenities and the closest CVS is about a 10 min walk. The 7-11 is about 7 min. walk so I would recommend bringing all the things you need (meds, laundry soap, etc.). The parking is $25 a day with in and out priveleges but...the parking lot which is underground is very tight. So if you have an SUV like us, it'll be tricky to maneuver but not impossible. Overall, I would stay here again mainly because of the proximity to the metro, free trolly service in downtown Alexandria, breakfast & managers reception (standard for embassy suites) and it's safe area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohana04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As always we appreciate our guest’s feedback and use the information to better our hotel and product. I am concerned by the stain and slow drain you refer to and wonder if it was noted by our hotel staff upon your departure. I will ensure that the housekeeping staff is making note of these and taking appropriate steps to rectify them. Although we do not have a mini mart on property, we do have a Gift Shop where sundries may be purchased. Were you aware that the hotel shuttle takes our guests anywhere within a 2 mile radius of the hotel, which includes the CVS and 7-11? Maybe during your next visit you can avail yourself of this service. Thank you again for choosing Embassy Suites Alexandria as your hotel of choice, we look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Everything with this property was right on par with what you expect from Embassy Suites. Clean room, comfortable bed, cocktails in the bar area. No loud noises in the middle of the night from kids running up and down the hall. When we were there the pool area was in need of a little repair as the HVAC was not working properly, but overall the pool was acceptable. Beware, if you don't know how to park a vehicle in a tight spot you're going to have trouble parking in the garage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwboilermaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that your stay was pleasant and that you were able to partake of the facilities on property. As we are presently updating our exercise room, next to the pool area, there may have been a temporary interruption of the air conditioning in order to complete necessary work. We are nearing completion and should not be experiencing any such outage again. The general parking area can definitely seem small especially based on the location of the support pillars, which are closest to the entrance of the hotel. For that reason, we do have a few larger parking spots for oversized vehicles provided on a first-come first- served basis. Perhaps on your next visit we may have one of these available for you? Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great place to enjoy while visiting Northern VA and Washington DC. Convenient location to metro and several restaurants. Clean rooms - quiet and comfortable. Breakfast and managers reception provide good value at cost. Parking a bit high for overnight guests in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancydto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments and value your opinion. Perhaps on your next visit you might avail yourself of our “Park and Play” room rate that includes a discounted parking fee for each night. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

perfect location for visiting DC . across street from metro . parked car and did not need it again until we checked out. Great breakfast and Happy hour. rooms very comfy and spacious.many restaurants near by, free bus travels down king st to waterfront. Wish the wi-fi were free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jomer37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for our review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

If using Metro the location is unbeatable. 5-10 minute Metro ride from National Airport. Rooms are spacious. Only downside was renovation of fitness room which doesn't fulfill expectations built on pictures from website.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that the fitness room is under renovation and that your expectations were not met. During this construction phase we do provide alternate exercise locations to our guests. I hope you were you able to utilize one of these. I am hopeful that during your next visit to our hotel that the exercise facility will be fully renovated and will exceed your expectations. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed in embassy suites for a business conference. Hotel has everything you need and the rooms are comfortable. For the price you get a bedroom and a separate lounge with kitchen facilities. The Hotel is large and as such expect to queue a bit for breakfast. Breakfast is the price, as is a managers free drink reception every evening - which I didn't manage to try out. Staff are very friendly. Location is good - just off the bottom on King Street - the main street which leads down to the waterfront - and just across the road from the metro with good connections to DC and the airport. There were lots of different offers and deals when I booked - so have a look before booking the headline rate - I got a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were able to avail yourself of an advanced reservation which provided you with a beneficial rate. Perhaps on your next stay you can attend our “Manager’s Reception” and enjoy all that our hotel has to offer. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,368 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,228 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing