We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My son was married on a riverboat on the Potomac. He reserved a block or rooms at this hotel for the out of town guests for this wedding. The price was most reasonable. Location is outstanding! The folks that flew into National Airport just hopped on the metro, rode for two stops, and were at the hotel. The atrium was perfect for a largish family gathering. Rooms were very well cared for; service in general was outstanding. The pool was a godsend for the kids, and it was great after a warm day in DC.
I think the best part was the cooked to order breakfast. It was great, absolutely great. The chefs were so very, very friendly, and the gals that were bussing the tables were always smiling. I saw one gal carry a large suitcase down three steps in the atrium for an older woman who had brought her luggage to breakfast before she checked out.
The best way to describe the attitude of the staff in this hotel is "Service with a Smile!" . That means so much to me. My whole family raved about the place.

Room Tip: They have a shuttle service that took us anywhere within two miles of the hotel...grocery store, res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CranberryLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your review and congratulations on your son’s wedding! I am pleased that you and your guests decided to stay with us, allowing us to be part of this special occasion. “Service with a Smile”, what better acknowledgement of our staff could there be? Thank you for recognizing what I believe to be our hotel’s “best asset”! Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,577 - 1,583 of 1,908 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

We loved the place. It's in a great location and we enjoyed strolling Old Town in the evenings after a day of sightseeing in DC. Metro rail is right across the street and we went everywhere. Once we parked our car we didn't need it until we checked out. The rooms were spacious enough for our family of 6. Our kids are on the younger side so it worked out. The free breakfast was good and filled the kids up. Yes the happy hour only had a few beers and wine available but hey... it's free. If you want a Guinness or a Stella... it's $2. Show me a bar where you can get $2 Guinness. By the way... Vicente and Aidan were always friendly and great to chat with at the bar. They treated their guests well. Additionally, we asked the front desk about getting an internet package and they provided it to us without cost. I would recommend when booking, look for the special offer that includes free parking. It's cheaper to get the package with parking then paying for it separately. Parking isn't cheap. We would stay there again. Pool and gym could use some work but they are in the process of renovating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable time and that you were able to partake of our wonderful breakfast and “Manager’s Reception”. I look forward to your return and the opportunity to showcase our new exercise facility and pool. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I want to start off saying this is a really nice hotel. The location is great and staff is nice. As for the normal things Embassy suites is known for they are lacking greatly! I stay at embassy Suites for the great free breakfast and happy hour. This embassy suites had an awful happy hour and and lacking free breakfast. This is the first embassy suites I have ever stayed at where only 3 awful beers and 2 cheap wines are included in the happy hour. Ever other embassy suites in includes many other choices and free liquor. Next the breakfast gets way too backed up. Along with that on Monday they ran out of the most the selections for the omlets, no muffins, no danishes, fruit was empty most of the time, and the tables took for ever to be cleaned off. Other than these issues it was a great hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I appreciate that you acknowledged our staff, as I truly believe them to be most deserving. I am concerned that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. The “unofficial” beginning of summer, Memorial Day week-end, is always busy for our area. I believe that that coupled with our new restaurant facility layout may have contributed to the uncustomary backlog you experienced. In the Commonwealth of Virginia, the ABC regulations prohibit us from distributing free liquor other than beer and wine, we do offer, however at a minimal cost, premium beers to our hotel guests. I appreciate that notwithstanding this experience that you would give us the opportunity to serve you again. Please stop by and see me during your visit next. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the week of July 4th. It was perfect. The hotel is directly across from the Metro rail station. Once we parked at the hotel, we didn't have to get back into our suv until it was time to leave. This was great because parking was Very tight in the parking garage. Our only regret was not driving our sedan. There are a few restaurants within walking distance if the hotel. We had lunch at subway. There is also a great restaurant inside the hotel. All in all, this hotel is perfect for a visit to Arlington and the DC attractions. This is probably the only place I would consider staying at when I return to the area. The rooms were typical Embassy designed and they were clean.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1pickyparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return soon. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were there with a wedding group and several of our reservations were incorrect on check in including the bride's. It took a bit of doing but they did fix things. When they did check us in finally, they did not go over any of our benefits. We had to ask for the special rate for parking as they were going to charge us full freight instead of the special rate for the wedding group. They did not tell us the breakfast was included -- so we went out for breakfast when we saw how crowded it was and how loud the jackhammering was in the lobby (which they are still renovating). That cost us quite a bit more over two days. Had we known it was included in the price, we would have grabbed breakfast and carried it to our room. We finally ate there the third morning and that's when we realized it was free. It was excellent, including choice of omelets, but very crowded and slow moving.

Oh yes, and they charge extra for internet. When are hotels going to realize that it makes people feel nickle and dimed to be charged for something they have to have for their own business and it doesn't cost them a penny more to provide it? To be fair, they do have a computer room with free access to the internet in the lobby. It even has a printer so you can print directions, boarding passes, etc.

Our suite was nice but not outstanding -- it smelled stale. Since windows don't open however, we could not do anything about it. We also could not get the air conditioning to stay at the desired temperature. It kept creeping up. Plus, there was an elevator that wasn't working right so people were getting stuck in it. That combined with the jackhammering in the lobby did not make for a great impression.

I must say, the location is fabulous. The free trolley into old town stops across the street and the Metro station is right there as well. The hotel also has a free shuttle into old town, which they did not tell us about -- we learned about it from another guest.

Oh yes, and we walked up to the Masonic National Memorial to George Washington which is a short walk past the Metro station. It was closed and the grounds were seriously neglected. It appeared no one had mowed the lawn in weeks.

Old town Alexandria was great fun though!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruising_kitty_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I will address your check in with the front office manager to understand the circumstances contributing to the delay upon arrival. Although the group organizers will usually inform their attendees of hotel amenities and services before arrival, the information should have been forthcoming by the front office agent at check in. We are excited that our hotel is being renovated but remain concerned about our guest’s comfort, and therefore have scheduled the noisier work to take place during the day hours when most guests are out and about visiting our Nation’s Capital. I do hope to be able to have you visit our property in the future and enjoy all that this area has to offer. Best Regards… MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel was a great location for our trip to DC. The metro yellow line is right across the street! Very easy to get around on the metro. The neighborhood was fine. We took the free Old Town Trolley to some cute shops. The front desk staff was helpful with direction on the bus to Mt. Vernon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shdlandfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you and your family were able to appreciate the convenience of our hotel and the charm of Alexandria Old Town. I look forward to your return. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

You can tell the management has been working hard on making this a strong property. Communication was great about the amenities and services available. The train station is across the street and plenty of dining options are in the area.

I will recommend this to others heading to the DC area.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Texincolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. Our management team does work hard to keep things running smoothly especially in this exciting time of change and renovation. All of our staff is exceptional and I appreciate that you took the time to acknowledge them. Thank you for your referral and we look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,476 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#5 of 54 in Alexandria
1,309 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $168 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing