We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed at the Embassy Old Town Alexandria VA. Oct 24-27. I stayed there frequently on business in 03-07. The front desk associate remembered me , the general manager and the hospitality staff. They even gave me my favorite room. It is conveniently located across the street from the King Street Metro station, which is 3 stops from Reagan airport. The Embassy has a complimentary shuttle to take you places in Old Town if you don't wish to walk. The rooms have large flat screen TVs. They have free use of computers in the lobby with a printer to print your airline tickets etc.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBQPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

How wonderful that you were able to come see us again! I am glad that we gave you the recognition that you deserve and I am hoping that we were able to convey your importance to us. We understand that with all the hotels in the Washington D.C. area you could have just as easily chosen another, and for that reason, “We Thank You”! I look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,889)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,619 - 1,625 of 1,889 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

Best location for the tourist or business person who needs transportation to and from the Washington, DC area. Exceptionally clean and quiet; I was on the 5th floor. Hotel is spotless - staff is seen cleaning the premises continually. Rooms are moderately furnished/decorated. Maid service was better than most higher end hotels I have stayed in. Happy hour and manager's breakfast is also a plus - although if one is looking for a Las Vegas style buffet or happy hour they will not experience same. Charming area with a lot of old homes/buildings. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Fifth floor and higher - less noise.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdscates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you decided to stay with Embassy Suites Alexandria for your travel to this area and that you had a pleasant stay. We appreciate your business and welcome your recommendation. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Never stayed at a Embassy Suites before so decided to give it a go. Over all very very impressed, nice spacious room, the lounge made all the difference. Fantastic location just by main metro station and the atrium is cool.

Only main criticism was the rooms near the lift / elevator doors can get very noisy.

Now for the pool, small in size but great, plenty of towels. The life guard young man very friendly but kept on falling asleep!! Not sure if thats allowed? but when we left after an hours swim he thanked us for using the pool.

Its a great hotel, nice rooms and nice staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floor away from elevator entrance if you want some peace & quite
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acydman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that your stay was enjoyable and that you chose to stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. I will address your concern about the “sleepy lifeguard” with the contracted company, as this is not acceptable nor is it safe for our guests. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Great location...on King ST. by the subway/train station
Managers cocktail...great
Breakfast... best I have ever had and free
Beds and pillows very comfortable

Room Tip: Get a room close to evelator..large hotel and some rooms are a good hike from the evelators.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you were able to join us for our Complimentary Breakfast and Manager’s Reception, as both of these truly enhance the Embassy Suites Hotel experience. I look forward to your next visit whether with friends or on your own.
Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is an average Embassy Suite hotel. I have stayed at numerous Embassy Suites. The plus to this hotel is the access to the DC metro system which is across the street.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeisGoodinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you for your review. As we continue to enhance and improve on our product, I remain confident that given the opportunity to service you again, we can change your perception of “average” to “superb”. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The location is excellent! Across the street from the Metro at Kings St. Down the block from Whole Foods and Joe Theismann's restaurant. Can jump on the Trolley for Old Town Alexandria in front of the hotel. The hotel rooms have been through a renovation and have a nice modern decor although they have older TV's in them, which isn't a big deal because we didn't spend time watching tv! Manager's reception was good. Breakfast had terrific selections!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you so much for writing this review. As we are continuously renovating our rooms, we are hopeful that the new televisions for the bedrooms will be arriving sometime early 2012. We are indeed fortunate that this area offers so much to do and see but are pleased that you were able to allot some time to join us for breakfast and relax at our Manager’s Reception. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Embassy for a long weekend in October. We were very pleased with this hotel especially since we got a great deal on Priceline. The room was your typical Embassy suite so we could stretch out. It was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Even though we were near the elevator, we didn't hear a thing all night and we're very light sleepers. The snacks for the manager's reception were pretty meager, but the drinks were as plentiful as you would want. One, thing about this though, they did charge $2.00 if you wanted a mixed drink. That's still quite reasonable, I had just never run into this at an Embassy. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. Although we didn't ride the metro, the Embassy is located right across the street if you were going into DC or surrounding areas. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herekittyOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. Our hotel’s liquor license only includes wine and beer for free and therefore we must charge for the mixed drinks as those are provided through the licensing of the restaurant on premises. We appreciate you choosing our hotel and hope to see you again soon. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,450 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,290 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $169 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing