We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The hotel is very attractive; the location is superb. The price is steep.

The breakfast and the afternoon reception were exactly like those at other Embassy Suites elsewhere (cookie-cutter corporate, pleasant, and adequate). There is no regional sense.

Although the hotel charges significantly and, I think, unreasonably, for in-room wireless, the free lobby business center is superb - a notch above most I've seen.

Our single unpleasant moment occurred when we arrived. The large hotel van was parked squarely in front, blocking the only sloped access area for luggage carts, etc. As I struggled to get our luggage onto the curb, the front door man demanded that I remove my car, which I was returning to Reagan National as soon as I unloaded it. Huh? He watched in chagrin until I got our luggage and my wife into the lobby. Not a pleasant reception and not a good first impression for the hotel.

Room Tip: Front room should have better views than ours in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalo_de_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your input and use the information to the betterment of our hotel and staff. I will inquire with the front office about the “front door man” you mention. As I am uncertain as to whom that might be? We have a bellman usually on staff, and I would like to believe that he would have assisted with your luggage and not merely watched while you struggled! That is not the kind of “first” or “last” impression we want any of our guests to have. I am hoping our hotel will be given another opportunity to serve you in the future. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,645 - 1,651 of 1,908 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

Because our son is a student at University of Maryland, we consistently stay at this Embassy when we're visiting the DC or U of Md area. Our family has found it to be consistent with expectations of a quality Hilton property. Though there are several good choices in the area (of which, we have tried), you can't beat the value, i.e extensive breakfast items, evening reception for guests, shuttle to restaurants and hot spots for visitors in the Old Town area and easy access to the METRO rail system, for the money spent at this hotel. I would highly recommend it to anyone considering hotels in this area.

In fact, we have had such good service over many visits, we have recommended this hotel to family and friends that have ventured to the DC area. It's so convenient to the METRO rail system, that a rental car is obsolete. What a great way to safe money while being a tourist!

Room Tip: Be sure not to miss the Manager's reception in the evening. Great beverages and snacks before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

We have always said that our best source of advertisement is a repeat customer, and for that reason we so appreciate you and your family. You are right, the convenience of not having to rent a car is great and so much more relaxing than having to drive into the DC traffic and search for the limited parking! I look forward to welcoming you and your friends on your next visit to Alexandria VA. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Fabulous hotel! Steps away from METRO. Wonderful breakfast and evening reception. A great weekend stay with kids and grandparents! Husband stays here on travel some so we knew it would be great. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

How fortunate that your husband had previously stayed at our hotel, and that on his recommendation you chose to stay with us as well. We appreciate being given the opportunity to service your family, and hope we will be for many years to come. Thank you for your review. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is by far the best hotel in Alexandria. It is across the street from the King Street metro station access to all of DC metro is 100 yards away. The staff is outstanding and consistantly so every hour of every day these folks are simply the best.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Although we believe our hotel as the best hotel in Alexandria, it is nice to have an unbiased, unsolicited confirmation. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

just came back from a girls weekend in alexandria va. we stayed at the embassy suites. it was just perfect for the two of us. plenty of room, having a sofa, chair, table with 4 chairs and flat screen tv in living area. two beds and a tv in a separate bedroom. plus an extra bar sink with coffee machine frige and microwave. we were both able to put on make up at the same time using bar area and bathroom. embassy offers a full cooked breakfast every morning and an evening happy hour or two with wine and beer and snacks. they offer a shuttle service for the area (2mile limit) one night they took us to a movie theater and picked us up. no need for a car in alexandria as the city provides a free trolley service up and down the main drag King street.from the metro station area to the habor. it runs from 11:30am to 10:30pm. as the hotel is right across from the metro station there was no need for a cab from reagan international airport. taking the train was a brezee into washington for site seeing. i would highly recommend this hotel and alexandria as a very safe and friendly place for a get away weekend

Room Tip: our room was on the 4th fl facing the metro couldn't hear any noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncflap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

We love to hear from our different travel segments and are pleased to know that our hotel offers what is needed for all of their varied needs. Please come back and see us soon. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is by far the very best hotel I've ever stayed in! The rooms were clean, the staff so very amazing! They were friendly and helpful. We took my elderly parents to D.C., and the location of the hotel is fantastic. Alexandria itself is an amazing town, and the people so welcoming. I highly reccomend this hotel!

Room Tip: All rooms are roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoCairns17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

Wow, how very pleased I am that you chose our hotel from all those available in Alexandria. You are right, our staff is phenomenal and we appreciate and tell them every day. I do hope, that in your many more vacations with your parents, you will choose our hotel if in the area, or a family owned when visiting a different state/country. Thank you for your words of praise and allowing us the opportunity to serve you. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I found the hotel quite relaxed and very comfortable. Staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The location is very convenient as the Metro station is just across the road.

Rooms were huge and very comfortable.

The hotel provides free breakfasts and drinks in the late afternoon.

Room Tip: A higher floor would be preferable as the hotel has an open plan and it can get quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

Thank you for providing us with such nice comments of our hotel. I look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,480 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,310 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $162 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing