We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was a very nice hotel. We loved the shuttle that was available. The food was very good. It is very convenient to the metro. We were able to get on and went to see all the DC museums. The only thing I didn’t like was the double beds….my husband is 6’4. We had the best time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Was there a request for 2 double beds in order to accommodate 4 people? I am unsure if you were aware that all our living room sofas pull out to accommodate 2 guests? Perhaps next time, a King size bed with our pull out sofa, might be a better alternative for you. Best regards…Mary Anne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    569
    191
    62
    27
See reviews for
747
234
36
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here on August 24 to August August 29, 2011 for 5 nights. Lovely hotel. Front desk staff are very helpful and friendly. Rooms are decent size, sofa bed is uncomfortable (too hard). The beds in the bedroom are very comfortable. Decorated nicely, bathroom is clean as is the rest of the suite. Happy hour from 17.30 to 19.30 every day and drinks are free except for mixers. Internet is free in the lobby with 3 machines available. The restuarant (Dukes bar and Grill) is fantastic. Great food, nice bar and staff are exceptional. Great hotel. Would definetely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the time you took to let us know about your stay, and look forward to your return. Best regards…Mary Anne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selden, ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We have stayed at this Embassy Suites every year, for the past six years. We love to visit Washington, D.C., and we enjoy the comfort and friendliness of this hotel. The two room suites are spacious, clean and well appointed; great for a family. Breakfast and a nightly manager's reception are included. The breakfast staff know us, and make us feel at home. The pool has been redone. We like to walk around Alexandria, looking at the shops and trying new restaurants. If we don't want to eat out, room service is good. Also there is a Whole Foods Market behind the hotel, with good takeout. D.C. is easily accessible by the Metro across from the hotel. This is a great choice for a D.C. visit

Room Tip: Join their Hilton Honors Program
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NyCahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
It is always nice to hear from our repeat guests, and we thank you for your continued patronage. We recognize that our hotel continues to strive due in large part to our repeat guests and, as our wish is to make every guest feel welcomed and at home, we particularly appreciate those guests that we recognize from other stays. I look forward to your next visit. Best regards…Mary Anne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The location of this hotel was fantastic - a short walk to the King Street Amtrak and Metro stations. Metro takes about 25 minutes to get to the Smithsonian stop in DC, and can get very crowded in the mornings and afternoons, but still better than driving. It is also across the street from the Old Town Trolley stop, but close enough to the waterfront for an extended walk. All in all, the location was perfect for us.

Breakfast was included, but very crowded and just OK. Still, it met our needs prior to venturing into DC. There is also a beer and wine reception in the evenings, which was quite welcome on one day in particular. The room was nicer than I expected and well appointed, and slept the five of us with no problem at all. Housekeeping was excellent with excellent staff, front desk staff was better in the evening than during the day.

A very pleasant stay, and we fell in love with Old Town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgosoon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We are very fortunate about the location of our hotel and how convenient it is for our guests (with or without a car). We have a wonderful staff here at Embassy Suites and thank you for recognizing those individuals. I will forward your comments to the Housekeeping and Front Office Managers for review. I hope to have the opportunity to serve again. Best regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was our second time staying at this location - this time we brought more family with us so we had reserved 3 rooms in advance with the requirement of having them be altogether and were told that would be no problem. Well, apparantly it was a problem because 2 rooms were together and one was further down the hall. Minor inconvenience but we got over it. Great rooms - could use some carpet upgrades - but very spacious, great breakfast and excellent happy hour! Free unlimited beer and wine which we took advantage of. Location is the best with metro directly across the street. I should mention the gal working in the gift shop where you are to buy tour tickets doesn't speak fluent english and we ended up calling the company ourselves to book since she was not familiar with the tour details. Front desk staff and bar staff were excellent and very friendly. We will most likely be back again :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shopperlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you returned to our hotel and brought your family to share in the experience. I will review the procedures in place for advance reservation room requests with the Front Office Manager. Unfortunately depending on guests staying over and occupancy, (unless requesting a connecting room -door that connects both rooms) that may have been the best room selection available at the time. Thank you for bringing the carpet in your room to my attention. Since we recently updated our room/suite carpeting in 2009, the carpets should not be showing signs of wear. I will enlist the help of our Suitekeepers to determine which suite/suites may need attention. Best regards…Mary Anne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend in August 2011. Basic Embassy stuff, but this location is super for Alexandria and DC in general as it's right across the street from King Street Metro (access to Yellow and Blue Lines). You can also get up and down King Street in Alexandria via the free trolley that runs from 11:30am until 10pm every 15 minutes (get on/off right at the first/last stop at the Metro station). Don't expect to get from the middle of King back to the hotel around 10pm though - trolley starts back from the river and is full by the time it gets to mid-town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bwq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are fortunate that our hotel is so conveniently located and are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Next time might I suggest that you make use of our complimentary hotel shuttle? Our van driver will gladly drive/pick you up from anywhere within a 2 mile radius, between the hours of 7AM and 10PM. No need to be stranded midway on King Street! Best Regards ...Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, MI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

The location of this hotel was perfect for our family of six (4 kids, ages 10-15). Having the metro train directly across the street was a huge bonus for our trips into DC. Also we loved the Old Town area. There is also a free trolley at the metro station that drives up and down King street to the waterfront. There were many nice restaurants and shops in Old Town. Also near the waterfront is a wonderful walking/running/ biking path that our family took advantage of daily. All of the hotel's staff that we encountered were extrememly helpful and friendly. The breakfast is much better than your standard hotel breakfast and it includes a made to order omellet, egg and pancake station. This was a huge bonus for our family. In addition, management held a daily "happy hour" with complimentary soft drinks, wine, beer and snacks. This was a nice treat after a full day of site seeing. I'd also like to mention that the hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle service within a two mile radius. We used this service a couple of times and the driver couldn't have been more helpful! We would highly recommend this hotel and were very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hand1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to write this review, especially being a busy parent with 4 kids! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for recommending our Embassy Suites Alexandria to your friends and family. Best regards…..Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing