We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for visit to Washington DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect location for visit to Washington DC”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We recently traveled June 28th-July 1st for a visit to Washington DC with our seven year old daughter. As usual, we wanted to stay at an Embassy Suites. This one located in Alexandria, Old Town was the perfect location. If you are traveling for leisure to see the sights and sounds of the nations capital, I would highly recommend this hotel. There is a Metro station located directly across the street. Upon arrival and asking about the Metro, the lady at the front desk was more then helpful. She provided me with a Metro map, explained where all the lines ran, and even took me to the window to point out which direction we wanted to face on the platform to make sure we caught the correct train. It was about a 20-25 minute ride on the Metro into DC depending on what stop you get off at. It was about 15 minutes to Arlington Cemetary. The room at the hotel was ideal. With two double beds and a large living area, it gave us plenty of room for what we needed. The staff at the hotel was very accomodating and friendly regardless of time or day. The people who have left reviews complaining about the rude staff must not have stayed at this hotel. The pool area was perfect for a night swim. The pool was a little smaller then most, but served the purpose and there was a lifeguard on duty at all times. The hot tub was perfect for the body after a long day walking in DC. The breakfast was perfect. We filled up for breakfast and were good to go for a late lunch/early supper. Although the fruit selection wasn't as good as some other Embassy Suites, the made to order breakfast made up for it. The managers reception at night was also welcomed when we returned thirsty and in need of a little snack. Again, the selection of snacks at this hotel wasn't as good as other Embassy's we've stayed at, but definitely not worth complaining about. Beer and wine were free and there were chips, pretzels, and chips and salsa available. Be prepared to pay to park, It was $24 a night, but in a town like this, it's to be expected. There is a whole foods store behind the hotel, which is nice for a quick snack or something you forgot. The only thing I would caution you on in this hotel is that it is very easy to pass if you've never been there. It sits on Diagonal Road and the entry into the check in area is very easy to pass if you aren't looking for it. We had to go around the block once and then saw it the second time around. I think it would be nice if there were a sign stating, "Embassy Suites check in" out near the road to direct you to the entrance. Overall, we had no issues with this hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in the area to visit DC. We will no doubt be staying here again in the years to come. Finally, they do have a shuttle that will take you down to Old Town Alexandria which is full of restaurants and shops. There is no charge and the shuttle driver will come and pick you up when you are done. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachlover105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed staying with us at the Embassy Suites in Alexandria, VA. Our location is perfect for those who wish to have easy access to the metro system in order to enjoy all the aspects that Washington has to offer. I also wish to thank you for recognizing our team members who you came in contact with during your stay. It is so important to offer both the comfort of the hotel and the service that is expected. We look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely

Mary Anne Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    631
    206
    70
    35
See reviews for
841
275
44
439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

For $210 per night (the Government hotel rate in DC area) I was disappointed that the "Evening Manager's Reception" included potato chip/pretzel/tortilla chips snack only with their free drink choices. The two Marriot Residence Inns very close by, which I stayed at previously, put-on quite a spread in their version of "Evening Manager's Reception. Come on Embassy Suites. Get with the program relative to your competitors.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
I would like to thank you for your response regarding your most recent stay at the Embassy Suites Alexandria. I am very pleased to advise you that as a brand we have just recently introduced more selections during the “Evening Manager’s Reception”. Coupled with our full cooked-to-order breakfast to start your day, we now have these additions to assist with relaxing in the evening on your return to the hotel.

Sincerely

Mary Anne Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gorgeous hudson valley
Level Contributor
214 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Loving Embassy Suites as much as we do, we decided to cancel our reservation at the Hilton(which turned out to be 2 blocks away from this location) and stay at the ES Alexandria Old Town. The hotel is located across the street from a metro station, so it makes this hotel a very convenient and affordable spot to stay if you are visiting Washington. They also offer a free shuttle within 2 miles of the hotel.
Parking in a 'city' is usually a nightmare, they do offer valet, or self parking, for a fee. There were some open spots across the street which after 5PM on Fridays are FREE, so we took advantage of the free parking.
Walking into the hotel, the first thing to notice is the flooring...it's an unusual touch and something I have never come across. Upon walking in, you feel like you're walking through a living room, couches line the entry way, the business center is located in the lobby as well. Check-in was quick and we were upgraded to a corner suite.
Our room was great! We had a nice long foyer, a very comfortable living room with dining table, couch and easy chair. There was a kitchenette and the hotel put some water int he fridge and left some snacks, nice touch! The bedroom had a free standing armoire, and ample room for those requiring more than a weekend stay. The bathroom (the tub) could use some updating, but other than that, the room was clean.
Managers reception did offer liquor, but due to local liquor laws, there was a $2 charge per drink. Snacks included nachos, pretzels and popcorn. There was plenty of spots to sit and enjoy your drinks. This also serves as the breakfast area. Breakfast, was great, except the cooked to order egg line was 20 people deep, at all times. I have no idea how many people this hotel holds, but they all seemed to be at breakfast at the same time. It was tough to find a spot for breakfast, and unless you pushed your way to the front of the line (which a lot of people did), it took a long time to even get toast, or fruit salad. The 'waitstaff' who had the job of cleaning up the tables, did so with a smile and always a 'thank you', it was sad to see only 1 other table leave them a tip for their services.
There is a steakhouse on the corner and a comfy local spot that served crab dishes. It was around 9:30 when we got back tot he hotel and just ordered from the hotel restaurant. I went to pick the food up and although you could see it from the lobby/breakfast area, I had a little trouble actually getting up to the restaurant. Our food was just fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2toots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that the Embassy Suites Hotel brand is your choice of hotel when available. We at Embassy Suites strive to provide a “home away from home” for our guests and are glad that you experienced our hotel’s warmth during your visit. As the license granted from the City of Alexandria ABC commission limits us to offer complimentary wine and beer to our guests, we must therefore charge a minimal cost for cocktails. It is a challenge to determine the flow for our complimentary breakfast, having 268 rooms of guests with very varied schedules, and for that reason when seating is limited, we offer our guests the opportunity to bring their food to their room and enjoy a relaxed breakfast. Thank you again for your comments, we wish you well in your travels and look forward to your next visit. Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Embassy Suites Alexandria Old Town on a family trip to D.C. in May 2010. We originally planned to stay in D.C. but found finding an available room a challenge. The only hotels available were about $500 - $600 a night. We looked into several surrounding communities and upon a friend's recommendation looked into Old Alexandria. Checked out several hotels in Old Alexandria and went with Embassy Suites because of the amenities and close proximity to the Metro which is right across the street. The hotel was clean and well appointed. Service was great. We stayed in a 2 room suite w/1 king bed. Our room was very nice, very clean, and very spacious. The pool and hot tub were great - the kids loved it. The website lead us to believe the manager's reception would include drinks and appetizers - but turned out to be soft drinks and chips/pretzels... but wasokay, we still took part. The website has since changed to say "light snacks". The included, hot breakfast was very good with made-to-order pancakes and omelets, all sorts of selections, fruits, etc. We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Nice Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doin_a_travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for your review. Just so I am clear, it appears that you stayed at our property in July 2010? I am pleased to inform you that since your last visit there have been exciting changes at our Manager’s Reception, which I believe will please you. In January 2011 we were granted a license by the City of Alexandria ABC commission that allowed us to offer complimentary wine and beer to our guests, and Embassy Suites as a brand is currently in the process of enhancing the snack selection to provide guests with a more appetizing and diverse assortment. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your return to our Embassy Suites. Best regards... Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is perfectly located for Old Town, Alexandria. There's a free trolley that stops right across the street from the hotel and takes tourists into the dock area all day. The hotel is clean and attractive. The breakfast is great and the afternoon cocktail hour is a perfect time to relax before going out to dinner. Highly recommend this hotel for singles, couples or family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and look forward to your next visit. Best regards...Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Embassy Suites Old Town was very nice! Excellant service from an outstanding STAFF
Close to everything including Metro to downtown! Congratulations

Room Tip: Smile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmTreePeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for writing this review and recognizing our wonderful staff! As we strive for all our guests to have the exact experience you had, we will look forward to your return! Best regards...Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

If you want to visit Washington DC and want to avoid the high cost of hotels, this is the place to stay! It is directly across from the Metro, so you can get into DC very easily...it's about a 30 minute Metro Ride, but it goes by quickly! Also, lots of great restaurants in Old Town Alexandria...you could spend a long weekend right here and have plenty to do. The hotel is only about 20 minutes from Mt. Vernon, too, so that's a great day trip or a stop on your way in or out of DC. The hotel rooms are spacious and clean....it's great to have a microwave and small frig for snacks. The complimentary breakfast is really good with lots of choices...go early as it gets a little crowded. We took our breakfast back to our room and that worked well. Don't miss the manager's happy hour at the end of the day...who would pass up a free glass of wine or beer and some munchies! We would stay here again and would recommend it to family and friends without hesitation!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnikSnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for your review and for recommending us to your friends. As you noted, we offer the best of both worlds, by offering the convenience of easy transport to DC and the surrounding area, without the high cost of the room accommodation. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and look forward to your next visit. Best regards...Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,370 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,231 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing