We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New business model - no longer a good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Genghis Grill

Genghis Grill
Ranked #211 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Asian, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
147 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“New business model - no longer a good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Since my prior visit, the restaurant has adopted a new pricing policy, which makes it more costly for me, so I likely won't be returning. They eliminated the "unlimited bowl" option and now have three different sized bowls to select meats, seafood & vegetables. They then want to load what you select with rice, pasta, or potatoes to fill the serving bowl. Since I don't eat those items, the new business model doesn't work well. For those who enjoy that as part of their meal, then it's likely OK. I just like the meat & vegetables, so I need more than 1 bowl (even the largest) to satisfy my appetite at dinner.

I have no complaint with the food itself. The make-your-own-bowl is just fine with fresh vegetables and meat/seafood items to use. And there's a wide selection of sauces & spices to include with the items selected. At the end, you tell the grill staff which starch item to add (for those who want it).

The restaurant itself can get loud as the decibel level is high. There are TVs around the place for something to look at, generally tuned to a sporting event, if there are any to be seen

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fried003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You make the food so no reason to complain really”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is your typical Mongolian bbq restaurant. Its great because they have a wide variety of sauces with different heat levels. It's a great place for business lunches because you have time to chat while waiting for your food to cook.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
207 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fun and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Friendly competent staff! Food was good and at a fair price! My wife enjoyed the atmosphere. Fast service. Will be repeat customers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanimal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoy being your own chef!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great place to go with the kids or friends. You have the opportunity to mix a great variety of meats, spices, vegetables and sauces to make your own wonderful creation and then enjoy savoring it after it is stir-fried. For those less inclined to create, there are great menu alternatives. I thought the price/value was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
451 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“always a lot to choose from”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

nice setting, not expensive, fresh vegetables and watch them be stir fried. Everything made to order.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samtrip12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genghis Grill also viewed

 

Been to Genghis Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing