We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Church”

Alexandria's Christ Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$127.50*
and up
Virginia Day Trip and DC After Dark Combo
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Old Town Alexandria Smartphone Photography Tour
More Info
$78.98*
and up
Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC
Ranked #5 of 90 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
south jersey
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I stopped by on Sunday afternoon to see this historic Church. George Washington and Robert E Lee attended service here many years ago. It is beautiful inside! The whole city of Alexandria is great too!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank murphman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    57
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“HISTORIC”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

You must visit this church if you are in Old Town. George Washington went to church here, and you can sit in his pew. Need I say more?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrideVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very helpful man there to talk about the church and its famous attenders”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were very glad to get to see it and it is kept open a lot, so anyone can go in...even if only just to pray. A knowledgeable volunteer was there to talk to us. Was very impressed with how well they have taken care of the church and that services are still held there. You are allowed to take photos too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCQuiltlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
896 reviews
471 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 858 helpful votes
“History, church, cemetery and music”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

As others have written, Christ Church, which requires only a brief visit, is definitely worth a short side trip as one is walking around Old Town. Start with the cemetery, including the marker just inside the fence on Washington St., marking the graves of 30 Confederate soldiers, whose bodies were collected to give them a proper burial. One should keep in mind that Alexandria was an occupied Confederate city during the entire length of the civil war, at least in the minds of those who lived here at the time.

The church, as described by others, is simply but rich in history, especially concerning our first president and founding father.

But there is more...much more. The community of this church is very active, and tonight I attended the annual "9 Carols and Lessons" presentation, a tradition that goes back in history to the 19th century. I have been to Christmas concerts all over the world, but somehow I find this the most magical. The setting, the music, the choirs (yes, there are several), the readings by local notables all add up to something one can never forget. I hesitate to write about this because it is a local event, not advertised to the wider public. But for those who wish to remember Christmas past as the English and our forefathers celebrated it, this is a must event. And since those who attend join in much of the singing of traditional carols, it warms the heart like no other Christmas event I have attended. It fits the Old Town atmosphere, especially as it usually takes place at the time of the annual Scottish walk and night time holiday parade of boats along the Potomac waterfront.

Old Town is truly magical the first two weeks of December, and I encourage those who appreciate this tradition and pageantry to make a special effort to come here. As a resident for only the past four years, I find it truly "the most wonderful time of the year."

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Historic”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

For many reasons, including the place where George Washington's funeral was held. His pew and the pew of the Commander of the Army of Northern Virginia are marked. The best service is the joint Thanksgiving service with Temple Beth El, the oldest synagogue in Northern Virginia. This year it is at 10 AM at Christ Church. Rabbi Brett Isserow, who was brought up in South Africa, will give the sermon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BonVivant39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandria's Christ Church also viewed

 

Been to Alexandria's Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing