We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Well worth your visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandria's Christ Church

Alexandria's Christ Church
118 N. Washington St., Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703-549-1450
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$149*
and up
History of Old Town Alexandria Walking Tour
Ranked #5 of 75 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth your visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Beautiful, 18th century Episcopal Church. Small plaques indicate George Washington's pew (where you can sit) and the spot where Robert E. Lee was confirmed in 1853. Charming churchyard and nice gift shop.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vahorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    46
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a view of the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were fortunate that when we entered the church, we were the only ones there and got a private historical review of the church and the surrounding area. the staff were very cordial and friendly

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The docent was wonderful, and made the tour interesting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stunning view of everything, and we sat in the exact pew that George Washington and his staff sat in. Velvet padded seats, which was nice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“This was my ancestors church back in 1780's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Go inside and sit in a pew. Listen to the history of this old church. Even George Washington attended back in his days. Walk around the cemetery and look at the original headstones.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chris1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sit where George Washington sat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stopped in on a sunday afternoon after the sunday services were over just to check the place out. We were greeted by a very nice older gentleman who had just started a tour of the church. The church is pretty small, it isn't a grand cathedral, but is very nice and quite pretty. What it may lack in size it makes up for in history - George Washington used to own a pew at this church and it is still there with the original woodwork, and you can sit in his pew, Robert E. Lee used to attend services here, and Winston Churchill sat in the Washington pew with FDR to pray after Pearl Harbor. The tour is free and lasts about 10 minutes. Donations are accepted, and pictures are permitted.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rumcreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandria's Christ Church also viewed

 

Been to Alexandria's Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing