We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cheap, big clean room, bad breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Washington Suites Alexandria
Ranked #37 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap, big clean room, bad breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights and the place was just average. Quite noisy, the breakfast was absolutely lousy. The staff was helpful though (especially when I wanted to find a better place to eat) and the rooms were clean and spacious.
This is a budget hotel, I understand that. Apparently suitable for families with kids (although most of the ones I've seen there seemed to be long stay - a different thing altogether), not suitable for business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudiu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    112
    49
    35
    32
See reviews for
157
28
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Got a good deal on groupon.com to stay here. The suite is decent size though some of the light switches didn't work. Waited for shuttle to go to metro and he left us at the front entrance and never picked us up. The pool is a nasty puke color green. Hallways smell like they went overboard on the carpet cleaning. Location is in a residential neighborhood that is heavily populated with Muslims. Cheap place to stay to see DC

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyLover56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel itself is pretty average and bordering on unimpressive. The rooms are basic and somewhat outdated, but sufficient. The hallways smell like whatever the long term hotel guests are cooking in their rooms. There is, apparently, a family/families that actually live there. There were a large number of unattended and unsupervised children running around the hotel. Check-in went smoothly and hotel staff were friendly and informative. Unfortunately, while checking-in, there was a child who literally elbowed his way in front of us and began climbing on the front desk, demanding that the employee retrieve something for him from a back room. This theme continued when, on several occasions, unattended children would jump in front of us to get on the elevator first despite our group having large bags and/or a stroller, etc. The hotel shuttle is efficient at getting guests TO the metro station, however, the shuttle was slow to pick us up FROM the metro station. I tried to call the hotel 10 minutes ahead of our arrival at the metro station, but was told to call back after we had arrived at the station. This left us standing outside the metro station after dark with three children for around 20-30 minutes (its only a 5 minute drive from the hotel). Breakfast goes quickly and there are not lot of options. Get down there early for the free breakfast buffet if you want to eat.

The restaurant at the hotel is fantastic! Staff is friendly, warm and conversational. The bartender/waitress is phenomenal (I believe her name is Monica). Our group (3 adults, 3 children) were there on a Saturday night and there was a loud argument over a college football game among some other patrons. Because foul language was used within ear shot of our kids, we were comped our meals. Absolutely the right thing to do! And the food is great too! Fair prices, great quality. Lots of options for kids and adults. One of the children in our group is highly allergic to peanuts and when I asked about any peanuts or peanut cooking oil in the kitchen, the bartender actually went to the kitchen, spoke with kitchen staff and checked every container of cooking oil to ensure safety. I cannot say enough about the restaurant! It's probably the best part about this hotel.

If you're on a budget and don't mind some inconveniences, this hotel will be sufficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmtcaw02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our experience is based on the time we stayed.
we stayed for 6 days in a suite. the reviewed were higher than our experience.
The location is excellent. cleaning is an issue that you need to consider before going into this hotel.

Room Tip: Inspect the room cleanness. Location next to Domino's Pizza and 7/11. CVs/pharmacy and other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majd h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Repentigny, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Family style hotel with free shuttle service to metro nearby. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. Easy acces to downtown dc. A little old and worn in places but room clean and very spacious. Kitchen pretty basic but ok for our needs.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near stairs or elevator. This being a family hotel, there are kids running around but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenecyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came to DC to celebrate my birthday. The room was very spacious. Kitchen/micro/stove/full ridge. the bathroom is small, no room to put items. there was a balcony, but only one chair, which was pretty dirty. the balcony could use a touch up with some paint. The room served its purpose,cause we were not there to stay in the room all day and nite. There was running children in the hallways, but it did not wake us up after being out all nite. There was also a wedding ritual that took place outside by the elevators on the 7th floor. Which was kind of strange. There is a gas station across the street and plenty of places to eat up the main road. All and all we would stay in this hotel again if we are ever in town again. Not far from Downtown DC. The one thing i did not like is that they put a $50 hold on my bank card and stated it would clear in 14 days. So if you dont want a hold on your card, bring cash and it will be returned at checkout. There is breakfast included, waffle maker, bagels, cereal, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I just returned after checking out a day early. Upon entering the lobby smelled stale. The room absolutely reeked of curry and body odor. There were dogs barking inside many of the rooms. Kids were running up and down the hallways at 3 in the morning. We got there late at night exhaused with tired kids, and in the morning asked housekeeping to come and clean. We were gone all day, came back again late and there was a dead roach in the room. In the morning I found a dead bed bug under the sheets. Called the desk, no manager working. Sent housekeeping manager up who claimed it wasnt a bed bug. I pulled up a picture on my iphone and it was an exact match. We checked out. I have stayed in many hotels. I have NEVER had a such a traumatizing and horrible experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Suites Alexandria

Property: Washington Suites Alexandria
Address: 100 S Reynolds St, Alexandria, VA 22304-3170
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious suites with impeccable services and extended stay amenities at Washington Suites Alexandria in Virginia, minutes from Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Washington Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Washington Hotel Alexandria
Washington Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing