We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Washington Suites Alexandria
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I just returned after checking out a day early. Upon entering the lobby smelled stale. The room absolutely reeked of curry and body odor. There were dogs barking inside many of the rooms. Kids were running up and down the hallways at 3 in the morning. We got there late at night exhaused with tired kids, and in the morning asked housekeeping to come and clean. We were gone all day, came back again late and there was a dead roach in the room. In the morning I found a dead bed bug under the sheets. Called the desk, no manager working. Sent housekeeping manager up who claimed it wasnt a bed bug. I pulled up a picture on my iphone and it was an exact match. We checked out. I have stayed in many hotels. I have NEVER had a such a traumatizing and horrible experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 320 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel was ok as far as being clean. Needs to be updates, expected it to be a little nicer for the price
We stayed for two nights with our boys . The first night we got woken up twice by kids yelling and running up and down the halls. ( midnight and 3 a.m) . The next morning I let the front desk know what had happen and if the could let the people know. I was told that they would. The second night the kids were running and yelling at 10:30pm and 4:30 a.m. When I checked out the next morning I let them know that I will not be returning due to the lack of sleep while on vacation. If you decide to stay here avoid the 5th floor.

Room Tip: Avoid the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loretta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The room was spacious for my wife and I with 3 kids (ages 11, 8, and 5). We did have a full-sized fridge, tiny stove, in a decent-sized kitchen. No issues there.

Be warned that it is an old building. The elevators barely fit 5-6 people *without* luggage. If you've got a big bag, then it's maybe two people plus the bag! Also, the heating system is on heat or cool for the entire building - you canNOT modify that. There's a posting about this in the room (with a 'sorry for the inconvenience') but I would want to know that before booking it! Luckily we were there in the heat of July and the building was already on 'cool', but if you're visiting in the fall or spring, you may not have control over the temperature in your room.

Speaking of which...the a/c unit wasn't working in our unit when we checked in but was resolved within 15 minutes with one call to the front desk.

Our negative experience came with the shuttle. While we were driven to the subway with the courtesy shuttle with no issues, the way back wasn't so smooth. We called the hotel from the subway, and were told the shuttle will be on its way. After 30 minutes, when no shuttle appeared, we called back and were told "the shuttle driver came by 3 times and you weren't there"...nice try, but there's only one spot where you can be picked up! Then, when the shuttle driver finally arrived, he gave some excuse that he was delayed in traffic...even though it took us precisely 4 minutes to get back to the hotel and there was no traffic either way. Not good! So the next day we just drove into DC and bypassed this shuttle fiasco.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssarmazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

It made a good first impression, the room was big, included breakfast, ok price. But the hallways smell like cigarette, the gym only has a fan to cool you down and has carpet everywhere, the breakfast is actually pretty lame, and I couldn't sleep all night because I could hear EVERYTHING that was going on in the other rooms. I knock on a couple arguing that was 5 doors away from mine. In short just don't go there, there are plenty of other hotels around don't pick this one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank computer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay and found the price before the upgrade very reasonable for six people. Breakfast needs some low carb options though. Lots if families- ours included. Pool was fine and we had the restaurant package - dinner was good - we had takeout and ate in our room. Overall good value and good location to drive into city. Street parking is free in dc on the weekends and taxis were cheaper and easier than the metro in dc!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teammcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Reasonable price and spaciousness, fit our family well. We did the economy family package, but the $50 credit for the restaurant wasn't really worth it because we spent more than double that to feed six of us. Definitely some deferred maintenance on the balconies and access to the pool area. But the service was very good, nice experience overall.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Corrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

After looking for a hotel located just outside Washington D.C., we selected this one for its two bedroom/two bathroom suite and the reasonable price. The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The beds were clean as were the bathrooms. The only negative to the bathrooms were the size and lack of bathroom counter space. The kitchen in the suite needed a lot of updating and cleaning. A little clorox and a lot (and I mean a lot) of "elbow grease" was definitely needed. However, after some cleaning of our own we were able to use the kitchen and prepare some meals to save money on food purchases while on vacation. We did not have any problems with noise as some visitors mentioned. All in all...for a family looking for a reasonably priced hotel this is a good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Suites Alexandria

Address: 100 S Reynolds St, Alexandria, VA 22304-3170
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: $140 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious suites with impeccable services and extended stay amenities at Washington Suites Alexandria in Virginia, minutes from Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Washington Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Washington Hotel Alexandria
Washington Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing