We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More of a hang out for locals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of T.J. Stone's

T.J. Stone's
Reserve with OpenTable
T.J. Stone's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Alexandria's own T.J. Stone's celebrates modern American cuisine. Enjoy casual dining in the comforts of our cozy restaurant and bar with wine, beer and spirits from around the country & world.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“More of a hang out for locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Wood burning fire place on a cold night with great food and atmosphere. We have now been here for lunch and dinner and are very pleased. The owners of this restaurant have a couple / three other restaurants in the area with completely different atmosphere and menus. They are the best at making their guest welcome and looking forward to a return. Go

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Silvergoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    103
    30
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stopped in for a quick dinner and the place was quite busy. Patrons mostly in the 20s-30s but a few older couples as well (like us). Service was prompt and friendly and the food was pretty good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoaminRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cooks Had A Bad Night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

On this cold Thursday evening , the cooks must have been asleep at their pans. We came here looking for comfort food because the location was convenient. The Restaurant Week menu looked like a good deal. The service was attentive & pleasant, the ambiance was very comfortable and the prices were fair. But our 9-ounce pour of wine was short & more like 6 oz . The food came out quickly. The shareable appetizer was 3 golf-ball sized "potato puffs" but the insides were mushy and raw with a very strange texture. Four smaller ones would have made more sense for two people. Both our veal entrees looked nice with a tasty sauce but the veal pieces were burned on the bottom & the rizotto was crunchy, dry, and way under done. The strudel was delicious but could have used a bit of ice cream for balance. Twice we gently told the server about the food issues but there was no effort to make it right. As we were leaving we told the manager also, but he just smiled & thanked us as we left to never return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThadZer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gluten Free Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant had a good selection of gluten free options and the food was enjoyed by everyone in our party. They don't use dedicated fryers so it cut down some on the options that could've been available. They are smart enough to know soy sauce is a problem for celiacs. I was happy to find this place and will be happy to go back when in Alexandria.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vtboxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon Hill, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We would definately go back again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We've been to this place 2 times, once during the day and once for dinner. We had good experiences both times but I much prefer the Bartender that is on during the day. Much better drinks. It's a great place to go and watch sports at the bar, lots of TVs. The Gouda Tater Tots are really good, as is the Bubba Burger, and the Pork Sirloin was fabulous. The only problem we had was a couple of us had to send our fries and Mac and Cheese back to be warmed up. Overall, we had a good meal and the service was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oxonhillgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T.J. Stone's also viewed

 

Been to T.J. Stone's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing