We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”
Review of T.J. Stone's

T.J. Stone's
Reserve with OpenTable
T.J. Stone's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Alexandria's own T.J. Stone's celebrates modern American cuisine. Enjoy casual dining in the comforts of our cozy restaurant and bar with wine, beer and spirits from around the country & world.
rshkj
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have eaten there twice, and both times the food was good. It is walking distance from the Crown Plaza and Holiday Inn in old town. It is a fun place to hang out and unwind after work.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rshkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    113
    32
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Have not been here for a year and what used to be pretty good is now sub par.
The pulled pork barbecue tasted burnt or maybe just cooked too long.
The baked beans were also burnt tasting. This is not cheap but the food has definitely slipped. Dining room was empty. Bar flies swilling beer and watching TV just looked sad.
We live four blocks away but will not be returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaPear16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I stopped on here because I was staying nearby for business. It turned out to be a great place for some food and drinks. I had some wings which were awesome and a couple different crafts beers which were also good. The atmosphere was typical of a sports bar and there were plenty of TV's to keep up with the games. I will definitely be back!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good Sliders, menu, but poor service”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've gone here numerous times since it opened. Same experience. The wait staff and bartenders act like they are doing you a favor waiting on you. The bartenders spend more time on their friends and "locals" (although I live across the street) than taking care of customers (many from local hotels). They are all arrogant and self absorbed. The food is good and I love the menu for the snacks and late night food. The main menu is very good too. I like the food and the décor is super nice, great job renovating and making this into a nice place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyAboutTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Great experience"”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Met up with friends visiting the area and this came highly recommended. Excellent variety of menu options and the service was great. Pacing was great--the appetizer and the meal came at great intervals (this was lunch for us). Food highlights include the Chx Club, Burgers, and Chx Jack-Jack. BBQ was ok but would have been interested in the other sauce choices to compare. Definitely will return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripod6306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T.J. Stone's also viewed

 

Been to T.J. Stone's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing