We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stopped in for a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pizzeria Paradiso

Pizzeria Paradiso
Ranked #18 of 754 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: We are a classic Neapolitan style pizzeria featuring a wood-fire brick oven to create our authentic. Our carefully curated RAMMY award winning beer program boasts 200 bottles, 15 rotating draft lines including one firkin of cask beer from craft breweries around the world. We are located in the heart of historic Old Town Alexandria, come and enjoy delicious food and drink within the context of a relaxed dining experience.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stopped in for a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The selection of beer is endless...almost overwhelming, but fun if you are really looking to try something unique. The four ounce sampler of drafts is a good idea. We didn't eat, but the pizza looked and smelled great. The service was a little slow, but the bar has a laid back feel to it, so we really didn't mind. Bob Marley and Steel Pulse played in the background which was relaxing.
*They do NOT have a full stock bar. Beer and wine only, but anyone could find a beer they like in that place!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanshan228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    99
    34
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Not So Great Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The pizza and food here was very good. It's a shame that the service is truly lacking. Went here for lunch and though there is a stand for incoming diners, I observed that typically people just seat themselves as the servers/staff seems aloof to people standing right in front of them. The entire staff seems to be your typical "too cool for this job" college students/hipsters. Food was excellent but service left bad taste in mouth.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jo2er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yummy pizza, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I love good pizza crust and this pizza really fit the bill! There are great choices here, so you can choose from one of the pizzas they have designed or make your own pizza from a variety of interesting choices. Very good selection of beers, both tap and bottled. I love the breads served with the elephant garlic!

The server was very nice, friendly, and helpful. It was crowded but I never felt like that was a problem with the service or atmosphere. The server was very understanding when we took our time to make our selection and just to hang out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexandrian1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A quick bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stopped in here to meet a friend for a quick lunch and visit while in town. The pizza was pretty good from my tasting point of view (grew up around Chicago and great pizza). We had just a simple pepperoni and sausage with some red onions and we ate it all. My wife and I shared the larger size, I cant remember what it is right now though, and we had one slice left. They don't have a childs menu, but they do offer a childs cheese pizza if you ask. The beer selection is pretty good and had a couple I had not seen before but will be trying in the future. All around just a good quick place for a good bite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

They use great fresh ingredients, they have awesome pizza combinations and they use a brick oven to cook it. If you are looking for more than the typical "pepperoni and cheese" this is the place for you.
I love the way they start you with a small bowl of different types of olives.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BPandFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pizzeria Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing