We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to like it more than I did”

Ernie's Original Crab House
Ranked #573 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wanted to like it more than I did”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I've walked by the places dozens of times and finally decided to give it a shot. It is a small, old building wedged in-between new construction. (Ernie's must have been the lone holdout on the block that wouldn't sell.)

Ernie is close to hotels and a major rail transit stop, so it is easy to get to. It is within close walking distance to many of the offices along King Street.

I found the place rather smelly - maybe that's normal for a crab house but does nothing to make one enjoy their food more. The floors could have used a good mopping and the walls are overdue for painting.

Yes, its basically a dive, a joint, and if you are looking for your favorite fried seafood I'm sure you'll find something on the menu. I don't recall seeing anything non-seafood on the menu (if there was, I didn't see it) - so if you don't like crabs, shrimp, don't go.

If this is your kind of place, you won't be disappoint but for me, it doesn't deserve a return trip. Sorry, Ernie.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    25
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“disgusting”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

dirty, smelly, foul and the building was almost as bad as the staff... definitely disappointing, nothing was fresh, a total zero

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank uckbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gag!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Place was smelly and the chowder was awful! Thought it was empty because they had just opened and it was very early for lunch, but un subsequent walking trips past the place, it was always empty.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dcraigclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“YUK”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This has to be the worst resturant I have eaten at,,, don't waste your money here,, if the food was free ,,it would be too costly still..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandPoohbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Hmmm”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Definitely a dive, but clean. Looks like it had been here awhile.
Arrived 6pm Saturday night and not many people. Good menu, but pricey in our opinion. All food arrived hot, but nothing special. Had the crab soup, onion rings and shrimp poboy.
Next to our condo-easy walk.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernie's Original Crab House also viewed

 

Been to Ernie's Original Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing