We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, comfortable, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good location, comfortable, convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel is in a good location near Old Town Alexandria, convenient to the Eisenhower Avenue Metro. There is a shuttle that can take you near to the King Street Metro stop, where you can catch a free trolley into Old Town. The hotel shuttle can also take you to the Metro stop, Whole Foods, the Amtrak Station, or the Hoffman Center, where there is a movie theatre and many restaurants. The hotel rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. There's a free breakfast with the usual items, and a guest laundry. The hotel staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. We would stay here again if we return to Alexandria!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    179
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
219
94
20
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, FL
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Clean and spacious room, friendly and helpful staff! Varied items at breakfast. Room has sitting area and desk, toilet and large shower are in separate rooms, each with a sink. But be careful....the beautiful tile floor is very slippery when wet! Close to Metro....hotel shuttle goes there. Several restaurants close by. A winner!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cgl853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

It appears the target demographic of Springhill Suites is the business person. "Suite" is misleading because there is basically only one room. On paper, the plan looks good: a sleeping area, a work area, plenty of clothing storage, separate shower/toilet areas. However, for a family on vacation, it was awkward in some ways.

Let me say, overall, the hotel provided what we needed: comfortable beds, adequate space, accessible outlets, complimentary breakfast with good variety, clean rooms and public areas, complimentary, if tight, covered parking, and a fairly convenient location.

Although located close to historic sites and DC, it is not easy for the visitor, unfamiliar with this area, to find. Limited access highways in Alexandria have VERY limited access. It is difficult to know from a map where exits and entrances are, and, generally, access going in one direction (for example North) does not mean there is access to the opposite direction (South). There are many one-way streets, strange circles, dead ends, and restricted turns. The hotel is located near the intersection of I495/95 and Telegraph Road, but the roads are on different levels and the connectors are strange. I don't really know how to get to the hotel from the Interstate; we always got on Duke Street, then turned south on Holland, which turned into Eisenhower and headed west. It would be nice to have some signs around the area pointing the way. There also needs to be a lighted sign at street level at the entrance from Eisenhower. (Maybe there was a small one.)

It would also be helpful for the hotel to provide a map of the immediate area with restaurants and the movie theater marked. When I asked for the location of nearby restaurants, I was told there were many on King Street and near the movie theater. The only direction I was given was a wave of the hand toward the movie theater, which I think was actually in the opposite direction. It was assumed I knew how to get to King Street. The clerk did print off Google driving directions for me.

The hotel sits on a strip of land between the busy Interstate (Beltway) and a train yard. We could hear some squeaks from the trains, but nothing that kept us awake. There is covered parking; it's a tight squeeze for a mini-van when spaces are taken on either side, and when exiting the garage. Some spaces are reserved for fuel-efficient vehicles. Navigation problems probably exist for many hotels in the area because of the geography and traffic flow within the Beltway, but the hotel could help the visitor by providing illustrative maps, directions, and more signage on major thoroughfares.

The rooms have 2 queen beds in the sleeping area and a couch that makes into a bed in the work area. The couch opens into a small bed. It looked wider than twin, but not quite double; however, there was also a chaise forming an L with the couch and could be used for an adolescent. There is a partition between the work and sleeping area, but it is frosted glass so light in one area creates a glow in the other. The toilet and shower areas are separated by a closet that is large enough to change clothes in and has a light and luggage stand. The toilet area has a small sink and one towel knob, but no shelf for holding soap or toiletries. The shower area has a large shower with glass door, a sink with vanity and large mirror, outlets and 2 towel knobs (not enough for a family of four with bath towels, hand towels, wash clothes and clothing).

Both the toilet area and shower area had pocket doors that could not be latched--a little uncomfortable even for families. The toilet area door is solid, but the shower area door is frosted glass once again allowing light to create a glow in the room making a disturbance when one person is showering while others are in bed. Although the idea of these areas works on paper, it was awkward or inconvenient at times to move between the two areas while getting ready. There was a long mirror on the closet door and a large one over the dresser, but no lights or outlets nearby so rather useless.

As I said earlier the room was more than adequate, but the design is not the best for families traveling.

The breakfast is decent: hot and cold cereal with a variety of toppings, fruit (banana and apples), pastries and breads, pre-made waffles, yogurt, milk, coffee, juices, eggs and sausage.

I chose this place for the price thinking one suite for 5 related people would be cheaper than getting 2 rooms at another hotel and it was; however, it was not really different from one room elsewhere in either privacy or price and just a little more spacious.

Room Tip: Rooms 200-203 are secluded in a hallway close to elevator but separated from the elevator by ice/ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lives2Travel2Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed here with my wife and our young adult children on a vacation to visit D.C. The hotel itself is nice. Rooms were clean and all of the staff was very nice. The free breakfast was stocked with the usual items. As another reviewer mentioned, the single toaster was slow and did create a bottleneck during busy times. Parking is free, and they do offer a free shuttle service to and from the Metro station and a few other locations nearby, which is a good thing since the closest restaurants and the Metro are about 1 mile away. The Metro is on the Yellow line and will take you about 1/2 hour to get to the National Mall. The rates are reasonable for the area and we found it to be an enjoyable place to stay, just a little off the beaten path.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zukiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

My family of four stayed here 2 nights recently on a sightseeing trip to DC. We have stayed here before so we knew what to expect. The check-in was smooth and the front desk staff is helpful and friendly. The room was quiet and clean. I enjoyed having 2 separate areas for showering and the toilet area. Also, enjoyed the convenience of the fridge in the room. Loved the free parking too! Breakfast was fine, as well. No homemade waffle machines here, just premade ones you put in the toaster, but there was plenty of variety so that was fine. The only thing we wish were different: we requested an extra blanket and they said they did not have one because the hotel was sold out that night and they were all gone. Really? We may stay here again, mainly for the free parking and free breakfast and close access to metro, but there are a lot of choices in DC for Marriott hotels closer to the city. One more thing: we used GPS to get to the hotel from DC and it was pretty long drive and very circuitous and indirect. Not sure if that was a GPS problem or what, but check to see if there is a better way to get to the hotel if you are coming from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
865 reviews
483 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Good parking, nice rooms and ok breakfast. Breakfast area is always busy and choices are a little limited but overall a good hotel. Within walking distance to the Courtyard if you want to have dinner in their bistro.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
1. Room was clean and updated.
2. Really like separate shower and toilet area.
3. Shuttle to metro was nice.
4. Free breakfast.
5. Outdoor patio.

Cons:
1. No pool.
2. Bed way too hard for my taste.
3. The woman at the desk when we checked in not very friendly.
4. Long line to use single toaster at breakfast.
5. Too far from DC - Metro tickets for a family of four from Eisenhower station to DC and back during rush hour over $30.00! (evening rush hour is from 3:00-7:30)

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ingridv1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Property: SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Address: 2950 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing