We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The receptionist, Vesna, was so attentive and caring. From helping us with restaurants to printing out documents we needed for the capital, she watched out for us the whole stay. The room was well kept and the bed comfortable. Thanks to Springhill Suites for making our Washington vacation a real treat.
As long as it is clean, a room is just a room, it's the people that make a difference.

Room Tip: Stay on the highway side...the glass is sound proof and room is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    176
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
218
92
20
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I loved my stay at this hotel! The staff was truly a pleasure - each associate was polite, pleasant and helpful. I have to admit my favorite was Vesna, a lovely young lady at reception who was helpful and sweet, always had a ready smile for each customer and staff member. Honorable mention goes to Antoinette! The only reason for the 4 instead of 5 is the ridiculous bathroom facilities in the room. The toilet is in a room by itself with a door that leaves a half-inch crack (i.e., it cannot close completely), doesn't have a fan in it and the sink has no soap. Other than that, a great stay altogether!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.

Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the SpringHill Suites. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The rooms here are excellent. They are quiet and clean. However, the customer service is horrible! When we arrived I had mentioned that we were using a gift card. The person who checked us in said that because we were using a AAA discount that we should not be able to use a gift card. He stated that other Marriott hotels don't care because they don't read the fine print. In the end we received the discount, but I called Marriott International and they said that they didn't understand what the hotel staff was talking about. We also had a run in with one of the breakfast staff....she was very rude.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank debville99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We apologize that we were not able to meet your needs. The hotel does expect all Marriott Gift Cards. However, there are several types of gift cards that cannot be used on group or discounted rates. Be sure and review the back of the gift cards terms and conditions. This will clarify what type of reservations it can be used for. We hope you will give us another chance should you visit the area again the in the future. Thank you again for choosing SpringHill Suites as your choice hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I LOVED this hotel from the moment I walked in! The staff went above and beyond to make sure all of our needs were met. CJ and Pete at the front desk were AWESOME they were witty and helpful! I could have just stood there and carried a conversation with them like we were old friends. My only complaint would be the joining room set up. The doors are not equipped to stay open which is the point of joining rooms! Our two rooms were clean and neat. When the sliding bathroom door wouldn't work they had it back on the tracks within 15 minutes. If in the area again I will stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlindsey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the SpringHill Suites. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kent, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

As is typical for this chain, this hotel has well-designed, spacious suites. The included breakfast could be better. The eggs are a bit plastic and the baked goods are totally pedestrian, but it suffices, and is convenient. The set of the building is a bit awkward. Getting from the free parking to the rooms is weird, whether you go directly from the parking or through the second floor lobby. It's close to DC transit and a short ride to old town Alexandria. I recommend Le Refuge restaurant in old town for delightful old fashioned French cuisine.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank oxide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our leaders and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful! They were helpful in booking a night bus tour of Washington DC. Loved our king suite and the fact that there was a separate 1/2 bath. Rooms were very clean and smelled great. We also enjoyed the big breakfast which included some hot options and fresh fruit. No extra charge for parking and there was an attached garage. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Excellent customer service. facilities both in the foyer area and bedroom were on par. Free shuttle service to and from the metro was an added bonus as well as the location of the hotel was not far from the old town and Washington DC. People were friendly and helpful and the Metro was very easy to navigate. So many things to do, see and experience. I would highly recommend this hotel and area. As my first time in the States, I loved it and will return at some point. Excellent value for money and as there was so many varities of resturants around, there was no need for evening meals to be offered. Breakfast was a good kick start to a busy day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icemadien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay. Thank you very much for the compliments about the staff. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the SpringHill Suites. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Property: SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Address: 2950 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing