We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird Layout - No Pool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weird Layout - No Pool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband & I were traveling with two grandchildren. At check-in I was advised that the hotel would not accept gift cards because we had booked the AAA rate. The hotel is fairly new & clean. Staff is friendly. We opted for the metro into DC so that the kids could experience it, which would have been fine if it hadn't taken 30 minutes & 2 phone calls to get the hotel shuttle to come back to get us when we returned. The included breakfast was poor; too crowded and they kept running out of food. The kids were very disappointed that there was no pool. We will definitely not stay at this Marriott property again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing our property. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor, thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality.

We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with our shuttle service. We have one nine passenger van that services two hotels. At peak travel times and a wait can form. The hotel does except Marriott gift cards. There are several different types of gift cards, if you read the back of the cards they specify toward what type of rates they can be applied. Our hotel was built without a swimming pool, however in turn we have one of the largest health clubs in the brand. As an alternative we recommend our guest enjoy the local water park ½ mile down the street. Our complementary hot breakfast is popular. At peak breakfast hours and a wait can form. We do take extra measures and set out additional food offerings when there is high demand.

Guest satisfaction is out top priority. Please let us assure you that all our team shares the same vision of providing the best guest experience possible all year round, so your comments have already been forwarded to concerned departments in order to rectify the points that you have described. Please do not hesitate to contact any member of the Management Team for anything you may need, it would be a pleasure for us to assist you.

Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    159
    41
    9
    6
See reviews for
201
85
17
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here on a recent trip to DC with my sisters and nephews. The hotel was great and the staff very accommodating. Plenty of room for the entire crew (5). We opted for driving to the metro station instead of taking the complimentary shuttle. Though you can easily walk there. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the street side of the hotel. You can hear the metro (slightly) on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GalfromSugarHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.

Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the SpringHill Suites. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here overnight for a job interview. The hotel is beautiful and very clean. The layout is a little odd as it looks like it has no main entrance. Also in the hotel room the bathroom set up is odd. The restroom is in one location and not connected to the shower area. So depending on who you are sharing a room with this could be a little inconvenient. Also if you are sensitive to noise there is a lot of train and automobile traffic, which kept me up.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBHatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing our property. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor, thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. Our hotel was built with as an upscale modern all suites property. Our bathrooms are designed with a European style in mind. One side of our hotel does face a train repair station. If you are a light sleeper we recommend to request for the parking lot side of the hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced and for not being able to exceed your expectations so far. Our main goal is to create memorable experiences for our guests and we do hope that at the end of your stay this is reached.

Please do not hesitate to contact any member of the Management Team for anything you may need, it would be a pleasure for us to assist you.

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The beds were good for relaxing. Close to the Eisenhower Metro stop, but not too close. The shuttle can take you there and pick you up. One should probably stop at a walmart well before one gets there to get things like snacks and drinks as even convenience stores are few and far between in this area. We stayed around the 4th of July so things were a little on the hectic side, but nothing caused us any trouble.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLTWick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
220 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time staying at a Spring Hill Suites, and I was generally impressed. The beds were relatively comfortable, there was excellent access to DC, and the continental breakfast was adequate, although not one of the better ones I have experienced. There were a few downsides, however. First, the showers have a stupid system in order to change from the bath function to the shower function. What you have to do is to pull down on the end of the faucet where the water comes out, and that engages the shower. It took quite a while to figure that one out. Second, the toilet in our room continually refilled itself, making a lot of noise every ten minutes or so. Third, the bathrooms had sliders rather than real doors. I guess it looks a bit more artistic, but at the cost of function. On the positive side, the Wi-Fi connection was excellent, and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would call this a good hotel, but not a great one.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank virginiagamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a couple weeks ago while visiting the area for a sporting event. We stayed a few nights in a double queen and have absolutely no complaints. Though the hotel was packed, it was quiet at night when rest was needed.

Breakfast in the am was standard and had an assorted items for everyone. Plenty of coffee or tea as well. Rooms were super clean and comfortable. Our only complaint was the AC was on a saver type mode while you are not in the room. It does cool down after a bit, but we had to figure that out after a couple calls to the front desk. The service however, was top notch. Everyone at the front was always courteous and helpful.

Overall a great place and we would return. Not to mention free parking and close to the metro. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.

Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the SpringHill Suites. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for four nights while visiting Washington, DC. This hotel has a great location, just a little over a half a mile (an easy walk!) to the metro station that takes you straight down town. It's also close to several restaurants and a movie theater. The rooms are comfortably appointed with lots of room. We are a family of five, and stayed in one room - two double beds and a fold out couch. Love the microwave and refrigerators in ever room, the little kitchenette was perfect for keeping a few snacks in at night. The hotel staff was very friendly.

This hotel does offer a free breakfast each morning, but it's not the best. Only breakfast bar I've ever seen that doesn't include bacon! But overall, an easy place to stay for families touring the washington DC area!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nightowl_RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Our hotel staff strives to provide unparalleled services and memorable experiences to all our guests. I apologize that your stay was anything less than flawless. Thank you for bringing these details to our attention. It allows us to improve and I have shared your feedback with our leadership.
The hotel is conveniently located .7 miles from the Eisenhower Metro station southwest of Old Town Alexandria. Our complimentary shuttle service can quickly transport our guests to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria is a short five minute metro ride away to the King Street Station. There is a free trolley service that runs up and down King Street as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Property: SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Address: 2950 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4557
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing