We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Nearby Hotels
$112
$105
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$123
$116
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$100
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Old Colony Inn Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Alexandria Mark Center(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$105
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$119
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$97
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Alexandria Old Town(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$98
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveler rating
291
206
55
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
206
55
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingfree breakfastseparate toiletmetro stationwater closeteisenhower avenueshower areaold townturkey sausageroom layoutpull out sofadc areadesk areashuttle serviceoatmealsitting areayellow line
Filter
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 569 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights recently and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and with accommodating staff. When we forgot a critical power supply cord and the staff allowed me to look through the lost & found for a loaner. The breakfast was fine, just crowded and sometimes short on supplies. I know my way around Alexandria, so the location was not an issue and it is very close to the Metro, but if you are unfamiliar with the area it can be a little challenging to access. However, the pros far outweigh any cons.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nice modern hotel with the typical somewhat weird layout that newer Springhill Suites have. As some of the reviews have noted I detected a slight mildew smell but a look inside the HVAC unit showed it was clean; not the mold you sometimes see in those units at many hotels. If you’re lucky to get one there are some nice covered parking spaces underneath the hotel; great in inclimate weather. No restaurants are within walking distance; I had a car so no worries but they do offer a shuttle. TV had a decent number of channels and several were HD. Front desk was very friendly and they seem genuinely interested in your having a good stay. Breakfast was fine; nothing special, did have bananas and light and regular yogurt. . One complaint; the high speed internet was anything but; download speeds were an awful 0.86 Mbps per speedtest.net. Almost takes you back to the days of dial-up. I mentioned that when I was checking out and they said they were soon to get the internet upgraded. This is a relative bargain and good value compared to some other Marriott properties in the area. I assume as this hotel picks up momentum its rates will rise as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30-StateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The furnishings and room set up of this hotel are my favorite of any Marriott chain I have stayed at across the country. The room size is smaller than some other Marriott Suites, but the layout maximizes the space. Lots of clean lines, frosted glass, and blue/green aqua themed modern art makes it feel more like a Modern High Efficiency European Apartment than a boring hotel room. I found myself getting a lot of work done at night in the hotel because I was able to comfortably set up my laptop and watch TV at the same time.

The work out room is spacious and has a larger variety of equipment than your standard Marriott chain. I found myself spending more time in the gym because it didn't feel like a cramped janitor's closet like a lot of hotels. There is a running/bike path that runs alongside the creek/metro drainage canal for those who want to beat the pavement during nice weather.

My only complaint is the location. Marriott advertises this as "Olde Town/Southwest" which is a stretch, its a 30 minute walk to the Metro stop, Duke Street Trolly, or a Restaurant. If you are getting around by car it's an okay location, as it is has easy access to the interstate, but the point of Old Town Alex is you can walk or take the trolly anywhere. At this hotel your stuck in an old industrial zone sandwiched between the metro line and the interstate and on that note I did get awoken a few times due to train and highway noise. One upside, the remote location makes it safe and crime free.

Overall I due enjoy staying at this hotel, but I tend to gravitate towards Old Town hotels even if they aren't as nice looking, just for the location. If you aren't into walking around Old Town, this would be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluedPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Greetings! Thank you for your feedback. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service that can drop off and pick up guests at local restaurants and business within a five mile radius. The shuttle also goes to the Eisenhower Metro station (quarter mile from the hotel) which can take you directly into Washington D.C. Our shuttle service can also drop off guests at the nearby Hoffman Center (quarter of a mile from hotel) where there are seven different restaurants and a movie theater. If you are a light sleeper I would suggest a room on the parking lot side of the hotel that does not face the metro repair station. You cannot hear any noise from the station on the parking lot side. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I guess it is to be expected that a suite hotel with a pull out sofa would attract groups with a lot of kids, but you would think the hotel would not put senior citizens on the same floor as a bunch of 10 to 12 year old cheerleaders. Never have I stayed in a hotel that allowed kids to bounce from room to room and have races up and down the halls. The parents had no respect either. I felt like I was the bad guy for complaining about the unruly children AND adults.
The breakfast was just barely ok, not what I'm used to at at Marriott hotel.
The bathroom had hair all over the floor, but other than that it seemed clean enough.
The location of the hotel is not good, but free parking makes up for the location.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the parking area and not the train tracks. Ask for a room that's not on a floor with a large group of kids. The hotel is hard to find because there is only 1 sign and it's on the top of the building and not really visible as you are driving past it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize the cheerleader group disturbed you during your stay. It is best to report all noise complaints. We have procedures in place to address these types of issues. After 10 PM we have a “quite time” zone in place. We are allowed to ask that all guests maintain a minimal noise level. We have nightly security that patrols the guest floors throughout the night. I apologize we were not able to meet your needs and would love to offer you some type of compensation. Please contact the hotel directly 703-317-0013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Chose this hotel site unseen due to price. No disappointment here., the hotel was clean, new and stylish. Free parking was a plus. The rooms where modern and well appointed. Rooms were quiet even though the hotel is located very close to major highways. Close to the Metro stations, but not within walking distance. Nothing was within walking distance, so this is not a good choice if you don't have a vehicle.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Notall_Business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews