We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Comfortable sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel! Comfortable sleep”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel has a great lobby for breakfast and relaxation. The breakfast has a good decent selection of fruits, cereals, scramble egg, and some meat, i.e. hot breatfast. The waffle is also great. The view is beautiful. The hotel room is clean, the beds are comfortable, and the separate seating area from the beds is nice. The aircondition works well and quiet, very helpful for a quality night sleep.

However, the quality of the reception area, especially the attitude of the male receptionist, can definitely be improved to complement the overall quality of the hotel experience.

Because certain parts of the hotel face the railway, don't forget to ask and demand a quiet room.

Room Tip: Always ask for a quiet room not facing the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArbutusCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    186
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
226
98
20
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Common sense : the fact that we are getting double beds mean, we dont want to see each other nude. The toilets and bathrooms dont have a LOCK . A big NO NO for this hotel if you are travelling with family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our guestrooms are 25% larger than traditional hotel rooms and offer a privacy wall to provide separation of the living and sleeping areas. Our double queen suites have everything you need to work and play comfortably. We provide a large, spacious work desk connected to our complimentary high-speed Internet, a living area populated with comfortable seating, 37-inch flat-screen television, microwave, and a mini-refrigerator. Every room comes with comfortable pull out sleeper sofa as well.
View our hotel website click on Photo Gallery to view pictures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during a house hunting trip to DC. We liked the freebies (parking, wifi, and breakfast). The rooms were clean and modern. However there really wasn't any place to hang your towels in the bathroom and the shower door almost fell out of the track. Other than that I have no complaints. The breakfast was busy but the attendant was willing to refill whatever you needed. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyTravels720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a nice property that is very clean and well decorated. I liked the set up with the split bathroom (toilet and sink in one room/ shower and sink in another room). It worked especially well for us since we were traveling with my Mother in Law. Having 2 queens and a pull out sofa worked for us too without having to make our son bunk with Grandma. We used the shuttle to the metro and that was great. There are not any restaurants within walking distance and there were no fast food options around the hotel which was a little frustrating.

The breakfast was very disappointing. There was standard continental fare but the setup doesn't work for an abundance of guests. We found the breakfast area to be crowded and frustrating. There was one waffle maker and two toasters which was too few for the number of people eating while we were there. There were hot breakfast options, turkey sausage or ham and eggs but not very tasty.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acacac2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our complimentary continental breakfast includes the following: Three types of bagels, english muffins, four types of cereal, whole fruit, scrambled eggs, two types of muffins, breakfast protein, oatmeal, yogurt, milk, waffle makers, juice and coffee. Waffles are one of our guest favorite breakfast item, the hotel does offer two waffle makers.
In addition, the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service which can drop off at local restaurants within a five mile radius.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hotel was clean and breakfast was ok. I wish there was a pool for the kids. I didn't really like the set up of the bathroom being in one room and the shower in another. Yet that wasn't too bad. The location wasnt Great. Had to drive to get to anywhere. There isnt much to offer at the hotel other than a room and breakfast. What got me was the sounds. I could hear the Metro and cars all night. I couldn't sleep due to the noise.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitmcafee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our complimentary continental breakfast includes the following: Three types of bagels, english muffins, four types of cereal, whole fruit, scrambled eggs, two types of muffins, breakfast protein, oatmeal, yogurt, milk, waffle makers, juice and coffee. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service which can drop off at local restaurants within a five mile radius as well as the metro station. There is also a public water park located ½ mile from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

A relatively new and nicely appointed property. The staff was cordial and the hotel was generally quiet, despite the presence of over 100 school children 3 of our 4 nightst.
The problems were solely attributable to the availability of the breakfast food service and the weekend shuttle service.
One marginally functional toaster and placement of the waffle maker in the center of the single food line, in a facility that accepts busloads of school children, reflects poorly on management and caused the 3 of us to miss breakfast on both weekend days. Two or three functional toasters and moving the waffle maker to another spot would solve this problem immediately.
Weekend shuttle service was very slow. One van serving two properties works well during the week. On weekends, adding King Street makes the waits very long.
I chose this property, rather than the District, because of the favorable reviews. My own conclusion, a good property during the week but one to avoid on weekends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandparent05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have since reorganized our breakfast area for a better flow. The waffle makers have been relocated and we have added a bigger toaster. The shuttle service is a shared service between two hotels. We have one nine passenger van that is upon request for our hotel guest. On weekends we do have a high demand for shuttle service. However, wait times do not exceed 5-15 minutes. Over the summer months we do have tour and travel groups in our hotel; however they are strategically placed on certain floors to not disturb our other guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from DC with a school group that stayed at this hotel. It was ideal for us. Rooms were large, parking was free, breakfast included, plus only a couple blocks to the metro stop. I highly recommend this hotel for business and pleasure trips.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TarHeelsareBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Property: SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Address: 2950 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing