We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice property and employees” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice property and employees”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

I reserved a room at this hotel after a less than pleasant stay down the road at the Residence Inn at Carlyle with hopes that it wouldn't let me down. Let me tell you, from the moment I arrived until the moment I left, I felt totally welcomed at this property. The employees are great overall, all of the ones I encountered had a pleasant, upbeat personality, always smiling and friendly. Check in was a breeze and I was in my suite in well under 5 minutes.

Initially I thought the room had an odd layout, but the longer I was there, the more I actually ended up liking it. The only thing I would change about the room itself is I would add throw pillows to the L shaped couch. I just ended up using 2 from the bed, which isn't a big deal since it was only me staying and the bed had plenty to spare. The bathroom is European style for sure with the shower and large sink area with vanity in a seperate room from the toilet and a small sink to wash your hands in with no vanity. Some people may find this odd, but it honestly took me back to when I lived in Germany and it was a pleasant memory, so it triggered a smile. I was a bit disheartened to learn that the king suites do NOT have a bathtub at all, it is just a very large stand up shower. So if you intend on taking a bath, book the suite with two beds, I understand those inclue a bathtub.

I only ate the complimentary breakfast one morning, but it was the standard continental breakfast with the addition of scrambled eggs and turkey sausages. I wasn't overly impressed with it, but I prefer eating a real breakfast over a hotel one anyway, especially when traveling. I'm sure that any regular traveler that eats at the hotel will be able to find something they will enjoy eating as the spread isn't small and there are plenty of options.

The only reason I gave this property a 4 out of 5 and not a 5 out of 5 was one small thing that didn't bother me THAT much, but it did prevent me from sleeping in on the only day I had available to do so. I had the do not disturb hanger on my door handle and while nobody knocked or attempted to enter my room, starting at about 10am (maybe a little before) every few minutes I would hear the housekeeper going in and out of rooms without even attempting to not let the doors slam. This went on literally for hours, every few minutes I would hear a door slam from one end of the hall, to my room and then beyond. I do have to admit that I did not ask the housekeeper to please stop and I didn't let the front desk know as it really wasn't that big of a deal to me. However, it would have been nice to sleep in that day. I could see a day sleeper not being happy with this property in the least because of that.

All in all, I stayed here for three nights and it was a great stay. I would gladly stay at this property again and should the need ever arise to go back to the DC area, I'll be sure to check availability here.

Room Tip: No bathtubs in the king suits, so coose one with two beds if you prefer a bath over a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zuizide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    175
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
218
92
20
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

I have stayed at many Springhill Suites properties before but I fell in love with the decor of our room. It had a modern feel with dark wood and frosted glass as the partition between the bedroom and livingroom area. As stated in many of the other reviews, the bathroom is separated into two parts. There is a small sink with the toilet in one area and a standup shower with glass doors and a larger sink area with some counter space. I thought it was convenient for anyone who might like to use the bathroom without interrupting someone in the shower. I think it works more for a couple than a family with the room set up. The room was equipped with a flat screen tv, a refrigerator and a microwave with an area for storage. The living room had two tables that could double for "tv trays" if you wanted to sit and eat while watching tv. The beds were comfortable and slept well. The staff was pleasant and very helpful with directions to the property. The parking area is small and covered but additional parking is available in front of the hotel. The power stayed on all night and so did the cable service. There were a couple of flickers with the reception but it stayed on and I was able to keep up with the Hurricane. I would definitely stay again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: The hotel is located near the Hoffman movie theatre and not too far from the metro station (maybe no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miznewyorkndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekalb, illinois
Level Contributor
320 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for four nights because it was reasonably priced and received good reviews. It is located between a very active railroad line (passenger and freight), an interstate highway and some kind of marsh or swamp--good for bird watching. There is nothing within reasonable walking distance of the hotel. No restaurants, no shops, nothing. Many of the roads in the area are being reconsturcted (not the hotel's fault), so navigation is a bit of a problem. Rooms are stylish and modern but not particularly well thought out.

The rooms were either designed or constructed by someone with a strange sense of humor. Several of the light switches seem to serve no purpose at all. Others are connected upside down. To turn on the bathroom fan you must set the switch in the normally off position. The toilet is in a separate room. Both the bath and toilet rooms have sliding doors. If someone uses either during the night they will probably wake anyone else in the room. There is one 'hook' in the bathroom for towels or anything else one cares to hang up. That means used towels cannot be dried and reused the next day because there is no place to hang them.

The free internet service (wired and wifi) is a bit slow with weak connections. The three computers off the lobby are particularly slow.

Breakfast was a bit better than the average at this kind of hotel but the eggs were a bit rubbery and the 'turkey canadian bacon' is as much like Canadian bacon as turkey pastromi is like beef pastromi. Why bother?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our spacious suites, offer 25% larger than traditional hotel rooms and offer a privacy wall to provide separation of the living and sleeping areas. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service which drops off of the metro station as well as local restaurants. Our complimentary continental breakfast includes the following: Three types of bagels, english muffins, four types of cereal, whole fruit, scrambled eggs, two types of muffins, breakfast protein, oatmeal, yogurt, milk, waffle makers, juice and coffee. Breakfast hours are M-F 6:30-9:00 and Sat – Sun 7:00-9:30. Our high speed internet has since been upgraded with additional bandwidth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Drum, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We chose this hotel because it was close enough to DC without staying in DC. The hotel is beautiful. I traveled with a family of 4 and the room was spacious enough for everyone. Be advised that the bathroom is broken up into 2 parts: sink and toilet in one room. Sink and shower in another and there are no locks on the doors. There was standard breakfast offered.
Only dislikes were the toilet ran for a really long time after use and it was really loud. It really wasn't a problem until the kids went in the middle of the night. Also the desk clerk was acting a little "extra" when I checked in but had a totally different attitude by the time I came back with my bags.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMDubII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

I read the reviews and I'm baffled that families are able to enjoy this property! We were driving from NC to PA and stopped here to avoid hitting the DC traffic. The property itself is new and clean and really have no complaints. The breakfast wasn't bad, your average free buffet hotel breakfast. The parking garage, while tight offered many spaces and I felt our belongings were pretty secure in the van over night.
The room, if this was for 1 person it would be perfect but 2 adults and 2 kids it just didn't work for us. First the layout was very European. The toilet was in a room separate from the shower. So it was a small WC with a toilet and small sink (no counter space), then was a decent sized walk in closet and then was the bathroom with the tub/sink/vanity. (so 3 separate spaces) The doors are sliding doors with no locks (which is fine but my 3 year old felt it was necessary to open and close whenever anyone was going to the bathroom. The bathroom with the shower/sink had a door that was opaque glass so when my mom got up at 3am to get something out of her bag the light lit up the entire room with the door closed. It just didn't work for us at all. No big deal, lesson learned!
The rooms were really clean. The staff was average, not over the top polite but not rude either. The pack and play was already set up in the room when we arrived (which in my book is HUGE!) and another was brought up real quick when asked. The walls are pretty thin and the rooms/doors are right next to each other. I travel with a white noise alarm clock so it wasn't a big deal but I could imagine light sleepers could have a problem.
Not a bad property, just not one for families. At least not this one!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ry42013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our guestrooms are 25% larger than traditional hotel rooms and offer a privacy wall to provide separation of the living and sleeping areas. Our double queen suites have everything you need to work and play comfortably. We provide a large, spacious work desk connected to our complimentary high-speed Internet, a living area populated with comfortable seating, 37-inch flat-screen television, microwave, and a mini-refrigerator. Every room comes with comfortable pull out sleeper sofa as well.

View our hotel website click on Photo Gallery to view guestroom pictures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We loved the layout of the room, the breakfast and the overall feel of quality associated with all parts of the hotel. Our only disappointment was this particular property had NO POOL. That seems a bit odd since the price and layout of the hotel is very family friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rick47119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel does not have a swimming pool. However, there is a great local water park just down the street. We can also send our guests to our fellow Marriott Hotels in the area to use their swimming pools.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

This hotel ended up being a great choice. The receptionist was excellent and let us check in early. The room was very clean, modern, and comfortable. It was my wife and I's first stay at a marriot and we will definitely stay with marriot again. Nice amenities included breakfast and complimentary shuttle to the metro station down the street

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogo345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Property: SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Address: 2950 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing