We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the contemporary decor and room layout” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Valparaiso, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the contemporary decor and room layout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Our family of four (myself, DH, and two teen sons) stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. We really enjoyed the newness and the contemporary decor of the hotel. I chose this hotel because of the very functional layout, with a toilet and sink in a room separate from the bathroom with the shower/tub and vanity/sink. Having two bathroom spaces was very helpful. Also helpful were the 3 beds - the 2 queens and the pullout. My youngest son called the pullout bed when we arrived. I thought that strange at first, but then he also claimed that entire surrounding living space as his own!

I was a little concerned about room noise before our trip. Our 4th floor room faced Eisenhower (i.e. the metro side) and I did hear the train breaks squealing quietly during the first night. That night there was also a very loud boom that woke up my husband and me. That being said, the next 3 nights I heard nothing and slept great. We never heard noise from other rooms or the hallway.

We only used the shuttle service one day. Pickup in the morning was punctual, but the one shuttle was very busy that afternoon trying pick up various groups from various locations at around the same time and everyone had to wait for some amount of time. Using the metro was a first for us and we found it enjoyable and easy to use. I was glad to educate my sons in how to navigate a big city using the metro.

The next two days were Saturday and Sunday and we decided to drive into the city ourselves. (We had heard that the metro on weekends can be time consuming as that is when they work on the tracks. We had also head that navigating DC on the weekends was not difficult.) We did run into some construction traffic on late Saturday morning and it took us 90 minutes to get from the hotel to the Ronald Reagan building parking garage ($12 all day on weekends). We retrieved our car around 7PM and then enjoyed driving around the city and seeing the sights. Traffic was not an issue, but parking near the monuments was. On Sunday we drove the 6 miles into the city and arrived at the L'Infant parking garage ($10 7am-7pm on weekends) in about 20 minutes. Sunday evening traffic was very light and parking near the Lincoln memorial was plentiful.

The only real negative about the hotel was the amount of time (35 minutes) we had to wait in line on Saturday and Sunday to get our breakfast. The waffle maker at the end of the breakfast line tended to hold up the rest of the line. The hotel staff needs to reconfigure the food area, perhaps putting the waffle maker in a separate location. They also tended to run out of food (apple juice, muffins, fruit) on some days. You would think they should be able to have plenty.

Discovering the grocery store and some food places a short distance away was helpful. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    175
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
218
92
20
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is a very roomy clean suite, and feels very new. The suite layout offers sleeping area, sink + shower, sink + toilet, and work area. Breakfast buffet is pretty good, including a couple warm items. Fitness center is excellent, but there is no swimming pool.

One problem is that the layout of the room is a long narrow rectangle with the heating/cooling unit at the window on one end. The air does not circulate effectively enough to reach the whole room (and especially the thermostat at the other end). It really needs a duct to spread the air throughout the long room, and could be a problem in extreme temperatures where one side of the room could be too cold and the other too hot.

Another nit is that the bathroom has the trendy "no towel bars" design where towels are stored in cubbies, which doesn't work well when the whole family has used their set of towels.

Overall good value--we liked it because of the space.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAFamilyRvwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

As a frequent business and avid recreational traveler, I have stayed in over a hundred hotels in the last five years. To date, this is the worst experience I have had.

Problems:
1. The Staff- Unfortunately, the front desk person for much of my stay was Karen. Aside from being generally annoyed that she had to deal with guests, she was completely unhelpful when asked questions about the area or even the actual hotel, instead opting to either make up answers or use her standard "I don't know. I don't live here." The only time she was actually polite was when she was asking me for money.

2. The Trash- Despite the cleaning crew hanging out next to the ice machine on our floor for most of the morning, the overflowing trash was never take out in the four nights we were there. The trash can in front of the main entrance was also full for over a day and attracting flies in the 95+ degree weather.

3. The Breakfast- The buffet is so poorly configured that the line often gets backed up for long periods of time while folks use the 5 minute waffle maker. The buffet is rarely full and the hotel actually ran out of food one day of our stay. Now to be fair, the patrons of the hotel did not make this problem any better by hoarding what little was brought out, but the staff did nothing to assuage the mob or address the situation.

4. The Shuttle- My sister-in-law and her family waited for 40 minutes for service from the Metro stop a half mile away.

5. The configuration of the room- Just a heads up,but there is no tub in the king suite, only a shower. So, if you have a small child you need to bathe like we did, make sure to get the two queen bed suite instead.

The only upside was that the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear Madwalters,

We appreciate the feedback as we are always looking at ways to improve our hotel. We'd love to speak to you further to discuss the issues you experienced and come up with a resolution that will exceed your expectations. Please contact the General Manager at the hotel directly and we'll be happy to assist. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

I'm a hotel snob when it comes to cleanliness. Our room felt perfectly clean. I was never afraid to set my things down, etc. This hotel has a very modern feel. I thought the complimentary breakfast was one of the better ones I've seen. I like the set up of the room for relaxing before going to bed. And, especially with teenagers who need plenty of outlets for electronics and such, this room was great. We got an AMAZING rate through priceline. They have it ranked as a 2 1/2 star level. Compared to other hotels in that category, this hotel was above and beyond. I agree that the staff at the front desk is very helpful. The complimentary shuttle is very convenient. I agree with another reviewer who was disappointed with the public transit system. It isn't nearly as easy to use as that of other US cities. We walked a LOT and the metro stations were not well marked or easy to get to...at least not in downtown DC. That is obviously no reflection on the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank picklesandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed here with my wife and grandkids. Although there are no restaurants within walking distance, it is in a nice, modern area within a five minute drive to old town. Jackie at the front desk was very nice. It would be hard to be safer with the Alexandria PD in the next building. Breakfast was more than adequate.

Room Tip: tip - use the bed topper slice to cover the inch-and-a-half space between the sliding bathroom door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timetraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were happy to be close to D.C., but so disappointed in this hotel. It has only been open 4 months, and they have multiple issues. The A/C was not working correctly - and it was just under 100 degrees! Someone had to come into our room and disconnect the unit from the thermostat so it would work! Also, the room was not clean. We kept finding past customer's garbage in the room. The bathroom door handle kept coming off, and you could see where someone had placed blue painter's tape on the handle to get it to stay on. The complimentary breakfast was terrible. Rubbery sausage, dry eggs, no bread offered for toast. Kept running out of milk - said they'd have more the NEXT DAY! Same breakfast without changing all the days we stayed there. No stamps available at the front desk. Parking garage had extremely small spaces; very little room to turn around or exit. So, so disappointed and would not recommend this hotel to anyone until the managment makes some serious changes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigermom92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear TigerMom92,

We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve our new hotel. We were faced with an unforseen act of nature that involved one of our rooftop airhandlers. This event caused it to breakdown during the heatwave. It has been fixed and the airflow is now back to a comfortable temperature that is expected in a hotel. We would like the opportunity to speak to you further concerning the other issues that were experienced and agree on a resolution that will exceed your expectations. Please contact the General Manager by calling the hotel. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

The property opened in March 2011. The rooms are spacious and extremely clean, the complimentary breakfast has a nice variety of hot and cold items, the location is very convenient to the DC area and the metro and the staff is friendly and outgoing!

Saved a bunch by staying at this hotel versus one 10 minutes away! Free Internet and parking!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 50_Before_50_STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Property: SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Address: 2950 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing