We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see Mount Vernon and the Potomac!”

Potomac Riverboat Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.00*
and up
Washington by Water Monuments Cruise
Ranked #1 of 15 Tours in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seasonal sightseeing cruises, with seaports including Alexandria’s historic waterfront, Georgetown, Nationals Park baseball stadium, and George Washington’s Mount Vernon. Sightseeing highlights include the Washington monuments plus pirate cruises for children and the famous weekly canine cruises. The Alexandria-National Harbor water taxi operates regularly between Old Town Alexandria, National Harbor, and Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center. All vessels available for private parties.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great way to see Mount Vernon and the Potomac!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was our first visit to the DC area and we were staying in Alexandria. We didn't have a car and this was a great way to get to Mount Vernon and see the Potomac all in one trip. The speaker did an excellent job explaining what we were seeing and we didn't have any problems hearing him. We arrived at Mount Vernon at 12 and left at 4. There was a shuttle waiting for us at the dock of Mt. Vernon to take us to the top of the hill which is the official start of the Mount Vernon tour. 4 hours is plenty of time to see a lot of Mount Vernon. No you won't have time to see every little thing but you will see most everything. Our family was ready to go at 4. The prices of water/pop/popcorn were very reasonable. I'd highly recommend this tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    76
    36
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“From Alexandria to mount Vernon”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The boat ride was nice and relaxing, the tour from the boat was interesting. Mount Vernon was beautiful and the time aloud before the boat returned was enough to explore plenty.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tn
Level Contributor
176 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“interesting way to see Washington monuments”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The boar tour was relaxing and interesting a gave us a new way to see some monuments and the natural beauty of the area. The boat appeared to be in good shape and well maintained all though showing its age.
Seeing the area by water gives a unique view of both monuments, bridges and the wildlife, we saw an eagles nest on a,buoy with the eagle on the nest.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
214 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Get a great orientation to the river's edge”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I wasn't up to walking or driving into Washington DC from Alexandria, VA. The river tour was a great way to see the monuments from a distance (Washington, Lincoln, Kennedy Center) and some other sites described over the ship's GPS-triggered tour guide descriptions. It was a leisurely ride from Alexandria to Georgetown; if I'd had time I would have stayed in Georgetown a while before taking the return trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Journey”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a pleasant way to get back and forth to Washington's home at Mt. Vernon. The Alexandria dock area is a nice area with shops and restaurants to enjoy before or after the cruise.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potomac Riverboat Company also viewed

 

Been to Potomac Riverboat Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing