We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstanding oasis from the busy DC area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding oasis from the busy DC area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Holiday Inn Express and Suites is located a little further from the DC and Old Town Alexandria area than we wished but this establishment was quickly to be found a jewel and ideal place to stay.

The family, wife and two boys (ages 6 and 7), stayed at this location for three nights at the end of east coast two week family vacation. The low cost, free breakfast and shuttle, and use of the neighboring hotel's (managed by the same company not associated with either hotel) pool quickly attracted me to this Holiday Inn Express.

About half-way through our stay and while touring the local DC national attractions my wife looked at me and commented about how wonderful the hotel and staff were. Those were my thoughts exactly!

This hotel offers almost everything that a traveler would wish for. The room was one of the cleanest that I have encountered in any hotel. There is no restaurant or bar but the hotel does offer a free shuttle, not only to the DC metro stop (about four blocks away) but to Old Town Alexandria's (King Str) area where there is variety of restaurants and shops that would offer even the season traveler a pause in making their choice. Despite the lack of restaurant the hotel offers a free full breakfast each morning from 630 am to 930. Entries include but not limited to scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, bacon and sausages, variety of muffins, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, coffee, juice, cereal, and milk.

Even with the free shuttle, clean rooms, and free breakfast the true jewel of this trip were the staff. Every member of the staff were professional, friendly, courteous, and had a desire to make your stay at their hotel the most pleasant experience you ever encountered. Phill, Corey, Kelvin, and Aesmesen were the four front desk and drivers that we experienced the most during our trip and everyone one of these four made our stay extra special. These four, along with their co-workers, went beyond what was expected of them to ensure we were experiencing the best experience possible while at their hotel. Their everyday smiles and comments showed the pride they have in their job.

My only negative comment would be the heating/cooling system used. The air conditioner is a wall based unit located at the base of the window that is controlled by a separate wall based thermostat. The air conditioner would blast out the cold air until the desired temperature was reached. It would turn off when the temperature is reached only to be triggered again when not. This blast would be full and load blast of air across the room. This would make the room sometimes unbearable.

If and when I visit DC again I will definitely make this my place to stay. Outstanding job by the staff and great economic value for any stay in DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Good service depends upon people willing to give their best at all times. That’s why it’s truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts, and takes the time to say thank you. Thank you and we look forward to serving you in the future here at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Alexandria.

Paul Reyes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    107
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
159
63
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crestwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a party of 7 travelling from Chicago to DC. We stayed at this hotel, which was just a few minutes away from the Huntington Station Metro stop. The hotel provided a free shuttle to the Metro from 7am-10pm. This was a sparkly clean and very friendly hotel. The staff was excellent, especially Fred, David, Corey, Nancy and Phillip. There were school tour buses staying there while we were there, but you wouldn't know it! The hallways had a monitor that kept the kids quiet which was much appreciated! The breakfast was yummy and plentiful! Very pleased!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Julie,

Thank you for posting such a detailed review. Everyone says hello and they thank you for mentioning their service. We really appreciate it and hope you will come back the next time you are in Alexandria.

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was a little skeptical about this place as I had never stayed here but it is just perfect. The rooms are beautiful and large, the parking lot is huge, and it's not far from dc. If I could choose a place that's outside of the city this would be it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSmith0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for being a top contributor on TA. We also appreciate your great review. Please come back to D.C. and make sure your stay with us again ;)

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was a great place to stay everyone was friendly especially Fred our shuttle bus driver. All the rooms where neat and organized. the breakfast was amazing, and I really enjoyed my stay. And everything we needed was right their and a always got their on time. The metro is really close to do that made it a whole lot easier to get around town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben56789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We really appreciate your review. Hope to see you next time ;)

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was very pleased to have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express. It is one of the nicer budget motels that I have stayed at. All of the amenities are great and appreciated.

The best part of my motel experience was the staff! Very helpful and very friendly and very accomodating. Phillip, Corey, and Fred stand out as assets to the property.

The first time I stayed was after their sister property next door wouldnt extend my stay, but
Phillip was excellent in accomodating me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 589Joanie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you so much for an awesome review. You Rock! Phill says "Hello" and to come back and see us the next time you are in the Alexandria area. Have a wonderful summer.

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

By using our Priority Rewards Points, we earned one of the worst rooms in the place. The other guests were loud and noisy late at night. The worst feature was the lack of blackout curtains that would close out the bright lights and heavy traffic from Highway 1. Even though we asked for a quieter room, we stayed ground level, facing the road.

The service was very good in spite if the poorly located room. The staff was courteous and friendly. The hotel was clean and updated with a nice, open breakfast room. Breakfast was average with paper thin bacon and so-so scrambled eggs but plenty of it. The facility is quite nice so the right room with curtains that close or a higher floor in the back could change the whole experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Andrew

We appreciate you typing this review. Sorry to hear about the noise and the curtains. We would love for you to give us another try so can make sure you have a quiet room and black out curtains. Thank you so much for complimenting the staff. Have a wonderful summer and please come back and see us the next time you are in Washington D.C.

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I gave this hotel 4 stars because of a few small things that I didn't like. First, there is no safe in the room, so I had to take my valuables with me. Most places I've been to lately have all had safes, so for a major hotel chain to not have them in the room was a bit off putting to me. Second, the hotel is next to a really shady motel area where there were a few people driving in and out of. My wife watched some people who looked like they were making drug deals and driving away. Now to the positives. The room we stayed at was a king suite. It was HUGE. There was a nice living area that had a pretty comfy couch and even a small eating table. There is a small kitchenette area that had a microwave, refrigerator, and sink. The TV channel selection was actually quite good, considering hotels usually only provide a handful of channels. The room was clean, the maid service was prompt and thorough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kentc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a great review on Trip Advisor. I do apologize about the safe, we do have safes behind the front desk where our guests receive a key and can place their belongings. We hope that the next time you are visiting the Washington D.C. area you will stay with us again.

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#17 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
4.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Alexandria
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
5.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Address: 6055 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir is set just off historic Route-1/Richmond Highway near Old Town. Business and military travelers benefit from having the I-495 Capital Beltway and I-95 within two miles of the hotel's door. Alexandria, VA is just across the Potomac River from Washington, DC. While you're here, you can securely communicate with clients via the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. The Business Center and meeting room make it easy to get work done so you can enjoy the area. We're just an eight-mile drive from Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA). The hotel's leisure guests love Alexandria, VA, as well. We're close to Historic Old Town Alexandria, George Washington's Mount Vernon, National Harbor, Tanger Outlets, Arlington National Cemetery and about eight miles from the attractions, museums and monuments of this nation's capital. You can go shopping in Old Town Alexandria, tour the artwork at the Athenaeum and then wrap up the day with dinner and a drink at Gadsby's Tavern. Our guests love the complimentary shuttle to the nearby Huntington Metro station. You'll be energized to see the sights thanks to the free Express Start Breakfast Bar. Enjoy the comforts of home, a 24-hour Fitness Center and more from our hotel's perfect location in Alexandria, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing