We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay was great everyone was friendly especially Fred our shuttle driver.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Visa Gift Card Package!
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My stay was great everyone was friendly especially Fred our shuttle driver.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was a great place to stay everyone was friendly especially Fred our shuttle bus driver. All the rooms where neat and organized. the breakfast was amazing, and I really enjoyed my stay. And everything we needed was right their and a always got their on time. The metro is really close to do that made it a whole lot easier to get around town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben56789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We really appreciate your review. Hope to see you next time ;)

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was very pleased to have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express. It is one of the nicer budget motels that I have stayed at. All of the amenities are great and appreciated.

The best part of my motel experience was the staff! Very helpful and very friendly and very accomodating. Phillip, Corey, and Fred stand out as assets to the property.

The first time I stayed was after their sister property next door wouldnt extend my stay, but
Phillip was excellent in accomodating me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 589Joanie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you so much for an awesome review. You Rock! Phill says "Hello" and to come back and see us the next time you are in the Alexandria area. Have a wonderful summer.

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

By using our Priority Rewards Points, we earned one of the worst rooms in the place. The other guests were loud and noisy late at night. The worst feature was the lack of blackout curtains that would close out the bright lights and heavy traffic from Highway 1. Even though we asked for a quieter room, we stayed ground level, facing the road.

The service was very good in spite if the poorly located room. The staff was courteous and friendly. The hotel was clean and updated with a nice, open breakfast room. Breakfast was average with paper thin bacon and so-so scrambled eggs but plenty of it. The facility is quite nice so the right room with curtains that close or a higher floor in the back could change the whole experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Andrew

We appreciate you typing this review. Sorry to hear about the noise and the curtains. We would love for you to give us another try so can make sure you have a quiet room and black out curtains. Thank you so much for complimenting the staff. Have a wonderful summer and please come back and see us the next time you are in Washington D.C.

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I gave this hotel 4 stars because of a few small things that I didn't like. First, there is no safe in the room, so I had to take my valuables with me. Most places I've been to lately have all had safes, so for a major hotel chain to not have them in the room was a bit off putting to me. Second, the hotel is next to a really shady motel area where there were a few people driving in and out of. My wife watched some people who looked like they were making drug deals and driving away. Now to the positives. The room we stayed at was a king suite. It was HUGE. There was a nice living area that had a pretty comfy couch and even a small eating table. There is a small kitchenette area that had a microwave, refrigerator, and sink. The TV channel selection was actually quite good, considering hotels usually only provide a handful of channels. The room was clean, the maid service was prompt and thorough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kentc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a great review on Trip Advisor. I do apologize about the safe, we do have safes behind the front desk where our guests receive a key and can place their belongings. We hope that the next time you are visiting the Washington D.C. area you will stay with us again.

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for three nights while we visited near-by Mount Vernon and Washington, DC. Our room was very clean and spacious, and the beds were very comfortable. The complementary breakfast had a good selection of items from which to choose, and the staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. The staff members with whom we had contact and who were very friendly and helpful were Kelvin and Paul at the front desk, Nancy who made sure that everything was available at breakfast, and Phil, Fred and David who were helpful when we took the complementary shuttle to and from the Metro station. I would definitely stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Very convenient for visiting Mount Vernon and Washington, DC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Wow, what a great review. Thank you for mentioning staff members. We really appreciate your feedback. Please come back and see us the next time you are in Alexandria. Have a wonderful summer.

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Corey, your driver was super to us ladies, and very carring. He even went next door to get us some bottled water, when your front desk had not restocked. A perfect gentleman, and David, your maintence chap even went up, collected my suitcase that US Airways had smashed, and reconstituted it, so I could get home. These are gems! As is Fred the shuttle driver.

Fridges could be colder, but the rooms are clean and breakfast was great every morning. Staff were helpful there too.
A total pleasure to stay with you. Others should consider it seriously!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for this 5 star review. Everyone still talks about how nice you and your friends were when you stayed with us. We hope you enjoyed your concert ;) and you’re sightseeing in D.C. Please come back to Alexandria and make sure you stay with us. Fred says "Hi" as well.

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I typically travel a few days per week for professional reasons. When I'm in Alexandria, I will often select this Holiday Inn for my stay.

The location is quite convenient via many hwys, though I would not suggest for Metro access. Parking is free, and the breakfast is one of the best in the city. It's also free. Where else are you going to get fresh fruit, hot cinnamon rolls, and biscuits and gravy? Truly, there are so many choices provided on their buffet that one would think she had paid top dollar for said meal.

The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Most importantly, the staff is quite professional. GM Amanda should be specifically mentioned. She's a hands-on GM who take the care of her guests quite seriously.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robin20850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for all your great details and also putting my name in your review ;) We really appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review. Please come back and see us the next time you are in the Washington DC area.


Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#10 of 50 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 50 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Address: 6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir is set just off historic Route-1/Richmond Highway near Old Town. Business and military travelers benefit from having the I-495 Capital Beltway and I-95 within two miles of the hotel's door. Alexandria, VA is just across the Potomac River from Washington, DC. While you're here, you can securely communicate with clients via the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. The Business Center and meeting room make it easy to get work done so you can enjoy the area. We're just an eight-mile drive from Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA). The hotel's leisure guests love Alexandria, VA, as well. We're close to Historic Old Town Alexandria, George Washington's Mount Vernon, National Harbor, Tanger Outlets, Arlington National Cemetery and about eight miles from the attractions, museums and monuments of this nation's capital. You can go shopping in Old Town Alexandria, tour the artwork at the Athenaeum and then wrap up the day with dinner and a drink at Gadsby's Tavern. Our guests love the complimentary shuttle to the nearby Huntington Metro station. You'll be energized to see the sights thanks to the free Express Start Breakfast Bar. Enjoy the comforts of home, a 24-hour Fitness Center and more from our hotel's perfect location in Alexandria, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing