We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I typically travel a few days per week for professional reasons. When I'm in Alexandria, I will often select this Holiday Inn for my stay.

The location is quite convenient via many hwys, though I would not suggest for Metro access. Parking is free, and the breakfast is one of the best in the city. It's also free. Where else are you going to get fresh fruit, hot cinnamon rolls, and biscuits and gravy? Truly, there are so many choices provided on their buffet that one would think she had paid top dollar for said meal.

The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Most importantly, the staff is quite professional. GM Amanda should be specifically mentioned. She's a hands-on GM who take the care of her guests quite seriously.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robin20850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for all your great details and also putting my name in your review ;) We really appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review. Please come back and see us the next time you are in the Washington DC area.


Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    105
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
159
62
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just came back from a weekend in Washington DC - this hotel was an excellent location - did not take long to get in to the city to explore. Breakfast was fresh, some hot items included - nice eating area. Rooms were quiet - even with a group staying on the same floor.
Refrigerator and microwave in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlc5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you so much for this awesome review. Glad you liked the location and breakfast we hope you enjoyed Alexandria and when you return please come back to the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria.


Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

It was a great experience. The rooms were very clean. Customer service was great and professional too. Location was good because is near a lot of places to eat, shop besides been close to the Interstates that you need to cross the Capitol Region. One of the best things that the hotel has is the Hotel shuttle that will take you to the metro as a hospitality service for staying Thanks Fred and afternoon driver. Nice people. Very pleasant experience. I recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaycruz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Shuttle Driver at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
This is Fred the shuttle driver and I want to personally thank you for a great review and one that mentions me ;) We hope you will come back to the area and when you do we hope you select the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria. Thanks again.


Fred "Shuttle Driver"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We picked this Holiday Inn Express because of a previous trip to Massachusetts where we were pleasantly surprised by a Holiday Inn Express in South Lawrence. The Fort Belvoir location turned out to be excellent due to proximity to Reagan Airport and a Metro station. The staff were helpful and knowledgeable, breakfast was good, plentiful and fully restocked as soon as consumed, very clean also. The shuttle was always ready to go and Fred the day driver was cheerful and pleasant every day, the night drivers were also excellent. The room was large, neat and clean with a big flat screen HD TV and wireless internet. The Metro is an easy way to get around, clean, safe and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptnBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
CaptnBill

WOW! We thank you for such a detailed review on Tripadvisor. Hope you enjoyed Alexandria and will come back and see us and Fred.

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We searched high and low for a hotel to stay at for our recent trip to Washington, DC, that would not "kill" our $$$$. After using all of the quick sites for cheap hotels and such, we called directly and the customer service rep that my wife spoke with was phenominal. Once we got to the hotel from the airport, Reagan National via the metro, we knew we had the right hotel. Very close to the metro. Very courteous and friendly staff. Clean rooms and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajunwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks for a great review. We love your screen name by the way ;) Glad you had a wonderful time at the property and you didn't have to break the bank to stay with us. Please come back and visit the Holiday Inn Express-Alexandria Fort Belvoir the next time you are in Washington D.C.


Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family stayed here while visiting DC. Loved the shuttle to the metro and were quickly there when we returned at the end of the day. The hotel is a great price and clean. This location is also close to stores and restaurants. Loved the helpful staff.
I only had a couple negatives. Our room faced the street and the road traffic was loud. I'm a lite sleeper! Also our room was right above the front door so not only did we here people arriving late but if someone went out for a smoke break we could hear them talking or laughing. Just a thought to the staff to find a new location for the astray!
Overall we loved our stay and would stay again!

Room Tip: If you are a lite sleeper ask for a room not facing the road and not above the entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are sorry about the noise outside your room. Also glad to hear you still enjoyed your stay with us. The next time you are in Alexandria or D.C. we will make sure to upgrade you and put you on the back side of the hotel.

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was an excellent hotel -- fair price, clean, free breakfast, extremely friendly staff (especially Phill at the front desk). We chose this hotel based upon its proximity to the Huntington Metro (free shuttle from the hotel), which made quick trips in and out of Washington easy. Plus the hotel is surrounded by lots of restaurants, so finding a place to eat for dinner is easy. The five of us had a great stay, and we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sajesch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Front Desk Agent at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
To Guest

This is Phill at the Front Desk. I really appreciate you taking time out of your busy day and writing a review about the hotel and also giving me a shot out ;0) We hope when you come back to Washington D.C. you will stay at the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria-Fort Belvoir.

Phill Sanders
Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#17 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
5.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Address: 6055 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir is set just off historic Route-1/Richmond Highway near Old Town. Business and military travelers benefit from having the I-495 Capital Beltway and I-95 within two miles of the hotel's door. Alexandria, VA is just across the Potomac River from Washington, DC. While you're here, you can securely communicate with clients via the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. The Business Center and meeting room make it easy to get work done so you can enjoy the area. We're just an eight-mile drive from Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA). The hotel's leisure guests love Alexandria, VA, as well. We're close to Historic Old Town Alexandria, George Washington's Mount Vernon, National Harbor, Tanger Outlets, Arlington National Cemetery and about eight miles from the attractions, museums and monuments of this nation's capital. You can go shopping in Old Town Alexandria, tour the artwork at the Athenaeum and then wrap up the day with dinner and a drink at Gadsby's Tavern. Our guests love the complimentary shuttle to the nearby Huntington Metro station. You'll be energized to see the sights thanks to the free Express Start Breakfast Bar. Enjoy the comforts of home, a 24-hour Fitness Center and more from our hotel's perfect location in Alexandria, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing