We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel for little money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for little money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We searched high and low for a hotel to stay at for our recent trip to Washington, DC, that would not "kill" our $$$$. After using all of the quick sites for cheap hotels and such, we called directly and the customer service rep that my wife spoke with was phenominal. Once we got to the hotel from the airport, Reagan National via the metro, we knew we had the right hotel. Very close to the metro. Very courteous and friendly staff. Clean rooms and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajunwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks for a great review. We love your screen name by the way ;) Glad you had a wonderful time at the property and you didn't have to break the bank to stay with us. Please come back and visit the Holiday Inn Express-Alexandria Fort Belvoir the next time you are in Washington D.C.


Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    104
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
159
62
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family stayed here while visiting DC. Loved the shuttle to the metro and were quickly there when we returned at the end of the day. The hotel is a great price and clean. This location is also close to stores and restaurants. Loved the helpful staff.
I only had a couple negatives. Our room faced the street and the road traffic was loud. I'm a lite sleeper! Also our room was right above the front door so not only did we here people arriving late but if someone went out for a smoke break we could hear them talking or laughing. Just a thought to the staff to find a new location for the astray!
Overall we loved our stay and would stay again!

Room Tip: If you are a lite sleeper ask for a room not facing the road and not above the entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are sorry about the noise outside your room. Also glad to hear you still enjoyed your stay with us. The next time you are in Alexandria or D.C. we will make sure to upgrade you and put you on the back side of the hotel.

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was an excellent hotel -- fair price, clean, free breakfast, extremely friendly staff (especially Phill at the front desk). We chose this hotel based upon its proximity to the Huntington Metro (free shuttle from the hotel), which made quick trips in and out of Washington easy. Plus the hotel is surrounded by lots of restaurants, so finding a place to eat for dinner is easy. The five of us had a great stay, and we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sajesch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Front Desk Agent at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
To Guest

This is Phill at the Front Desk. I really appreciate you taking time out of your busy day and writing a review about the hotel and also giving me a shot out ;0) We hope when you come back to Washington D.C. you will stay at the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria-Fort Belvoir.

Phill Sanders
Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here for four nights whilst visiting DC and found the hotel to be very clean, quiet and above all, some of the most helpful and friendly staff I have ever encountered in most American hotels, including the major brands in New York costing over ten times the nightly rate of this hotel.
One of the people I was travelling with asked the lady running the breakfast if they had an gluten free bread and she spoke to the management of the hotel and by the next morning there was bread and cereal, which was a lovely thing to see. (in our previous New York hotel, we just got grunted at).

Alexandria is a lovely town to get dinner in and wander around the shops.

Room Tip: Go to Alexandria for dinner. Lovely place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pabloako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. Glad to know we are your top hotel in America :) We hope the next time you are in the Alexandria area you will select the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria. Amanda Sellman General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Cant say enough about what a positive stay this was for my family and I .We were in town to see the Capitol for 4 days and this hotel and it's excellent staff deserve your business . To list what I was pleased with would take too long so let me just say that we would def book here again and recommend it to friends.Special mention to Phil at the front desk who,without his infinite patience and professionalism ,I'm afraid I would have been sunk. Fred, the shuttle driver was another high mark for our stay, super friendly and very competent ...wish I could get him to drive me full time.:)
Amanda and the holiday inn should be proud of the service they provide. For the price and the convenience , and last but not least...for an enjoyable trip...I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had an excellent experience staying here. The room was clean and comfortable, as I expected it would be, but I have to say the highlight was the courteous employees. I believe Judy was the name of the woman who served our breakfast--a total gem. And the shuttle was a wonderful convenience. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have stayed here twice and highly recommend this hotel. The first time there were issues with my room (telephone and internet issues). Phil was uber-helpful and made things right. My second trip was planned and pre-paid but had to be pushed forward because of impending weather; the staff was again, very helpful and made everything right. The genuinely friendly staff, (wish I could name the lady in the breakfast area and the lady cleaning the lobby) offer more than a half-way hello that you get at some hotels; these folks look you in the eye and smile while saying good morning. Phil at the front desk made awesome recommendations for local restaurants and David, well he was the true gentleman, insisting I "get in the car and stay out of the snow" while he cleaned the snow off my car. This hotel is in a great location, less than 3 miles to Old Towne Alexandria. I am looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor one are easier accessed by parking in the back of the hotel. Rooms at the ends of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amarrett0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#16 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
5.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Address: 6055 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir is set just off historic Route-1/Richmond Highway near Old Town. Business and military travelers benefit from having the I-495 Capital Beltway and I-95 within two miles of the hotel's door. Alexandria, VA is just across the Potomac River from Washington, DC. While you're here, you can securely communicate with clients via the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. The Business Center and meeting room make it easy to get work done so you can enjoy the area. We're just an eight-mile drive from Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA). The hotel's leisure guests love Alexandria, VA, as well. We're close to Historic Old Town Alexandria, George Washington's Mount Vernon, National Harbor, Tanger Outlets, Arlington National Cemetery and about eight miles from the attractions, museums and monuments of this nation's capital. You can go shopping in Old Town Alexandria, tour the artwork at the Athenaeum and then wrap up the day with dinner and a drink at Gadsby's Tavern. Our guests love the complimentary shuttle to the nearby Huntington Metro station. You'll be energized to see the sights thanks to the free Express Start Breakfast Bar. Enjoy the comforts of home, a 24-hour Fitness Center and more from our hotel's perfect location in Alexandria, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing